We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Hotel Experience in Italy”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Hotel Majestic "Gia Baglioni"
Ranked #1 of 102 Hotels in Bologna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 10, 2013

My wife and I spent 9 nights in mid-May at the Hotel Majestic and found it to be an incredible experience. Every staff member from the doorman to the main desk to the breakfast serving staff were thoughtful, attentive and warm. We consider ourselves sophisticated travelers and have stayed at five star hotels in Italy's major cities but none have offered a combination of wonderful accommodations and amazing staff. We received great restaurant recommendations from the concierge/desk staff and everyone was eager to be helpful. Tiberio, you're doing a phenomenal job with a well-picked and well-trained staff. - Rob & Jeanne

Room Tip: We asked for a quiet room not facing the street. We had no noise at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bankerstrust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiberio B, Direttore at Grand Hotel Majestic "Gia Baglioni", responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2013

Dear Guest

thank you so much for sharing your experience at the Grand Hotel Majestic "già Baglioni" and it will be my pleasure to inform all our staff about your nice words about us.

I am very pleased that you enjoyed your stay and
we very much look forward to welcoming you again in the future!

Sincerely
Tiberio Biondi
General Manager
Grand Hotel Majestic "già Baglioni"

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,260)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

646 - 652 of 1,260 reviews

Reviewed June 10, 2013

We loved this hotel - a superb quality of service, in the bar as well as at the front desk. The
maps given were more complete and the staff more helpful. The rooms are very good, quite
comfortable, and you will enjoy the luxurious corridors as you walk to your room. There's a
splendid room just to relax and talk, with cushy sofas and elegant decorations.

That said, the vegetables we ordered (grilled vegetables) were cold and soggy, and there were
so few of them that it wasn't "dinner" in any sense. Our first courses were good, but I'd eat
like a Bolognese, rather than as a mostly-vegetarian American, while you're there.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nan791
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiberio B, Direttore at Grand Hotel Majestic "Gia Baglioni", responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2013

Dear Guest,

we would like to thank you for your preference in choosing Grand Hotel Majestic “già Baglioni” during your visit to Bologna and many thanks for your kind review.
We are really glad to read that your enjoyed our Foyer with the great comfortable sofa and elegant decorations! We really suggest you next time to have a cocktail in the outside area and experience our renewed Terraces!

… And of course, you must have Bolognese food when you stay in Bologna!

Looking forward to welcoming you in the future!

Tiberio Biondi
General Manager
Grand Hotel Majestic "già Baglioni"

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We stayed here for two nights over Easter weekend on our way to Florence.The hotel was a perfect choice, very centrally located & within walking distance of all the main attractions. The staff were all helpful and attentive, particularly Marco and Gianluca in reception, as well as Massimiliano , the friendly and knowledgeable sommelier in the restaurant. Our room was spacious, tastefully decorated with comfortable bed and a well appointed bathroom.Our dinner on Saturday night in the main dining room was excellent, with appropriate wine pairings and outstanding & friendly service.
The only negative here was the heating in the room; it was controlled from reception, and despite the fact that we arrived on a rainy,somewhat cool night, we both found that 23 degrees was too warm for comfort!
Bologna is a beautiful, historic city, a delight for the senses. Although Florence is a must-see, Bologna offers a more "authentic" experience as well as better value for your money.
We plan to return in summer and will again stay at the "Grand Hotel Majestic"

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Angela B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiberio B, Direttore at Grand Hotel Majestic "Gia Baglioni", responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2013

Dear Guests,
thank you very much for your kind words and for choosing the Grand Hotel Majestic già Baglioni during your visit to Tuscany and Emilia Romagna.
We are honored that you choosed us and we are extremely glad that everything met your expectations.
We look forward to welcoming you again this summer!
My best regards,

Tiberio Biondi
general manager
Gran Hotel Majestic già Baglioni

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2013

Bologna is a walking city. It has the oldest University in Europe and there aren't a lot of tourists. As a result, there are not many large international hotel chains here. I was initially hesitant to stay here, but am sure glad that I did. The location is great, the rooms are great, and we had a rate with breakfast included, which was really nice. We walked to the hotel from the train station. This city is small. We only stayed one night b/c we were going from the North of Italy to the South. In retrospect, I would have definitely stayed two nights. Bologna is known for its food and it was awesome. I recommend da ceasari. The hotel make the reservation with them if you want. You may need reservations on the weekends. There are a lot of Catholic churches as you expect in Italy and if you are interested, you can walk and see St. Catherine of Bologna's in corrupt body in one of the churches ~ 10 minutes walking. The Basilica where the Cardinal of Bologna sits is directly across the street from the hotel. This is definitely a 5 star hotel. Questions, don't hesitate to ask.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jgallag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiberio B, Direttore at Grand Hotel Majestic "Gia Baglioni", responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2013

Dear Guest,
thank you for choosing Grand Hotel Majestic già Baglioni during your trip around Italy! We hope you are spending a great time in our country and we are honored that you choosed to stay one night in our gorgeous little city of Bologna!
Compared to other cities in the USA probably Bologna seems to you more like a little town than a region capital! We are glad that you enjoyed the city with its excellent restaurants ( our restaurant I Carracci is one of the most famous but there are many other excellent that our concierge can book for you!).
We hope to welcoming you again in our hotel because there are so many things about Bologna that you should see! Have a great journey home!
Best regards,

Tiberio Biondi
General Manager
Grand Hotel Majestic già Baglioni

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2013

We recently stayed at this beautiful hotel in the centre of 'old town' Bologna. Our room was stunning and we had our own large private terrace with a view of the top of the cathedral.The staff were fantastic, particularly Marco on the front door, and Domenico in the bar. Generally all staff we encountered were very friendly and helpful.We felt very well looked after and special! The room was extremely clean and comfortable. The location was exceptional opposite the Cathedral, and about 100 metres to the main sqaure.
We loved our experience there, and would definately stay at this establishment again!

Room Tip: Our room was on the top floor with a large terrace at the front of the hotel.It was still quiet thou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dee153_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiberio B, Direttore at Grand Hotel Majestic "Gia Baglioni", responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2013

Dear guest,
thank you so much for your beautiful review about our hotel! We hope you had a good journey home!
Thank you for choosing the Grand Hotel Majestic già Baglioni, we are extremely glad that you enjoyed the Art Decò Terrace Suite! It is the only one room with a private terrace from which it's possible to enjoy a stunning view of the main square of the city! In these spring's days it is prettier than ever!
We are looking forward to welcoming you again!
Best regards,

Tiberio Biondi
General Manager
Grand Hotel Majestic già Baglioni

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013

The staff were very helpful.A great and amazing location. It was a luxurious experience. A great hotel and a excellent location close to the main piazza. We had a well sized and comfortable room with a wonderful decor.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank guy c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
salesghmajestic, Direttore at Grand Hotel Majestic "Gia Baglioni", responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2013

Dear Guest,
we really would like to thank you very much for taking the time to submit a review about us and most of all, thank you for choosing the Grand Hotel Majestic già Baglioni during your trip to Bologna. It was a pleasure to have you here!
We are delighted that you enjoyed the staff, the services and the location. We try to do our best every day and we are extremely happy when the guests are satisfied!
We strongly hope to welcoming you again in our property in the nearest future!
My kindest regards,

Tiberio Biondi
General Manager
Grand Hotel Majestic già Baglioni

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2013

It's the only 5 star deluxe hotel in central Bologna, there must be a reason for that.
If you love historical buildings, rich interiors and fine food, this is the place to go. The antique decor and dozens of photos of VIP's on the walls in the bar and lounge area will complete the picture.

The hotel is located in Bologna main street - via Indipendenza - therefore a stone's throw from Piazza Maggiore, shops and restaurants. Also walkable from the train station.

Despite the rich and overwhelming interiors, the service is very friendly and professional. Staff is great in all areas: reception, concierge, bar and sales office staff - all to be commended.

My experience is mainly business because we organized a corporate event for foreign guests and everything went great. The Presidential suites are stunning and our VIP's couldn't get over the richness of interiors and decor.
Efficient and elegant, just flawless. Definitely somewhere where I will go back for top notch events.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Luigi I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
salesghmajestic, Direttore at Grand Hotel Majestic "Gia Baglioni", responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2013

Dear Luigi,
first of all thank you for having decided to host such a prestigious event in our hotel, it was a real pleasure to host your distinguished guests. Thanks also for taking the time to leave a review here, we really appreciate it.
We are delighted that the organization of the event run without any problem and that your guests appreciated the staff and the services of our hotel.
We hope to welcoming you and your guests very soon.
best regards

Tiberio Biondi
General Manager
Grand Hotel Majestic già Baglioni

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bologna hotels
San Vitale
Hotel Corona d'Oro 1890
Hotel Corona d'Oro 1890
#2 of 102 in Bologna
912 reviews
Metropolitan Hotel
#9 of 102 in Bologna
1,569 reviews
Savhotel
#3 of 102 in Bologna
2,248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Aemilia Hotel
#4 of 102 in Bologna
2,527 reviews
I Portici Hotel
#23 of 102 in Bologna
1,467 reviews
Al Cappello Rosso
#8 of 102 in Bologna
837 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Majestic "Gia Baglioni"? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Majestic "Gia Baglioni"

Address: Via dell'Indipendenza, 8, 40121 Bologna, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Emilia-Romagna > Province of Bologna > Bologna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Bologna
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bologna
#1 Luxury Hotel in Bologna
#1 Business Hotel in Bologna
#4 Family Hotel in Bologna
Price Range: $320 - $652 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Majestic "Gia Baglioni" 5*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel Majestic "già Baglioni", the oldest and most prestigious hotel in Bologna, sits in the heart of the city on Via dell’Indipendenza, within walking distance of Piazza Maggiore and the famous Due Torri. This superb five-star deluxe hotel is situated in a Palazzo designed by architect Alfonso Torregiani during the first half of the 18th century and built by order of Cardinal Prospero Lambertini, who later became Pope. The palazzo is in fact, built on top of an ancient Roman road, part of which can be seen within the hotel. The 109 rooms have a mix of antique furniture with modern amenities, a perfect blend of classic Italian style, elegance and hospitality. The 4th floor refurbishment has enriched the hotel with a new range of Junior Suites and Deluxe Room. The style in this case is classic eighteen century classical French. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Grand Hotel Majestic "Gia Baglioni" reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Bologna
Grand Hotel Baglioni

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing