We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hard to beat!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Hotel Majestic "Gia Baglioni"
Ranked #1 of 104 Hotels in Bologna
Certificate of Excellence
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
200 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
“Hard to beat!”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We just came from Due Torri in Verona and I thought that was an impressive "Old World elegance" hotel. Then we come to Bologna and I just found out that Grand Hotel Majestic was another Due Torri Hotel - and even more impressive than the first one.

First, the location. You can't imagine a more strategic position - it's refurbished a grand villa right on Via Independenza Street which is the central street of the historic city center and the main shopping street which becomes 100% pedestrianized during the weekends. It's a very wide villa but the entrance, right in the middle is quite small, which deceives you in to thinking that it's a small boutique hotel - until you realize they own the entire building and that the shops to the left and right of the ground floor entrance are part of the building concessionaires.

Like the De Torri of Verona, they took an 18th or 19th century rich family-owned villa and transformed it into a hotel, which will explain the elegant staircase running at the back, the lovely corridors, the small lifts which weren't there a century or couple of centuries ago, the high ceilings.

The hotel entrance is so beautiful that I just had to take a lot of pictures - lots of columns, great lighting, nice art, impressive walk down to the dining area, When we got to our floor, there was a great foyer-corridor where I could imagine the old family having a small reception at high tea - or something similar. Like the Verona De Torri, it's old world brass key, no electronic keycard for them - which could be a slight hassle if there are two or more of you. The washroom is separate from the T&B area which is always great, there's a weighing scale that was a nice touch (though we didn't know how to adjust it), they had two hair dryers (the newer one was much more functional than the older one attached to the wall), they had the usual in-room safe, ac controls were easy to manipulate, room chandeliers reminded us of the Due Torri lighting in Verona, ditto with the cloth wallpaper which was reflected as well in the curtains, the ceiling is nicely high, the beds and pillows are outstanding. Breakfast was at the lower ground, a very elegantly furnished and decorated room with a false atrium that allowed you to think you were having coffee at an outside garden since that section had a skylight and a garden wall mural. Breakfast fare was outstanding, with all the usual amenities plus cream cheese, rice, quiche which you don't normally find elsewhere. Toiletries, like the Verona Due Torri, were classy, and the tissue paper was of highest quality (note, I usually never remark on toilet paper unless it's made of recyled paper or it's very high end super-soft embossed kind like what this hotel offered.) They had complimentary water although I would suggest that they offer still rather than gas since I'm guessing more foreign guests prefer still water.

The staff are superb, more service-oriented than the Verona Due Torri. Special commendation to the doorman and the breakfast head waitress. Just a quick example - I was looking at the butter selection and she quickly runs over and asks if she can help me since she knew that I wasn't sure if I was looking at the butter or the cream cheese (turned out I was indeed incorrectly looking at the cream cheese selection).

Some minor negatives: the bathroom was decent but the white tiles didn't keep up with the classic elegance of the rest of the room. The LCD TV was a bit on the small side. I didn't think it was a negative but my wife thought they could have provided for a regular writing desk with lamp rather than your round writing table with two chairs.There was no coffee maker and no wine glasses (though there were regular glasses that we used for the wine we brought into the room. The clothes cabinet was inside the wash room which was a tad inconvenient. They do need to improve their wifi access though since it seemed that nearly every time you changed web sites, it kept asking for the user name and password, which was a terrible inconvenience, whereas in the Verona Due Torri system, you entered it once and whether you closed or put it in sleep mode, you always had access.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank JGR001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiberio B, Direttore at Grand Hotel Majestic "Gia Baglioni", responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear Guest

thank you so much for choosing Grand hotel Majestic "già Baglioni" part of Leading Hotel of the World and member of Duetorrihotel Group! I thank you as well for the nice words you wrote about our property and staff and breakfast!

Thank you for all the nice details description and I'm very pleased to hear such a nice compliments about our hotel.

I am very pleased that you enjoyed your stay and
we very much look forward to welcoming you again in the future!

Sincerely
Tiberio Biondi
General Manager
Grand Hotel Majestic "già Baglioni"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,092 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    842
    198
    33
    10
    9
See reviews for
132
507
57
240
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 7, 2013

As someone who has the privilege to travel a lot and stay at 5 star hotels, I would rate the Grand Hotel Majestic near the top of the list. The distinguishing factor I think was the quality and friendliness of the staff. The breakfast was excellent and also so was the restaurant. We recommend it very highly.

Stayed June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Patrick K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiberio B, Direttore at Grand Hotel Majestic "Gia Baglioni", responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Dear Guest

thank you so much for choosing Grand hotel Majestic "già Baglioni" during your stay in Bologna and thank you as well for the nice words you wrote about our property and staff and breakfast!
It will be my pleasure to inform all our staff about your nice words about us.
We are also happy to be rating near the top of the list!

I am very pleased that you enjoyed your stay and
we very much look forward to welcoming you again in the future!

Sincerely
Tiberio Biondi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2013

Finished a motorcycle tour through Italy so needed some ultra comfort our last night. This hotel stunning from the get go. Room was lovely. Bath was incredible. Bar was great. Our stay very abbreviated which is disappointing as it was so comfortable. We'll be back.

Room Tip: Very late getting our room ready but more than accommodating once they did
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank emilymcl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiberio B, Direttore at Grand Hotel Majestic "Gia Baglioni", responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Dear Guest

thank you so much for sharing your experience at the Grand Hotel Majestic "già Baglioni" and it will be my pleasure to inform all our staff about your nice words about us.

I am very pleased that you enjoyed your stay and
we very much look forward to welcoming you again in the future!

Sincerely
Tiberio Biondi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2013

Top rate;one of the best medium sized city centre hotels we have stayed in. It really can't be faulted. Lovely restaurant ,though quite expensive. Breakfast selection interesting and varied. There are a number of areas in which to sit ,eat or just relax,three of which are al fresco,which is more than welcome in the height of summer.Staff quite clearly well trained and are attentive yet unobtrusive.Not the cheapest hotel in Bologna by a long way but good value nonetheless

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank a20hol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiberio B, Direttore at Grand Hotel Majestic "Gia Baglioni", responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Dear Guest

thank you so much for sharing your experience at the Grand Hotel Majestic "già Baglioni" and I am very pleased that you enjoyed your stay here.

We very much look forward to welcoming you again in the future!

Sincerely
Tiberio Biondi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2013

Very comfortable room, lovely bathroom with excellent bathroom supplies. Hotel staff very well-trained, friendly and responsive. Room service food very good as was restaurant and bar food. Hotel location is perfect for walking around Bologna which has the most beautiful buildings. All in all an outstanding short stay. Also good speed free Wi-Fi throughout the hotel. I gave a presentation to a workshop meeting one morning and the staff were excellent with technical support - not always the case even in the largest hotel. I recommend this hotel very highly and I stay in a lot of 5* hotels.

Room Tip: My room was on the second floor. It had no view but I didn't mind because I prefer quiet rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hazel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiberio B, Direttore at Grand Hotel Majestic "Gia Baglioni", responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

we would like to thank you for your preference in choosing Grand Hotel Majestic “già Baglioni” during your visit to Bologna and many thanks for your kind review.

It doesn't happen every day to stay in an historical building just a few steps from the main square and important mouments of the city.

Looking forward to welcoming you in the future!
kind regards,

Tiberio Biondi
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2013

We spent three days at the Grand Majestic in Bologna. The hotel is beautiful and the rooms very comfortable. Great beds, lovely baths, and beautiful appointments. The staff is extremely helpful with reservations for trains, restaurants, taxis, tc. The breakfast buffet is superb - running he gamut from European to full English and American breakfast selections. The patio is a lovely place in the morning. The hotel is well located in the historic center within walking distance of just about everything. The staff is multilingual.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiberio B, Direttore at Grand Hotel Majestic "Gia Baglioni", responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

we would like to thank you for your preference in choosing Grand Hotel Majestic “già Baglioni” during your visit to Bologna and many thanks for your kind review.
We are also happy to receive your compliments about our rich and well stocked buffet breakfast!

Look forward to welcoming you soon.
kind regards,

Tiberio Biondi
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pooler, Georgia
Level Contributor
98 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2013

What a grand, old exquisit hotel. Formally a monastery, the hotel is located in the heart of Bologna and you can walk to many of the sites in the city. The rooms are so elegant and beautifully decorated that the only way to describe the feel is Over the Top Elegance. Rooms are warm and have all of the amenities that one would expect of a five star hotel. Hallways between the lobby, restaurant and suites are decorated with fine art and statues. The concierge is excellent and well versed about the city, things to do and places to eat. The restaurant is as elegant as the building. We both enjoyed a quite meal wonderfully prepared and served. Even the luggage closet is behind a beautifully crafted door. All this comes with a price though so be prepared to put a dent in your wallet. Nevertheless, we so enjoyed the hotel that it was worth the money. Don't worry about taking a room key home with you, they are large and can become an annoyance. We haven't submitted many photos of the places we've been but thought that the best way to describe the elegance is to include a photo of our suite.

Room Tip: Our room was on the second floor, back away from the lobby so it was very quiet, but it appeared to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TwoFrequentDinners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiberio B, Direttore at Grand Hotel Majestic "Gia Baglioni", responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Dear Guest,
we would like to thank you for your preference in choosing Grand Hotel Majestic “già Baglioni” during your visit to Bologna and many thanks for your kind review so detailed about our Historic Building! According to this we take the occasion to inform you that we have just entered the Association of Historical Establishment of Italy.

Looking forward to welcoming you in the future!
kind regards,

Tiberio Biondi
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bologna hotels
San Vitale
Hotel Corona d'Oro 1890
Hotel Corona d'Oro 1890
#2 of 104 in Bologna
802 reviews
Aemilia Hotel
#4 of 104 in Bologna
2,291 reviews
Metropolitan Hotel
#6 of 104 in Bologna
1,407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Al Cappello Rosso
#11 of 104 in Bologna
751 reviews
Savhotel
#3 of 104 in Bologna
2,094 reviews
I Portici Hotel
#20 of 104 in Bologna
1,334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Majestic "Gia Baglioni"? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Majestic "Gia Baglioni"

Property: Grand Hotel Majestic "Gia Baglioni"
Address: Via dell'Indipendenza, 8, 40121 Bologna, Italy
Location: Italy > Emilia-Romagna > Province of Bologna > Bologna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Bologna
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bologna
#1 Business Hotel in Bologna
#1 Luxury Hotel in Bologna
#4 Family Hotel in Bologna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Majestic "Gia Baglioni" 5*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegant Classically styled Hotel in historic building near palaces, churches & museums. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Despegar.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hotel Majestic "Gia Baglioni" reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Bologna
Grand Hotel Baglioni

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing