We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly Surprised!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mercure Bologna Centro
Ranked #51 of 103 Hotels in Bologna
Dublin, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Pleasantly Surprised!”
Reviewed June 5, 2014

We stayed on the 4th/5th floor facing the courtyard at the rear of the hotel. The best part was getting off the bus from the airport and simply crossing the road to get to the hotel. The room was slightly dated, but it was very good value and all-in-all, we could not really fault it. The worst complaint was the bathroom being a bit compact, but nothing too major to worry about and the room was very clean with a comfortable bed.

I really liked the seating area outside the bar leading to the courtyard, it was a lovely spot for a coffee in the morning and a drink in the evening. After reading the reviews, I was somewhat worried about staying here, but in this case, I will be happy to stay at this hotel again. On a side note, I cannot wait to return to Bologna. A day trip to Florence on the train is very easy and highly recommended; next time, I will do a trip to Venice or Milan.

Room Tip: I suspect a room at the front of the hotel would be fairly noisy, but the ones facing the courtyard...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johnjoe1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureBo, Manager at Mercure Bologna Centro, responded to this review, November 3, 2014
Dear Guest,
thank you very much for the time spent to let us know about your experience in our hotel.
We are pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay.
Your opinion is very important for us to improve our services everyday.
We hope to welcome you back soon upon your next stay in Bologna.
Best regards.
Cinzia Zanni - General Manager
Mercure Bologna Centro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,064 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    352
    889
    557
    176
    90
See reviews for
214
787
229
548
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
243 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2014

Recently stayed at the hotel for its location. It is opposite the railway station and within a short walk of the city centre. The hotel had comfortable rooms that were clean and serviced daily. The breakfast was good value. We had to pay as it was not included in our room rate. However on one morning our hot water was not working and the hotel gave us a complimentary breakfast while they sorted out the issue. The staff were very helpful and friendly.

Room Tip: Get a room at the back over looking the park. They are more quiet than the front that would have str...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureBo, Manager at Mercure Bologna Centro, responded to this review, November 4, 2014
Dear Guest,
thank you for the appreciation you demonstrated afeter your stay in our hotel.
Your opinion is very important for us to improve our services everyday.
We hope to welcome you beck soon in Bologna.
Best regards.
Cinzia Zanni - General Manager
Mercure Bologna Centro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2014

The hotel is conveniently located near the train station but other than that it was kind of disappointing. The hotel lobby, bar and lounge area are rather nice, but that is about it. Problems. The chair for the desk was broken and almost broke my neck when I sat down for the first time. The hotel is not a non-smoking hotel some rooms are non-smoking and others are not. In the morning we could smell the cigarette smoke either coming in through the windows or the ventilation systems, Really disgusting. Toilet ran all night long. Not a good experience.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank C H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureBo, Manager at Mercure Bologna Centro, responded to this review, October 10, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to share with us your experience in our hotel.
We regret the standards of service fell short of your expectations and we ask you to accept our most sincere apologies.

We would like to inform you that a renovation program is ongoing. We already renovated all room carpets and we are now changing all matresses. We will improve all services so we hope to welcome you again, trying then to regain your confidence.

Yours sincerely,
Cinzia Zanni - General Manager
Mercure Bologna Centro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 27, 2014

As the title says, a tired place. In need of refurbishment. We arrived for two nights greeted at the desk by 3 very professional polite team of 3 sharp suited receptionists and I am afraid it went downhilll from there. Small noisy room facing the railway station with peeling old wallpaper held up by peeling tape. Good solid bed but a cramped room. Reasonable bathroom which was clean but not spotless. NO aircon working. Called the desk a few times but no-one picked up. Finally a member of staff answered and told me aircon is not working. Sorry, not good enough Mercure. This a 4star hotel in a major city.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Archibald E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2014

It's an average 4 stars Italian hotel.

Good location in front of the train station, with bus and taxi stops.
it's a 20 minutes walk to Bologna main square.

Rooms are decent but the toilets need to be refurbished urgently

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gattopippo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2014

I was staying for the third time here since last year . It is a fairly good place to stay very centrally located and everything is around. Probably that is the reason they do not have a restaurant in house. Slightly expensive but you can expect that as the location is everything. At times it can be a bit noisy and your sleep quality may get affected though I don't have this problem yet.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Ashish P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bologna hotels
Starhotels Excelsior
#25 of 103 in Bologna
1,624 reviews
NH Bologna De La Gare
#38 of 103 in Bologna
1,537 reviews
UNA Hotel Bologna
#26 of 103 in Bologna
958 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Porto
Millennhotel
Millennhotel
#65 of 103 in Bologna
706 reviews
Hotel Il Guercino
#29 of 103 in Bologna
1,484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Bologna Centro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Bologna Centro

Property: Mercure Bologna Centro
Address: Viale Pietro Pietramellara 59, 40121 Bologna, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Emilia-Romagna > Province of Bologna > Bologna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Luxury Hotel in Bologna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Bologna Centro 4*
Number of rooms: 244
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mercure Bologna Centro boasts a strategic location opposite the train station, just 1.9 Miles (3 km) from the exhibition center and at the gateway to the historic center, making it ideal for both business and leisure travelers. The hotel has 244 rooms with all the modern comforts, 5 naturally-lit modular meeting rooms and a private park spanning 53,820 sq. Ft. (5000 M²). Free WIFI throughout the hotel. Private car park with direct access to the hotel. Small sized pets allowded with daily supplement. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Bologna Centro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Bologna Centro Hotel Bologna
Accor Bologna Centro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing