We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old world charm with modern comforts in a great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Hotel Majestic "Gia Baglioni"
Ranked #1 of 102 Hotels in Bologna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 28, 2012

Stayed a couple of nights in a deluxe room. The hotel is located about 10-15 mins from the main train station, its a straight walk up via indipendenza. They seem to block off the road on Sundays which makes it even easier to walk to the hotel from the station. A cab is about 10 euros and they will drop you off around the corner if the street is blocked off. The unassuming entrance is opposite a church about 50m away from McDonalds. The location is exceptional, you are right in the middle of the town and walking distance to everything. There is a great upmarket grocer/bookshop around the corner in the main square selling coffee, delicacies, drinks and books.

Check in was quick, most of the front desk staff are friendly (apart from one) and efficient with good recommendations for dining. Housekeeping was always very friendly.The room was a decent size for Europe, "ageing gracefully" would be an appropriate description. It was a little average to be honest, dated and tired - however it is a historic old hotel so I guess one cant complain about that. Spotlessly clean and well maintained but a tad shabby and clearly wasnt quite as nice as the photos suggested. To be fair the higher category rooms may be nicer but you will be forking out well over 300 euros. Bed was great, the bathroom was again rather dated, as was the decor in the room, apart form the small LCD tv in the corner. A refurbishment would definitely help. The common areas however, are beautiful, and the hotel has a lot of charm and character that you wont find in a modern skyscrapper. The keys are chunky old school ones which is pretty cool.

Had dinner once in the hotel restaurant, the food was pretty good, the service was great (it was pretty empty which is surprising) and the value was decent, comparable to similar restaurants in the area and definitely worth a try. Breakfast was excellent, a good selection of high quality with friendly, polished and efficient service.

This is probably the only five star choice in Bologna, and its definitely a nice hotel but nowhere near as fabulous as some have suggested, so YMMV. Whist the experience was good, if I had read some of the glowing reviews first I would have been disappointed so dont set your expectations too high.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FatcatJunketeer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,257)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

712 - 718 of 1,257 reviews

Reviewed July 24, 2012 via mobile

Yes the hotel is expensive, but the old saying "you get what you pay for" certainly rang true for this hotel experience. Excellent room, amazing breakfast, and service fit for a king. We got all you bookings, car rentals, ferrari and Ducati museum visits organized as we arrived, also our room was enormous and an extra single bed was added for my sister who joined us at the last minute...again great service!

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Xwagon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2012

Stayed at this great hotel in July 2012.What a beautiful and comfortable oasis in the middle of historic Bologna! The room was lovely - with all amenities! Friendly staff at the desk made restaurant reservations for us and booked us a private walking tour! The breakfast was included in the price was delicious! Don't miss this gem!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mahi817
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2012

Holiday 29th May 2012 to 5 June 2012
From the moment you arrive you know you have made the right choice. The welcome was the best we have ever experienced. A superb room that was spotless and well maintained at all times. All the staff were genuinely courteous, friendly and helpful at all times. They ensured the holiday was perfect. The breakfast choice was extensive and delightful and the restaurant of high standards. Situated in the perfect position to experience the city. Our many thanks for making our holiday so enjoyable! Alison and Lawrence

Room Tip: Choose a room with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lawrence F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2012

We spent three nights there in June and our room was huge with beautiful linen sheets, a lovely fresh fruit bowl and excellent service. We were able to put a rollaway in for our son and still had tons of space. We ate downstairs at the bar one night and food was very good but not much of a scene at the bar I'm afraid. The staff recommended some great places for apperitivs. My only complaint was that the tour guide we booked through the hotel was not very good. We stayed at many five star hotels on our trip to Italy and we liked this one the best...! Internet worked well too.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sooxtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2012

As soon as we arrived, they took the car and unloaded all the luggage. They even knew us by name! They welcomed us warmly, they escorted us to our room. We had a room with a balcony on the 4th floor. They welcomed us with fresh fruit and every evening we had turn down service. The room was spacious, clean and quiet. There was only 1 american channel that played movies. Breakfast was very good. We made sure never to miss it. Dinner in the hotel restaurant was incredibly good. Especially the veal dish. Yum! The location is down the main Piazza and during our stay every night they played a different movie under the stars. Overall, the hotel was top notch. We would definitely recommend this property to anyone traveling to Bologna.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NPC07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2012

We visited Bologna in mid/late-June 2012..it was scorcing hot!! The Majestic hotel facility, staff, concierge, service, and food were all superb and they were appropriately sensitive to the heat wave effects on weary travelers - us! We had a spacious and beautifully appointed junior suite with a balcony overlooking the Via Indipendenza- "bella!...perfect for our wedding anniversary. The hotel is in the BEST LOCATION in the entire town -- easy walk to the train station, Piazza Maggiore (and other major piazza's) which was featuring a fabulous outdoor movie festival each evening which was fantastic. We never needed a taxi and walked nearly every inch of Old Bologna. Needless to say, we highly recommend the Majestic for your stay in Bologna!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LarmoG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bologna hotels
San Vitale
Hotel Corona d'Oro 1890
Hotel Corona d'Oro 1890
#2 of 102 in Bologna
909 reviews
Metropolitan Hotel
#9 of 102 in Bologna
1,567 reviews
Savhotel
#3 of 102 in Bologna
2,248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Aemilia Hotel
#4 of 102 in Bologna
2,525 reviews
I Portici Hotel
#23 of 102 in Bologna
1,464 reviews
Al Cappello Rosso
#8 of 102 in Bologna
836 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Majestic "Gia Baglioni"? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Majestic "Gia Baglioni"

Address: Via dell'Indipendenza, 8, 40121 Bologna, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Emilia-Romagna > Province of Bologna > Bologna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Bologna
#1 Business Hotel in Bologna
#1 Luxury Hotel in Bologna
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bologna
#4 Family Hotel in Bologna
Price Range: $306 - $637 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Majestic "Gia Baglioni" 5*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel Majestic "già Baglioni", the oldest and most prestigious hotel in Bologna, sits in the heart of the city on Via dell’Indipendenza, within walking distance of Piazza Maggiore and the famous Due Torri. This superb five-star deluxe hotel is situated in a Palazzo designed by architect Alfonso Torregiani during the first half of the 18th century and built by order of Cardinal Prospero Lambertini, who later became Pope. The palazzo is in fact, built on top of an ancient Roman road, part of which can be seen within the hotel. The 109 rooms have a mix of antique furniture with modern amenities, a perfect blend of classic Italian style, elegance and hospitality. The 4th floor refurbishment has enriched the hotel with a new range of Junior Suites and Deluxe Room. The style in this case is classic eighteen century classical French. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Grand Hotel Majestic "Gia Baglioni" reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Bologna
Grand Hotel Baglioni

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing