We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old World Charm”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Hotel Majestic "Gia Baglioni"
Ranked #1 of 102 Hotels in Bologna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 6, 2013

Pros:
-Convenient location, steps away from Piazza Maggiore.
- Impeccable service and friendly staff - a true Leading Hotel standard.
- Well decorated, clean spacious room with high ceiling, hardwood floor throughout, walk-in closet and marble bathroom.
- Complimentary in-room wifi.
-complimentary bottles of water and a welcome fruit plate which was replenished daily.
- Very generous bathroom amenities; lots of towels and toiletries.
- daily turndown service provided.
- very quiet room.

Cons:
- smell of cigarette odor seep through the door in the middle of night; someone must have smoked in the hallway; the odor did make our sleep quality unpleasant for one night.

- driving to this hotel is difficult; especially for the first timers who are unfamiliar with Bologna's small alleys. GPS would not work. Also the streets are closed on the weekends, must allow more time for getting to or leaving the hotel.

- Breakfast spread was ok with lots of sweets. Made to order eggs cost extra.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sfonorth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
salesghmajestic, Direttore at Grand Hotel Majestic "Gia Baglioni", responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2013

Dear Guest,
We would like to really thank you for choosing Grand Hotel Majestic “già Baglioni” during your recent visit to Bologna and for taking the time to submit such a nice review regarding your stay.
Bologna is a small gorgeous city that merges art, gourmet, history and congeniality and the Grand Hotel Majestic "già Baglioni" is an icon in this city and we are really glad that you have noticed that!
We regret reading of such short-comings and we'll make sure such minor incidents do not repeat themselves in the future.
All our staff is ready to welcome you again in our property!
My kindest regards,

Tiberio Biondi
General Manager
Grand Hotel Majestic già Baglioni

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,259)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

662 - 668 of 1,259 reviews

Reviewed April 4, 2013

Located in the heart of the city. Rooms have a special cachet. A real special place for a get away week end.
Great breakfast in a nice veranda. Cant' miss. The place to be in Bologna. Spa is small but nice.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicola M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
salesghmajestic, Direttore at Grand Hotel Majestic "Gia Baglioni", responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2013

Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for choosing Grand Hotel Majestic “già Baglioni” during your recent visit to Bologna and for taking the time to submit such a nice review regarding your stay.
We are so glad to read that you have enjoyed your stay and that our staff, services & facilities met your expectations.
Looking forward to welcoming you back on a future occasion.

Kind regards

Tiberio Biondi
Grand Hotel Majestic già Baglioni

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2013

From the moment you enter to the moment you leave you are treated as the king. No request was unattendended. When I arrived for the fair at a busy time I was able to get my room and later that night transferred to a much nicer room. All staff including front desk Paulo, Bernard and all could not be more helpful. While nicely maintained for an older establishment I prefer more modern over traditional style. It was a step back in time for royalty, but I did enjoy.
Location is great to walk out in the center of the city.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rich W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
salesghmajestic, Direttore at Grand Hotel Majestic "Gia Baglioni", responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2013

Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for choosing Grand Hotel Majestic “già Baglioni” during your recent visit to Bologna and for taking the time to submit a review regarding your stay.
We are so glad to read that you have enjoyed your stay and that our staff, services & facilities met your expectations.
Looking forward to welcoming you back on a future occasion.

Kind regards

Tiberio Biondi
General Manager
Grand Hotel Majestic già Baglioni

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Nice hotel rooms a little small, but spotlessly clean. No tea and coffe facilities in room. Beautiful pure linen bed linen, comfy bed. Staff are fab nothing to much trouble.

We didn't eat in their acclaimed restaurant as too many excellent intimate trattorias to choose from locally.

Very central to all sights shops train station etc.

We jumped on a train and spent a day in Florence, many other destinations easily accessible in a day
The hotel will not disappoint

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank linda227124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiberio B, Direttore at Grand Hotel Majestic "Gia Baglioni", responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2013

Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for choosing Grand Hotel Majestic “già Baglioni” during your recent visit to Bologna and for taking the time to submit a review regarding your stay.
We are so glad to read that you enjoyed your stay and that our staff, services & facilities met your expectations.
Looking forward welcoming you back on a future occasion!

Kind regards,

Tiberio Biondi
General Manager
Grand Hotel Majestic già Baglioni

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2013

of the 5 hotels we visited in Italy this was by far the best.
The service was excellent the rm lovely the location perfect
the bkfst was very well done. A visit to Bologna and a stay here will add to any vacation

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sylvia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
salesghmajestic, Direttore at Grand Hotel Majestic "Gia Baglioni", responded to this reviewResponded March 8, 2013

Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for your preference in choosing Grand Hotel Majestic “già Baglioni” during your visit to Bologna.
We are so glad to read that your stay was a memorable one and we hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards

Tiberio Biondi
General Manager
Grand Hotel Majestic "già Baglioni"

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2013

For all of you that arrive after an eastbound transatlantic flight, how sweet to end up somewhere really nice the first night! It also snowed in Bologna, so we were "stuck" in our beautiful room. The heat was under our control and was working well (some like it hot). Very happy that we treated ourselves to this hotel for the first day of our stay. Location was excellent, and all was good

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Franck R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
salesghmajestic, Direttore at Grand Hotel Majestic "Gia Baglioni", responded to this reviewResponded March 8, 2013

Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for choosing Grand Hotel Majestic “già Baglioni” during your recent visit to Bologna and for taking the time to submit a review regarding your stay.
We are so glad to read that you have enjoyed your stay and that our staff, services & facilities met your expectations.
Looking forward to welcoming you back on a future occasion.

Kind regards

Tiberio Biondi
General Manager
Grand Hotel Majestic "già Baglioni"

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2013

location is great few steps to almost anywhere you want, service of reception is fantastic
very friendly and well organized you may learn and do everything through the reception
from the arrival to departure they have shown great effort and true italian style.
room are small but very clean .
as referring to my title of my review not grand beacuse of rooms but real majestic overall hotel and friendly 5 star service.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gurhan33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
salesghmajestic, Direttore at Grand Hotel Majestic "Gia Baglioni", responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2013

Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for choosing Grand Hotel Majestic “già Baglioni” during your recent visit to Bologna and for taking the time to submit a review regarding your stay.
We are so glad to read that our staff, services & facilities met your expectations.
We regret reading of your impression about the room we assigned you, if we will have the pleasure to welcoming you again be sure that we will assign you a room more suited to your expectations.
Looking forward to see you on your next trip to Bologna.

Kind regards,

Tiberio Biondi
General Manager
Grand Hotel Majestic "già Baglioni".

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bologna hotels
San Vitale
Hotel Corona d'Oro 1890
Hotel Corona d'Oro 1890
#2 of 102 in Bologna
909 reviews
Metropolitan Hotel
#9 of 102 in Bologna
1,567 reviews
Savhotel
#3 of 102 in Bologna
2,248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Aemilia Hotel
#4 of 102 in Bologna
2,525 reviews
I Portici Hotel
#23 of 102 in Bologna
1,465 reviews
Al Cappello Rosso
#8 of 102 in Bologna
836 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Majestic "Gia Baglioni"? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Majestic "Gia Baglioni"

Address: Via dell'Indipendenza, 8, 40121 Bologna, Italy
Location: Italy > Emilia-Romagna > Province of Bologna > Bologna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Bologna
#1 Spa Hotel in Bologna
#1 Luxury Hotel in Bologna
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bologna
#4 Family Hotel in Bologna
Price Range: $306 - $633 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Majestic "Gia Baglioni" 5*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel Majestic "già Baglioni", the oldest and most prestigious hotel in Bologna, sits in the heart of the city on Via dell’Indipendenza, within walking distance of Piazza Maggiore and the famous Due Torri. This superb five-star deluxe hotel is situated in a Palazzo designed by architect Alfonso Torregiani during the first half of the 18th century and built by order of Cardinal Prospero Lambertini, who later became Pope. The palazzo is in fact, built on top of an ancient Roman road, part of which can be seen within the hotel. The 109 rooms have a mix of antique furniture with modern amenities, a perfect blend of classic Italian style, elegance and hospitality. The 4th floor refurbishment has enriched the hotel with a new range of Junior Suites and Deluxe Room. The style in this case is classic eighteen century classical French. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Grand Hotel Majestic "Gia Baglioni" reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Bologna
Grand Hotel Baglioni

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing