We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An absolute delight”

Cremeria Santo Stefano
Ranked #1 of 119 Dessert in Bologna
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: Laboratorio creativo di gelato e cioccolato
Arlington, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“An absolute delight”
Reviewed June 18, 2013

This is a bit further down Via Santo Stefano away from the primary tourist spots, but it's not that far. Prices are average for what you find in the area (3.30 euros for a medium-large cone). Their house flavor "Heidi" is a creamy berry gelato with just a bit of tartness that I found well balanced against crema di latte. They do not have a large selection of flavors, but each flavor they do have is absolutely worth the experience! I could dive into a vat of the crema and die happy!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Djibuddha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

946 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    676
    206
    43
    14
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dorchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Wonderful traditional shop, superb ice cream”
Reviewed May 3, 2013

Stumbled across this amazing place in Bologna. It is worth tracking down. Superb ice cream, just a few freshly churned flavours - some quite inventive (like my 'chai' choice) - delicate and exquisite! From the shop you can see into the kitchen and watch the friendly ice-cream maker at work, obviously taking immense pride in his product. I dream about this place!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Connie1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“This is the real thing”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

I always make a point to go whenever visiting my hometown. The choice of flavours may not be massive, but the quality is superb.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Frannie_Rules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
Level 6 Contributor
252 reviews
132 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Slow food for icecream”
Reviewed August 19, 2012

We came across this lovely place after having had a good and filling lunch. Whatever our stomach said, the eyes and brain had a different idea and we went in. Whatever you have eaten, dont miss this. Excellent icecream, deserts, cakes and drinks. We tried some nocciola and pistacchio flavor, the granita and finally the maracuja on a stick, which was perfect for a hot day. There was a chocolate sorbet which I would have liked to try, and some fruit flavors for the summer.

The ladies were lovely, and our only regret was that we could not try more.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Christine_sing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Perfect ending”
Reviewed June 18, 2012

We found this gelateria to be a very classic Italian place - crowded and obviously popular with the locals, which is how we found it. Huge crowds outside enjoying their dessert. Good choice of flavors, and helpful staff.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sevencountriessofar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cremeria Santo Stefano also viewed

Bologna, Province of Bologna
Bologna, Province of Bologna
 
Bologna, Province of Bologna
Bologna, Province of Bologna
 

Been to Cremeria Santo Stefano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing