We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not grand but real majestic”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Hotel Majestic "Gia Baglioni"
Ranked #1 of 102 Hotels in Bologna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 1, 2013

location is great few steps to almost anywhere you want, service of reception is fantastic
very friendly and well organized you may learn and do everything through the reception
from the arrival to departure they have shown great effort and true italian style.
room are small but very clean .
as referring to my title of my review not grand beacuse of rooms but real majestic overall hotel and friendly 5 star service.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gurhan33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
salesghmajestic, Direttore at Grand Hotel Majestic "Gia Baglioni", responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2013

Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for choosing Grand Hotel Majestic “già Baglioni” during your recent visit to Bologna and for taking the time to submit a review regarding your stay.
We are so glad to read that our staff, services & facilities met your expectations.
We regret reading of your impression about the room we assigned you, if we will have the pleasure to welcoming you again be sure that we will assign you a room more suited to your expectations.
Looking forward to see you on your next trip to Bologna.

Kind regards,

Tiberio Biondi
General Manager
Grand Hotel Majestic "già Baglioni".

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,224)
There are newer reviews for Grand Hotel Majestic "Gia Baglioni"
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

646 - 652 of 1,224 reviews

Reviewed February 26, 2013

We have just returned from a wonderful stay at this hotel. Firstly, as previous trip reports have said, the staff are so polite, friendly and efficient so first impressions are very favourable. The hotel building itself is stunning and is kept to such a high standard. The wonderful chandeliers, paintings, furniture and all public areas were spotless and a joy to walk around.

Our room was very comfortable and sleeping between pure linen sheets was sheer joy. Again, bathroom and all areas of the room were spotless and our chambermaid was very efficient and friendly.

We ate at I Carracci restaurant and had a very memorable meal. We asked for help in choosing local wines to accompany our meal and all wines selected were a perfect match to the food.

We had some wonderful cocktails served to us by the Bar Manager, Shanti. If you enjoy cocktails I would urge you to visit the cocktail bar and watch a Master at work! He has some wonderful antique cocktail barware and makes the most delicious Cosmopolitan (amongst many others). The bar area has a lovely atmosphere and even if you don't stay at the hotel it is really worth popping in for a cocktail on the way to your evening meal.

We had a really memorable stay here and I am sure you won't be disappointed if you are lucky enough to stay here.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JenniferJones52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
salesghmajestic, Direttore at Grand Hotel Majestic "Gia Baglioni", responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2013

Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for your preference in choosing Grand Hotel Majestic “già Baglioni” during your visit to Bologna and many thanks for your kind review about us!

We are so glad to read that your stay was a memorable one and that you appreciated our services and facilities.

Honestly our restaurant "I Carracci" with his fusion of modernity and tradition is our buttonhole and we are sincerely happy that you enjoyed it!

Looking forward to welcoming you in the future!

kind regards,

Tiberio Biondi
General Manager
Grand Hotel Majestic "già Baglioni"

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

We've just got back from three nights at the Grand Hotel Majestic. We stay in a lot of good hotels but this places was really something special.

It is a hotel of the old school, timelessly decorated, some may say old fashioned, but that's part of the grandiose charm. The ceilings are high, the chandeliers are large. It is what it is and makes no apologies.

Our room was really comfortable, the king size bed was lovely, we had twin sinks in the bathroom. The hotel itself is really quiet, there is always going to be some street noise as it's very centrally located but that didn't really intrude.

I cannot praise the staff highly enough; they knew my name, nothing was too much trouble and service was delivered with a smile.

We dined at the I Carracci restaurant on Valentine's Day, the food and wine were superb.

Room Tip: Get a larger room if you can.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lockhouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
salesghmajestic, Direttore at Grand Hotel Majestic "Gia Baglioni", responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2013

Dear Guest,
we would like to thank you for your preference in choosing Grand Hotel Majestic “già Baglioni” during your visit to Bologna and many thanks for your kind review.

We are really glad to read that your stay was a memorable one and that you appreciated the timeless style of our hotel! It doesn't happen every day to stay in an historical building of the 18th century just a few steps from the main square of the city!

We really suggest you next time to enjoy our recent Wellness centre or to take a cocktail to our recent renewed Lounge Bar.

Looking forward to welcoming you in the future!

kind regards,

Tiberio Biondi
General Manager
Grand Hotel Majestic "già Baglioni"

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2013

After you enter the door of the hotel you get the feeling , that you are in a special place,where from the front desk till to room service the VERY POLITE staff makes his best to make your life comfortable and happy. You will get the feeling that you are on the right place. I have been in many 5-stars hotels in Italy, but Grand Hotel Majestic ist the best und hope to be there again very soon.
mmcin

Room Tip: Leave this to the staff,they help
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mmcin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
salesghmajestic, Direttore at Grand Hotel Majestic "Gia Baglioni", responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2013

Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for choosing Grand Hotel Majestic “già Baglioni” during your recent visit to Bologna and for taking the time to submit a review regarding your stay.
We are so glad to read that you have enjoyed your stay and that our staff, services & facilities met your expectations.
Looking forward to welcoming you back on a future occasion.

Kind regards,

Tiberio Biondi
General Manager
Grand Hotel Majestic "già Baglioni"

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2013

My husband and i stayed at this marvelous hotel this past January

We are world travelers and this is surely one of the great hotels of Europe.

from the moment we arrived, we were treated beautifully.

we were immediately upgraded to a marvelous Junior Suite, the concierge, Mr. Epicoco, made sure that our visit went perfectly, and we cannot say enough about this fantastic hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jacki h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
salesghmajestic, Direttore at Grand Hotel Majestic "Gia Baglioni", responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2013

Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for your preference in choosing Grand Hotel Majestic “già Baglioni” during your visit to Bologna.
We are so glad to read that your stay was a memorable one and that you appreciated the upgrade we gave you and our service of conciergerie that helps our guests to plan their visit to Bologna and Italy in the best and comfortable way.

Looking forward to welcoming you in the near future!

My kindest regards,

Tiberio Biondi
General Manager
Grand Hotel Majestic "già Baglioni"

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2013

“The Grand Hotel Magestic, formerly known as the Baglioni Hotel, is the only 5 star hotel in the region.
It is perfectly located in the center of town, but do not be deceived by its entrance as it is rather plain and unimposing. Step inside and you are quickly transported to an era of grandeur and warmth - you'll feel well looked after. The staff is welcoming and helpful, the guest rooms are large and comfortable, featuring Venetian styled furniture, Murano glass chandeliers and pure linen bedding. If you choose to stay in the Presidential suite, you will have a private lift, but most importantly, a gorgeous terrace with amazing views of Bologna. While dining in the hotel restaurant, I Carracci, the wonderful ceiling frescoes dating from the 15th century will surely impress you as you enjoy the classic cuisine of the region. Breakfast is served in the well lighted and beautiful glassed-encased garden. This is an exceptional hotel of quality and history.”

Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Consigliera-S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
salesghmajestic, Direttore at Grand Hotel Majestic "Gia Baglioni", responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2013

Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for taking the time to submit such a nice review regarding your stay at Grand Hotel Majestic "già Baglioni".
You have perfectly resume the spirit of our hotel: a mix of history, luxury, services and,most important thing, kindness of the staff.
We are so glad to read that we created for you a memorable experience.
Looking forward to welcoming you back on a future occasion.

Kind regards,

Tiberio Biondi
General Manager
Grand Hotel Majestic "già Baglioni"

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2013

The people working at the reception is really good, nice and kind. The food, at least the breakfast was pretty good, a large selection of pastries , meats and cheeses were available. What is, in my opinion, not great is the room. We have been here multiple times and in the years had started slowly to deteriorate a bit, it needs a touch up and a bit of attention to the details considering the price you pay. Somebody needs to keep an eye on the housekeeping department , they are not doing a great job!

Room Tip: Top floor rooms have a balcony where you can have breakfast looking at the old part of the city, ver...
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EleUdinTrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
salesghmajestic, Direttore at Grand Hotel Majestic "Gia Baglioni", responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2013

Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to submit a review regarding your stay at Grand Hotel Majestic "già Baglioni".
We regret reading of your impression about our rooms, but it's a pleasure to say you that we finished to renew totally 20 rooms just two week ago. Next time it will be a pleasure to give you a room that meets your expectations.
We regret also reading of such short-comings regarding the housekeeping and we'll make sure such minor incidents do not repeat themselves in the future.

Looking forward to welcoming you back on a future occasion.

Kind regards

Tiberio Biondi
General Manager
Grand Hotel Majestic "già Baglioni"

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bologna hotels
San Vitale
Hotel Corona d'Oro 1890
Hotel Corona d'Oro 1890
#2 of 102 in Bologna
885 reviews
Metropolitan Hotel
#8 of 102 in Bologna
1,526 reviews
Aemilia Hotel
#4 of 102 in Bologna
2,472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Savhotel
#3 of 102 in Bologna
2,205 reviews
I Portici Hotel
#23 of 102 in Bologna
1,442 reviews
Art Hotel Commercianti
#13 of 102 in Bologna
524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Majestic "Gia Baglioni"? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Majestic "Gia Baglioni"

Address: Via dell'Indipendenza, 8, 40121 Bologna, Italy
Location: Italy > Emilia-Romagna > Province of Bologna > Bologna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bologna
#1 Luxury Hotel in Bologna
#1 Spa Hotel in Bologna
#1 Business Hotel in Bologna
#4 Family Hotel in Bologna
Price Range: $351 - $1,347 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Majestic "Gia Baglioni" 5*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel Majestic "già Baglioni", the oldest and most prestigious hotel in Bologna, sits in the heart of the city on Via dell’Indipendenza, within walking distance of Piazza Maggiore and the famous Due Torri. This superb five-star deluxe hotel is situated in a Palazzo designed by architect Alfonso Torregiani during the first half of the 18th century and built by order of Cardinal Prospero Lambertini, who later became Pope. The palazzo is in fact, built on top of an ancient Roman road, part of which can be seen within the hotel. The 109 rooms have a mix of antique furniture with modern amenities, a perfect blend of classic Italian style, elegance and hospitality. The 4th floor refurbishment has enriched the hotel with a new range of Junior Suites and Deluxe Room. The style in this case is classic eighteen century classical French. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Grand Hotel Majestic "Gia Baglioni" reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Bologna
Grand Hotel Baglioni

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing