We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Well-Located”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Maggiore

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Maggiore
Ranked #20 of 104 Hotels in Bologna
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
“Well-Located”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2012

I stayed here for my one night in Bologna so I could be close to the Airport. The hotel is inbetween the airport and the centre of Bologna so it has good connections - buses run frequently on the road it is on into the center of town.

First impressions are not great as the building looks very run down, as are all the nearby buildings. However after entering the man on the desk was very friendly and helpful. The hotel feels a bit like a B&B, very warm, friendly feel to it. The room was clean enough and comfortable. The staff later on helped me with an adaptor for my laptop charger and some other questions I had.

A nice hotel for a day or two to see Bologna and get some sleep!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CraigPremierInn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pescaEmilia, Proprietario at Hotel Maggiore, responded to this review, April 22, 2012
Thanks for your stay with us and for the time spent to writting your balanced and correct review, in fact, Best Western Hotel Maggiore is almost fifth years old , but the care and the attention of our parents before and our attention today keep pretty fit!. We try to offer to all our guests the best welcome and we are really happy when, as in this case, we recive comments like yours We realy hope to see you again soon! A friendly greeting from Angelo and Paola Vannini.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

560 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    191
    285
    63
    17
    4
See reviews for
108
148
41
171
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2012

An wedding anniversary weekend in Bologna was enhanced by the comfort and service at this hotel. The location was just past the hospital, 3 km from airport and 2 km from city centre.
the No 13 trolley bus ran every 4 to 7 minutes and was always on time but always full.

Nothing was too much trouble for stall. The breakfast room was cramped when a lot of guests were there at the same time. The lifts could be faster.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank john b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pescaEmilia, Proprietario at Hotel Maggiore, responded to this review, April 5, 2012
Dear Sirs,

We are pleased that you have chosen Bologna and Hotel Maggiore to celebrate your anniversary.
For this particular recurrence our slogan “ Feel at Home “ was really indicated....
Your stay coincided with a group of tourists and certainly our spaces, not really huge, result even smaller and our services a little slower.
We know that you understand and thank you for this and the time that you spent to write your review:
Bologna and Best Western Hotel Maggiore are waiting for your next anniversary!
A friendly greeting from Angelo and Paola Vannini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2012

We stopped for two nights (Fri and Sat) in March 2012. We arrived early evening on Friday and the manager helped us find parking as hotel car park was full. Quick, friendly check in. Room was well equipped with dressing gowns, slippers, soaps etc. Very comfortable and warm, although hard, oversized pillows. Extremely clean too. Breakfast was also good; a selection of tasty treats, teas, coffees and juices. Not a huge selection of healthy options (tinned peaches, yoghurt and cereal were provided). Staff were fantastically friendly, keen to give directions and offer assistance. Check out was also quick and simple.
The only downside of this hotel is it being quite a way of the centre however the number 13 bus regularly stops a short distance away from the hotel - last return bus is around midnight.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pescaEmilia, Proprietario at Hotel Maggiore, responded to this review, April 4, 2012
Thanks for your review! The hospitality and the intention of make guests feel at home is really big goal for us. We are so pleased that you have read and appreciated this effort. We also collected the suggestions about what we can do to increase the satisfaction of our guests, thank you. The beauty of this new Internet world is that everyone is encouraged to interact and this, when we act with sincerity as in this case, can only bring beneficial and collaborations.
We are waiting for you in Bologna and invite you to tell us yours suggestions and opinions about us.
Best regards
Angelo and Paola Vannini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barcelona
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2012

I did a reservation on their website in which was clearly specified "payment at hotel". After several emails with their reception desk we could not confirm our reservation because they said it was a "total pre payed reservation" so they had to charge the total amount of the reservation on my credit card. After my compaints, they said they needed a pre-authorization on my credit card of first night as a guarantee. I decided to find some other accomodation in Bologna where things were not so messy.

Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank mll161
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pescaEmilia, Proprietario at Hotel Maggiore, responded to this review, April 5, 2012
Dear Sir,
As we tried to explain you directly, we together were victims, unfortunately, of the complicated web world mechanisms . The conditions of prepayment were very clear in the Best Western website and mysteriously missing from the site you selected.
It was not your fault nor ours and we are really sorry for all problems you had with it and for us a considerable amount of work .... without having had the pleasure to welcome you because you made another choice.
Why in the review you write you were our guest?
Hopefully it is a good sign , that you still plans to come visit us soon to prove not only the bureaucracy but also the welcoming at the Best Western Hotel Maggiore!
Regards from Angelo and Paola Vannini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
218 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2012

The outside of the building is not very inviting but the rooms are tidy and comfortable, the staff is friendly, buffet breakfast is very good, they have free parking and it is conveniently located 10 minutes from the airport and the entrance of the highway. I stayed here several times and I would definitely go back.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the back of the building are quiter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelmax71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2011

This hotel is located not far from beautiful San Luca and it takes about 30min to get to the downtown on foot(or 5 min by taxi) and 10 min to get to the Marconi airport.
Check-in procedure didn't take much time, the receptionist was very friendly. I had a very nice view from my window, the room was clean and cosy. Minibar was extreamly cheap! The staff is excellent! All of them are friendly and efficient. Best Western Hotel Maggiore is a good value for money!
This is the third hotel I stayed in Bologna and it's definitely the best in Reno district!
Would highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Alexandra495
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2011

At 150 euros per night (during a book fair) this was very poor value: I wish we had stayed at the airport or further out. It would be OK at half the price as a stopover, but little else. Lots of traffic noise guaranteed by ambulances to nearby hospital. Coffee at breakfast is - unbelievably for italy - worse than poor supermarket powdered instant. The functionality of the conversion to a hotel still has problems - we actually saw a chambermaid manhandle her cleaning trolley down the stairs rather than use the inadequate lifts. Our room was pokey and dark, and the poor lamps made it hard to read in bed. On the plus side, getaway is fast, a taxi taking just 5 minutes to arrive. And, as other reviewers say, there is a 13 bus nearby to the town centre: however, finding the 13 stop to take you back to the hotel is not so easy. Internet is free, and does work.

Room Tip: Use a cheaper hotel near the airport.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ronansleep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pescaEmilia, Proprietario at Hotel Maggiore, responded to this review, April 1, 2011
Dear Madam and Dear Sir,

thanks for your message on Tripadvisor web site .
You are right : our hotel was built on 1965 and we cannot change this date but we have completly rebuilt the hotel inside , elevators included . It is technical impossible to use the stairs with our cleaning trolley so it is very strange what you have seen ....... we will investigate .
We are also very sorry for the coffee and the lights .... we will try to do better and we hope to have another opportunity to show you that " Feel at home " is not only a slogan for us !
Best regards
Angelo e Paola Vannini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bologna hotels
San Donato
Hotel Cosmopolitan Bologna
Ramada Encore Bologna
#14 of 104 in Bologna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,660 reviews
Panorama Hotel
#36 of 104 in Bologna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Porto
Suite Hotel Elite
Suite Hotel Elite
#22 of 104 in Bologna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,785 reviews
Borgo Panigale
My One Hotel Bologna
My One Hotel Bologna
#27 of 104 in Bologna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 432 reviews
Grand Hotel Elite
#48 of 104 in Bologna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Maggiore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Maggiore

Property: Hotel Maggiore
Address: Via Emilia Ponente 62/3, 40133 Bologna, Italy (Formerly BEST WESTERN Hotel Maggiore)
Location: Italy > Emilia-Romagna > Province of Bologna > Bologna > Reno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Bologna
#22 Family Hotel in Bologna
#31 Business Hotel in Bologna
#32 Romantic Hotel in Bologna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Maggiore 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Maggiore Bologna is a welcoming place and we deeply take care of our guests. Our aim is to make you "Feel at Home". The slender eight storey building which houses the hotel rises up in a very unusual place, a connection point between the city centre of Bologna and the Emilian productive areas, a lively and hardworking area rich in Italian excellences and multiculturalism. The hotel is in a central location, out of the controlled traffic zone, next to the Ospedale Maggiore, at 1.5 km from the historic centre (easily accessible by bus or by bike), at ten minutes from the airport, the Ducati headquarters, the Unipol Arena centre, next to important companies and important scientific and cultural centres such as the Opificio Golinelli and the MAST. It is easily accessible from the motorway and the main communications routes and we offer a free parking service. Core of our idea of welcoming are the central location, our friendliness and the attention to every detail. As well as wanting you to "Feel at Home", we also commit for a sustainable mobility. Among our facilities you'll find a free parking service, a shuttle service, a bycicle rental service, both for traditional bikes and e-bikes, bus tickets at our reception desk. Finally, we'll be very happy to give you information on events not to be missed and places to see in the city and province. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Maggiore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Hotel Bologna
Best Western Bologna
Bologna Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing