We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Hotel Majestic "Gia Baglioni"
Ranked #1 of 103 Hotels in Bologna
Certificate of Excellence
Greenwich, Connecticut
Level Contributor
130 reviews
130 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
“Exceptional Hotel”
Reviewed January 29, 2013

“The Grand Hotel Magestic, formerly known as the Baglioni Hotel, is the only 5 star hotel in the region.
It is perfectly located in the center of town, but do not be deceived by its entrance as it is rather plain and unimposing. Step inside and you are quickly transported to an era of grandeur and warmth - you'll feel well looked after. The staff is welcoming and helpful, the guest rooms are large and comfortable, featuring Venetian styled furniture, Murano glass chandeliers and pure linen bedding. If you choose to stay in the Presidential suite, you will have a private lift, but most importantly, a gorgeous terrace with amazing views of Bologna. While dining in the hotel restaurant, I Carracci, the wonderful ceiling frescoes dating from the 15th century will surely impress you as you enjoy the classic cuisine of the region. Breakfast is served in the well lighted and beautiful glassed-encased garden. This is an exceptional hotel of quality and history.”

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Consigliera-S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
salesghmajestic, Direttore at Grand Hotel Majestic "Gia Baglioni", responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for taking the time to submit such a nice review regarding your stay at Grand Hotel Majestic "già Baglioni".
You have perfectly resume the spirit of our hotel: a mix of history, luxury, services and,most important thing, kindness of the staff.
We are so glad to read that we created for you a memorable experience.
Looking forward to welcoming you back on a future occasion.

Kind regards,

Tiberio Biondi
General Manager
Grand Hotel Majestic "già Baglioni"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    887
    209
    36
    10
    9
See reviews for
139
537
58
252
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
168 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2013

The people working at the reception is really good, nice and kind. The food, at least the breakfast was pretty good, a large selection of pastries , meats and cheeses were available. What is, in my opinion, not great is the room. We have been here multiple times and in the years had started slowly to deteriorate a bit, it needs a touch up and a bit of attention to the details considering the price you pay. Somebody needs to keep an eye on the housekeeping department , they are not doing a great job!

Room Tip: Top floor rooms have a balcony where you can have breakfast looking at the old part of the city, ver...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EleUdinTrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
salesghmajestic, Direttore at Grand Hotel Majestic "Gia Baglioni", responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to submit a review regarding your stay at Grand Hotel Majestic "già Baglioni".
We regret reading of your impression about our rooms, but it's a pleasure to say you that we finished to renew totally 20 rooms just two week ago. Next time it will be a pleasure to give you a room that meets your expectations.
We regret also reading of such short-comings regarding the housekeeping and we'll make sure such minor incidents do not repeat themselves in the future.

Looking forward to welcoming you back on a future occasion.

Kind regards

Tiberio Biondi
General Manager
Grand Hotel Majestic "già Baglioni"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Shields, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2013 via mobile

Amazing location, minutes walk into the main square.

Rooms are large but slightly old fashioned with a key fob so large it is bordering on stupidity.

Excellent breakfast and service brilliant. Would recommend for a short stay hotel

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stephen7761
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
salesghmajestic, Direttore at Grand Hotel Majestic "Gia Baglioni", responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for your preference in choosing Grand Hotel Majestic “già Baglioni” during your visit to Bologna and many thanks for your kind review about us!
We are so glad to read that your stay was good and that you appreciated our location and the facilities of our property.
We regret reading of your impression about the key fob and the "old fashion" of the rooms, but please note that is the style of our hotel, completely immersed in a timeless atmosphere where history, art, luxury are merged in an unique experience.

We really hope to welcome you again in our Hotel!

My kindest regards,

Tiberio Biondi
General Manager
Grand Hotel Majestic "già Baglioni"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moreton-in-Marsh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Very good and charming service generally though the room was on the small side, They invited us to the Hotel's 100th birthday party (or something like that)..massive champagne reception with the glitterati of Bologna. Sensational buffet breakfast . The suites and bigger rooms are probably luxurious and what the Hotel is famous for , but our room was Ok with a view of a concrete wall and a roof at the back of the hotel. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BathDavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
salesghmajestic, Direttore at Grand Hotel Majestic "Gia Baglioni", responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for your preference in choosing Grand Hotel Majestic “già Baglioni” during your visit to Bologna.
We are so glad to read that your stay was a memorable one and we hope to welcome you back in the near future.
Looking forward to welcoming you in the future!

Kind regards

Tiberio Biondi
General Manager
Grand Hotel Majestic "già Baglioni"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2013

What a wonderful hotel and very central to everything in Bologna. Bit more expensive being 5 star however it was worth it, if you want something special this is the place, having the door open for you made you feel great. Not far from the airport, and caught the bus into town, did get off at the bus stop and had to walk back, could have got off a couple of stops earlier.

Room Tip: Get off the bus before the bus station, this is half way down the main drag.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank supersu50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
salesghmajestic, Direttore at Grand Hotel Majestic "Gia Baglioni", responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for choosing Grand Hotel Majestic “già Baglioni” during your visit to Bologna and for taking the time to submit a review regarding your stay.
We are glad to read that you enjoyed your stay and that our staff, services & facilities met your expectations.
Looking forward to welcoming you back on a future memorable occasion.

Kind regards,

Tiberio Biondi
General Manager
Grand hotel Majestic "già Baglioni"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2013 via mobile

I had the pleasure to stay here over new years. Our room felt gigantic after the week prior having just stayed in Paris, but to be honest a lunchbox would feel roomy after a week in Paris. Bologna is one of my favorite destinations and I would see no reason to stay anywhere but this hotel while visiting. Some famous people have stayed here and it's easy to see why. Fantastic location in very close proximity to the main square where for new year's a giant paper monkey was set on fire! It was nuts. Anyway, spring for the breakfast, well worth it. The staff have the upmost professionalism. Over the course of the week this felt like home the comfort was so top notch. Never felt like that in a hotel before.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 1eats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
salesghmajestic, Direttore at Grand Hotel Majestic "Gia Baglioni", responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Dear Guest,
We would like to really thank you for choosing Grand Hotel Majestic “già Baglioni” during your recent visit to Bologna and for taking the time to submit such a nice review regarding your stay.
You are right: Bologna is a small gorgeous city that merges art, gourmet, history and congeniality!
The Grand Hotel Majestic "già Baglioni" is an icon in this city and we are really glad that you have noticed that!
All our staff is ready to welcome you again in our property!
My kindest regards,


Tiberio Biondi
General Manager
Grand Hotel Majestic "già Baglioni"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights over New Year in this lavish hotel. Staff everywhere were helpful, courteous and welcoming. Our room,though smallish, had every convenience including double basin, and we appreciated the twice daily service.
Location is perfect, right in the centre of town and only 20 mins taxi ride from the airport.
The highlight was our dinner for New Year set in the frescoed dining room. We had been given an English menu before arrival and another was on our table. The feast and accompanying wines were sublime and all the while we were made to feel very special.
Thank you to all.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 520traveller520
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
salesghmajestic, Direttore at Grand Hotel Majestic "Gia Baglioni", responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for choosing Grand Hotel Majestic “già Baglioni” during your New Years' Eve visit to Bologna and for taking the time to submit such a nice review regarding your stay.
We are so glad that our staff, services and facilities contributed to create for you such a memorable experience!
All our staff is ready to welcome you again in our property!
My kindest regards,

Tiberio Biondi
General Manager
Grand Hotel Majestic "già Baglioni"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bologna hotels
San Vitale
Hotel Corona d'Oro 1890
Hotel Corona d'Oro 1890
#2 of 103 in Bologna
842 reviews
Aemilia Hotel
#4 of 103 in Bologna
2,376 reviews
Metropolitan Hotel
#7 of 103 in Bologna
1,458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Savhotel
#3 of 103 in Bologna
2,152 reviews
I Portici Hotel
#24 of 103 in Bologna
1,375 reviews
Art Hotel Commercianti
#8 of 103 in Bologna
488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Majestic "Gia Baglioni"? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Majestic "Gia Baglioni"

Property: Grand Hotel Majestic "Gia Baglioni"
Address: Via dell'Indipendenza, 8, 40121 Bologna, Italy
Location: Italy > Emilia-Romagna > Province of Bologna > Bologna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Bologna
#1 Business Hotel in Bologna
#1 Spa Hotel in Bologna
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bologna
#4 Family Hotel in Bologna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Majestic "Gia Baglioni" 5*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel Majestic "già Baglioni", the oldest and most prestigious hotel in Bologna, sits in the heart of the city on Via dell’Indipendenza, within walking distance of Piazza Maggiore and the famous Due Torri. This superb five-star deluxe hotel is situated in a Palazzo designed by architect Alfonso Torregiani during the first half of the 18th century and built by order of Cardinal Prospero Lambertini, who later became Pope. The palazzo is in fact, built on top of an ancient Roman road, part of which can be seen within the hotel. The 109 rooms have a mix of antique furniture with modern amenities, a perfect blend of classic Italian style, elegance and hospitality. The 4th floor refurbishment has enriched the hotel with a new range of Junior Suites and Deluxe Room. The style in this case is classic eighteen century classical French. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Agoda, Travelocity, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hotel Majestic "Gia Baglioni" reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Bologna
Grand Hotel Baglioni

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing