We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Grand Experience in Bologna”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Hotel Majestic "Gia Baglioni"
Ranked #1 of 104 Hotels in Bologna
Certificate of Excellence
nj
Level Contributor
67 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Grand Experience in Bologna”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2013

From the moment you enter to the moment you leave you are treated as the king. No request was unattendended. When I arrived for the fair at a busy time I was able to get my room and later that night transferred to a much nicer room. All staff including front desk Paulo, Bernard and all could not be more helpful. While nicely maintained for an older establishment I prefer more modern over traditional style. It was a step back in time for royalty, but I did enjoy.
Location is great to walk out in the center of the city.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rich W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
salesghmajestic, Direttore at Grand Hotel Majestic "Gia Baglioni", responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for choosing Grand Hotel Majestic “già Baglioni” during your recent visit to Bologna and for taking the time to submit a review regarding your stay.
We are so glad to read that you have enjoyed your stay and that our staff, services & facilities met your expectations.
Looking forward to welcoming you back on a future occasion.

Kind regards

Tiberio Biondi
General Manager
Grand Hotel Majestic già Baglioni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,097 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    845
    200
    33
    10
    9
See reviews for
133
508
57
241
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bracknell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

Nice hotel rooms a little small, but spotlessly clean. No tea and coffe facilities in room. Beautiful pure linen bed linen, comfy bed. Staff are fab nothing to much trouble.

We didn't eat in their acclaimed restaurant as too many excellent intimate trattorias to choose from locally.

Very central to all sights shops train station etc.

We jumped on a train and spent a day in Florence, many other destinations easily accessible in a day
The hotel will not disappoint

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank linda227124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiberio B, Direttore at Grand Hotel Majestic "Gia Baglioni", responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for choosing Grand Hotel Majestic “già Baglioni” during your recent visit to Bologna and for taking the time to submit a review regarding your stay.
We are so glad to read that you enjoyed your stay and that our staff, services & facilities met your expectations.
Looking forward welcoming you back on a future occasion!

Kind regards,

Tiberio Biondi
General Manager
Grand Hotel Majestic già Baglioni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santa monica
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2013

of the 5 hotels we visited in Italy this was by far the best.
The service was excellent the rm lovely the location perfect
the bkfst was very well done. A visit to Bologna and a stay here will add to any vacation

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sylvia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
salesghmajestic, Direttore at Grand Hotel Majestic "Gia Baglioni", responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for your preference in choosing Grand Hotel Majestic “già Baglioni” during your visit to Bologna.
We are so glad to read that your stay was a memorable one and we hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards

Tiberio Biondi
General Manager
Grand Hotel Majestic "già Baglioni"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2013

For all of you that arrive after an eastbound transatlantic flight, how sweet to end up somewhere really nice the first night! It also snowed in Bologna, so we were "stuck" in our beautiful room. The heat was under our control and was working well (some like it hot). Very happy that we treated ourselves to this hotel for the first day of our stay. Location was excellent, and all was good

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Franck R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
salesghmajestic, Direttore at Grand Hotel Majestic "Gia Baglioni", responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for choosing Grand Hotel Majestic “già Baglioni” during your recent visit to Bologna and for taking the time to submit a review regarding your stay.
We are so glad to read that you have enjoyed your stay and that our staff, services & facilities met your expectations.
Looking forward to welcoming you back on a future occasion.

Kind regards

Tiberio Biondi
General Manager
Grand Hotel Majestic "già Baglioni"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
71 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2013

location is great few steps to almost anywhere you want, service of reception is fantastic
very friendly and well organized you may learn and do everything through the reception
from the arrival to departure they have shown great effort and true italian style.
room are small but very clean .
as referring to my title of my review not grand beacuse of rooms but real majestic overall hotel and friendly 5 star service.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gurhan33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
salesghmajestic, Direttore at Grand Hotel Majestic "Gia Baglioni", responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for choosing Grand Hotel Majestic “già Baglioni” during your recent visit to Bologna and for taking the time to submit a review regarding your stay.
We are so glad to read that our staff, services & facilities met your expectations.
We regret reading of your impression about the room we assigned you, if we will have the pleasure to welcoming you again be sure that we will assign you a room more suited to your expectations.
Looking forward to see you on your next trip to Bologna.

Kind regards,

Tiberio Biondi
General Manager
Grand Hotel Majestic "già Baglioni".
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

We have just returned from a wonderful stay at this hotel. Firstly, as previous trip reports have said, the staff are so polite, friendly and efficient so first impressions are very favourable. The hotel building itself is stunning and is kept to such a high standard. The wonderful chandeliers, paintings, furniture and all public areas were spotless and a joy to walk around.

Our room was very comfortable and sleeping between pure linen sheets was sheer joy. Again, bathroom and all areas of the room were spotless and our chambermaid was very efficient and friendly.

We ate at I Carracci restaurant and had a very memorable meal. We asked for help in choosing local wines to accompany our meal and all wines selected were a perfect match to the food.

We had some wonderful cocktails served to us by the Bar Manager, Shanti. If you enjoy cocktails I would urge you to visit the cocktail bar and watch a Master at work! He has some wonderful antique cocktail barware and makes the most delicious Cosmopolitan (amongst many others). The bar area has a lovely atmosphere and even if you don't stay at the hotel it is really worth popping in for a cocktail on the way to your evening meal.

We had a really memorable stay here and I am sure you won't be disappointed if you are lucky enough to stay here.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JenniferJones52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
salesghmajestic, Direttore at Grand Hotel Majestic "Gia Baglioni", responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for your preference in choosing Grand Hotel Majestic “già Baglioni” during your visit to Bologna and many thanks for your kind review about us!

We are so glad to read that your stay was a memorable one and that you appreciated our services and facilities.

Honestly our restaurant "I Carracci" with his fusion of modernity and tradition is our buttonhole and we are sincerely happy that you enjoyed it!

Looking forward to welcoming you in the future!

kind regards,

Tiberio Biondi
General Manager
Grand Hotel Majestic "già Baglioni"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, England
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

We've just got back from three nights at the Grand Hotel Majestic. We stay in a lot of good hotels but this places was really something special.

It is a hotel of the old school, timelessly decorated, some may say old fashioned, but that's part of the grandiose charm. The ceilings are high, the chandeliers are large. It is what it is and makes no apologies.

Our room was really comfortable, the king size bed was lovely, we had twin sinks in the bathroom. The hotel itself is really quiet, there is always going to be some street noise as it's very centrally located but that didn't really intrude.

I cannot praise the staff highly enough; they knew my name, nothing was too much trouble and service was delivered with a smile.

We dined at the I Carracci restaurant on Valentine's Day, the food and wine were superb.

Room Tip: Get a larger room if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lockhouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
salesghmajestic, Direttore at Grand Hotel Majestic "Gia Baglioni", responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Dear Guest,
we would like to thank you for your preference in choosing Grand Hotel Majestic “già Baglioni” during your visit to Bologna and many thanks for your kind review.

We are really glad to read that your stay was a memorable one and that you appreciated the timeless style of our hotel! It doesn't happen every day to stay in an historical building of the 18th century just a few steps from the main square of the city!

We really suggest you next time to enjoy our recent Wellness centre or to take a cocktail to our recent renewed Lounge Bar.

Looking forward to welcoming you in the future!

kind regards,

Tiberio Biondi
General Manager
Grand Hotel Majestic "già Baglioni"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bologna hotels
San Vitale
Hotel Corona d'Oro 1890
Hotel Corona d'Oro 1890
#2 of 104 in Bologna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 806 reviews
Aemilia Hotel
#4 of 104 in Bologna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,295 reviews
Metropolitan Hotel
#7 of 104 in Bologna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Al Cappello Rosso
#11 of 104 in Bologna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 751 reviews
Savhotel
#3 of 104 in Bologna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,097 reviews
I Portici Hotel
#22 of 104 in Bologna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Majestic "Gia Baglioni"? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Majestic "Gia Baglioni"

Property: Grand Hotel Majestic "Gia Baglioni"
Address: Via dell'Indipendenza, 8, 40121 Bologna, Italy
Location: Italy > Emilia-Romagna > Province of Bologna > Bologna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Bologna
#1 Luxury Hotel in Bologna
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bologna
#1 Spa Hotel in Bologna
#4 Family Hotel in Bologna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Majestic "Gia Baglioni" 5*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegant Classically styled Hotel in historic building near palaces, churches & museums. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Despegar.com, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hotel Majestic "Gia Baglioni" reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Bologna
Grand Hotel Baglioni

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing