We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Treated Like Family, While Having a Family Reunion”

Trattoria Da Romano
Ranked #325 of 1,843 Restaurants in Bologna
Price range: $28 - $48
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Exeter, New Hampshire
Level 6 Contributor
248 reviews
132 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“Treated Like Family, While Having a Family Reunion”
Reviewed June 9, 2012

We chose the Trattoria Da Romano, due to the location near the Stazzione Centrale, and the reviews. We met family that came in from 20k away and parking was a cinch for them as well. The restaurant took our reservations months in advance, and had everything ready of us, we were a party of 12, so this was appreciated. Some in our party are vegetarians (including me) and the restaurant took care of us. Each of the courses came out just in perfect time. The food was spectacular, I recommend for the primo course, that you have the pumpkin filled tortelini, amazing. Wonderful atmosphere, wonderful service, and incredible food.

Thank You Trattoria Da Romano, I will be back next time I am in Bologna

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jason K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    111
    52
    15
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
london
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Old school favourite”
Reviewed February 28, 2012

On second trip to Bologna decided to try this restaurant from the good reviews and was not dissapointed...Has a certain old quaint feel/look to it but then again it is a traditional restaurant!Had Antipasti to start followed by Mixed grill (inc were pork,chicken,steak,sasuage etc;)with roast potatoes.My wife had pasta wit meat which was delicious.Tiramisu for desert which was homemade and boozy.washed down with nice bottle of white...damage 54euro so no complaints about that..Will defo return again...Enjoy

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank IRISHYIDDO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Homely and friendly service”
Reviewed October 23, 2011

We ate at this restaurant because we were staying at the nearby Mercure hotel and it was only around the corner and seemed like the best choice in the immediate area.. We were concerned when we arrived that we were the only people at this restaurant but it soon filled up with other diners including locals. The decor was a little kitsch but the food was good and homely. We had the aubergine parmigiana and the tagliatelle bolognese which were very good. The service was friendly and attentive.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank vanillawafer11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich
Level 6 Contributor
332 reviews
219 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 195 helpful votes
“Nice food and service, practical as right next to the train station”
Reviewed August 7, 2011

That was our first culinary experience in Bologna as we just stepped out from the train. It was practical after 5 hours spent travelling and pretty hungry. We decided to head to Da Romano after having read all the positive reviews on this website. We had tomato mozzarella (surprisingly not tasty tomatoes!) and Vitello Tonato for a start, then tagliatelle al ragou and a pie filled of tortellini (how uncommon! and also very salty), and finally a parmigiana (sort of lasagna where the layers are actually slices of aubergine). The food was OK but nothing really special. We expected it a bit lighter and fresher from other experiences in Italy. The place itself was spotless and the decoration, although slightly kitsch and outdated, very cute. Service was excellent and very attentionate. Among different possibilities near the train station, this is certainly the highlight.

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank kizkouz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Amazing Bolognese Cuisine with Reasonable Prices”
Reviewed July 11, 2011

With it's location, on a wide avenue near the train station, one would not expect spectacular food here, yet in part due to the quality of the ingredients found in E-R, especially Bologna, and the proprietor's focus on freshness, and home-style cooking, this may be the best restaurant in Bologna; it was certainly the best meal I have ever had. My fiancee and I shared a plate of grilled vegetables, which were seemingly marinated in the wonderful balsamic vinegar of the region, and I had the lamb shank, which was extremely tender and flavorful, and fell off the bone. A half-litre of wine and a freshly cut platter of pineapple brought the total, including the coperto charge to 21 Euros for me, a small price to pay for the quality of the food.

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JHildom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Trattoria Da Romano also viewed

Bologna, Province of Bologna
Bologna, Province of Bologna
 
Bologna, Province of Bologna
Bologna, Province of Bologna
 

Been to Trattoria Da Romano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing