We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fake beauty”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Hotel Majestic "Gia Baglioni"
Ranked #1 of 102 Hotels in Bologna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 22, 2012

I've read all the reviews and it's seems like we were in a different hotel. It really has some nice Baroque interiors (not all of them renovated properly though), but it also has some absolutely tasteless paintings on the patio walls of the breakfast restaurant. The housekeeping is good, but the service at the central desk is absolutely awful. We asked to book us a good restaurant in Verona and they couldn't, although that they have there a partner hotel. We asked to help us find some other things and they couldn't too. But, when I asked my car washed and gave 20 e cash, they took the money and later billed me another 50 e. Ok. Expensive car wash. But any car wash in Albania does better. Food is not bad, but super slow in the restaurant downstairs. So to make the long story short. It's all fake. THat's not the real ***** hotel and service. Made for tourists who didn't see better. By the way. We paid 500 e a night for this bad experience. And it was 18 sq.m.)))

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Anton H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiberio B, Direttore at Grand Hotel Majestic "Gia Baglioni", responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2012

Dear Mr Anton,
Referring to your strong words about your stay in our hotel, we are really sorry to understand that you did not enjoy your accommodation with us, although we allow contradicting you, in some of your comments!
For example probably the breakfast service in the restaurant sala ‘800 was slow, due to the high occupancy of the hotel, not a good reason for being late during the service, for this we apologize and at the same time we thank you for having appreciated the quality of food of our breakfast.
Besides we regret to know that you did not appreciate our paintings, as you mention “tasteless paintings”, maybe this original painting of the Renaissance period could not find your requirements, but much appreciated by many other people.
We confirm that the cost of euro 50 is referred to the washing car, but consider also that if you go by yourself you will pay approximately 25/30 Euro, on the other hand if they take your car, wash your car in and out and deliver your car in the hotel, the cost increases.
Furthermore the cost for your room was 450 and not 500, for a deluxe room with 28 sq. m. and not 18 as per your comment, and probably did you forgot that the following day we offered the very special rate for the extra single room that you join to your reservation, do you remember?
Moreover I’m sorry to contradict you when you say that “the central desk is awful”, they gave you immediately assistance when you felt not so well, and the doctor arrived in 10 minutes, so I think that you had greatest assistance.
About Verona assistance for your restaurant request it does not result that we did not give you any assistance, also because some employees who work with us come from Verona, therefore they know very well any restaurant suggestions.

Please Mr Anton should you have any other requirements, do not hesitate to contact us and thank you again for sharing your experience, and we look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,294)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

718 - 724 of 1,294 reviews

Reviewed September 16, 2012

Great central location near shopping and Piazza Maggiore. The staff were excellent and the room was amazing. We also ate in the restaurant which was a highlight of our trip. Would definitely recommend to anyone visiting Bologna.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2012

Amazingly central location, opulent settings and great service. The rooms were lovely and big with heavy drapes for sleeping in late and the building itself was fun to explore. The staff were very friendly, helping us locate where we wanted to go and remembering us each day. Would definitely return!

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TAP100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2012

We just recently stayed at this hotel and thought it was marvelous. The location is perfect, in the heart of the city. The staff is very attentive and wants to make sure everything goes perfect. The housekeeping standards are impeccable. Our room was the penthouse suite and it looks just like the pictures with the most amazing view. It was a great experience that we will never forget.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mmiller2783
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2012

The Grand Majestic was absolutly beautiful. Every picture on line was exactly as the hotel was. The staff was unbelievable they could not do enough for you. The buffet breakfast that was included in the price was wonderful and the dining area was very inviting. The resturante in the hotel was just remodled and was very elegant. We were only there for the weekend but wished we were staying longer. Truly a wonderful experience! The hotel was centrally located to the center of town which was great.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicholas C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2012

Having read the reviews of this hotel, combined with the price we were paying (over 500 euros a night), our expectations were high. While our treatment by staff was excellent, as was the location, the hotel itself is quite standard. The common areas are well maintained but the rooms, while spacious, are tired, and in places, tatty. My advice would be to choose the cheapest room, as you will not get a better location and nicer staff. Bring your own hairdryer.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank spml13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2012

Having been to just about every major city in Italy over the past 20 years, we have experienced the best of Italy's hotels and just having spent four days in Bologna at the Grand Hotel Majestic, it is a pleasure to report that this hotel is superb in every way. Polite and professional staff at every level with a special kudo to Max and the breakfast team made us feel rght at home from the minute we arrived. The hotel was spotlessly clean and the maid service was imepccable. The breakfast was bountiful and the room always was refreshed with fruit and water. You may pay more but it was truly worth it.

Room Tip: Uper rooms facing Via Independenza have a lovely balcony overlooking a beautiful church
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alsal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bologna hotels
San Vitale
Hotel Corona d'Oro 1890
Hotel Corona d'Oro 1890
#2 of 102 in Bologna
938 reviews
Metropolitan Hotel
#8 of 102 in Bologna
1,584 reviews
Savhotel
#3 of 102 in Bologna
2,288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
I Portici Hotel
#25 of 102 in Bologna
1,496 reviews
Aemilia Hotel
#4 of 102 in Bologna
2,572 reviews
Art Hotel Commercianti
#12 of 102 in Bologna
572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Majestic "Gia Baglioni"? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Majestic "Gia Baglioni"

Address: Via dell'Indipendenza, 8, 40121 Bologna, Italy
Location: Italy > Emilia-Romagna > Province of Bologna > Bologna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bologna
#1 Spa Hotel in Bologna
#1 Luxury Hotel in Bologna
#1 Business Hotel in Bologna
#4 Family Hotel in Bologna
Price Range: $326 - $1,355 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Majestic "Gia Baglioni" 5*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel Majestic "già Baglioni", the oldest and most prestigious hotel in Bologna, sits in the heart of the city on Via dell’Indipendenza, within walking distance of Piazza Maggiore and the famous Due Torri. This superb five-star deluxe hotel is situated in a Palazzo designed by architect Alfonso Torregiani during the first half of the 18th century and built by order of Cardinal Prospero Lambertini, who later became Pope. The palazzo is in fact, built on top of an ancient Roman road, part of which can be seen within the hotel. The 109 rooms have a mix of antique furniture with modern amenities, a perfect blend of classic Italian style, elegance and hospitality. The 4th floor refurbishment has enriched the hotel with a new range of Junior Suites and Deluxe Room. The style in this case is classic eighteen century classical French. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, getaroom.com, Priceline, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Grand Hotel Majestic "Gia Baglioni" reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Bologna
Grand Hotel Baglioni

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing