We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very nice fountain”

Fontana del Nettuno
Book In Advance
More Info
$17.09*
and up
Bologna City Walking Tour
Beirut, Lebanon
Level Contributor
64 reviews
49 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“very nice fountain”
Reviewed December 8, 2013

The fountain and the statue are really nice. It is part of piazza maggiore, so you cannot miss it while in Bologna.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Charbelbousaba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,813 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    929
    591
    178
    51
    64
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
67 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“One of the main attraction to see in Bologna”
Reviewed November 25, 2013

This lovely statue is located on the main square of Bologna's center.
It is an area full of lovely shops, restaurants, coffee shops, bars, beautiful monuments and buildings..
So naturally it is an area for locals to meet and tourists to see. So it is lively even in cold dark evenings.
You would see people gather or sit near this statue, or in our case protest something in front of it but like I said it's one of the main attractions on the area.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank ElcinKisacik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnt Hills, New York
Level Contributor
150 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Beautiful statue/fountain in center of Bologna”
Reviewed November 23, 2013

Piazza Maggiore is the major town square in the center of Bologna, Italy. Crowded with students, visitors, cafes, gelateria, and pigeons, its a fun place to meet for coffee or aperitif. The fountain of Neptune is a beautiful statue of the sea god, Neptune, surrounded by mermaids. Apparently the sculptor played a joke on the pope at the time, who objected to the appearance of the "manly parts," by placing Neptune's thumb in a certain way that made looking at the statue from just the right angle fairly naughty. A fun local fact.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank superchemist1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vail, Colorado
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Visit!”
Reviewed November 5, 2013

Ok honestly mixed feelings... My boyfriend and I came here I think every single day of the trip to sit on the steps. We ate panini's there, drank our gelato frappes there, it was our go-to resting spot. However, be careful. My wallet got stolen from right next to me on these steps. It's a big tourist spot so there's lots of people walking around. Keep an eye on your stuff, but make sure to visit, sit on the steps, and people watch

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Europe
Level Contributor
45 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Shall I take your picture?”
Reviewed November 4, 2013

The fountain is fine, but be wary of the people offering to take your photo! You might end up paying Eur 10 for someone using your camera for 2 minutes ..

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank TravellingWithKids22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fontana del Nettuno also viewed

Bologna, Province of Bologna
 
Bologna, Province of Bologna
 

Been to Fontana del Nettuno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing