We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grazie Marco!!! Maravillosa Bologna y maravilloso B&B Ayhome”
Review of B&B ayHome

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
B&B ayHome
Ranked #15 of 302 Bologna B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 10, 2012

I just got back from Bologna where I stayed in B&B Ayhome for 4 days and I must say that Marco (the owner) has been really nice to us, always smiling and helping us with our queries, recommending restaurants and places of interest, having a chat with us at any time and making us feel as if we were at home.

Thank you Marco, you made our time in bologna easier and nice. The place is very quiet and very well located (only 15 minutes walk to the center). The surroundings are nice as well and it is as if you were in your own house. Breakfast is very good quality with lots of differentnice ans tasty pastries, good coffee, juice ... at a nice and quiet atmosphere. Rooms are really big and the bathrooms very clean and big as well. Never had to quee or wait to get one available as the place is not big and two bathrooms are enough for all the bedrooms as only 4 of them.

Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Es un lugar excelente a un precio más que razonable considerando donde está ubicado, la calidad del...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Glojigar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (142)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

38 - 44 of 142 reviews

Reviewed November 16, 2012

A perfect place to stay in the centre of Bologna (25mins flat walk from station on opposite side of city), it gave us far more than we had expected/hoped for! So clean, comfortable and tastefully decorated. (I particularly loved the calm portrait on the easel!) Marco was very welcoming when we arrived, and friendly and helpful each time we met in the hall. Lots of choice for breakfast - with delicious coffee from the Lavazza machine! Most importantly for me, the two bathrooms were always sparkling clean, and although I'd normally prefer ensuite, were fine to share even when all five rooms were booked. I can't wait to stay here again! A brilliant find!!!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary-Teresa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

Ayhome B&B was a very nice place, comfortable, quiet but at the same time in he walking distance to the historical city center. The owner was very nice and helpful. I would absolutely recommend the place and would stay again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank icivaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2012

We stayed 2 nights and would stay again. The rooms were spacious. The host was helpful when we arrived. It was relatively quiet and an easy walk to the main piazza. Breakfast was self-service, but generous.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liz S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2012

I stayed in Bologna for two nights at the ayHome, a well appointed, tastefully furnished B&B on the southern side of town. I arrived at the train station and only then realised it was, quite literally, the other side of town from the bus/train station (tip - bus A or 30, stop-off at Tribunale, will get you there). Even though Bologna is not a big city and quite walkable, one side of town to the other is a good 30mins, moreso with luggage. So, as my train was late and I was hauling my butt to the other side of town, the ayHome manager at the time started calling me to find out where I was. I told him I was on my way, train was delayed, and would be there soon. All very good. However, when he called a third time and slipped that his dinner was waiting for him at home, it really didn't give me the best impression.

I eventually arrived there and was impressed - a lift up two floors to a modern looking B&B. Rooms were clean & large, wi-fi was free, (shared) bathrooms were massive and air-con was put into my room. Fantastic. All I needed now was a map and I could get my holiday started. The reply - oh, we ran outta maps. And don't know when we're getting more in. Really? You've run out of maps? That most basic of tourist necessity?

The ayHome has got a lot going for it, and if a couple of things had been sorted, I would def give it a solid 4 stars. It's just unfortunate that a couple of things marred an overall good experience.

Room Tip: Ask for the air con for your room in summer - not just the fan they put in there!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Seraphial
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2011

My husband and I spent one night here. Our bedroom was clean and tastefully furnished, but rather basic for the price. The proprietor was nowhere to be seen the entire time we were there, so we were greeted by the maid, who was nice, but clearly not a hostess. The breakfast was pitiful: all vacuum sealed packets. We bought pastries and fruits the day before; definitely the way to go. That said, we were able to walk to all the sights we wanted to see, were quite happy with the cleanliness of the establishment, and overall satisfied with our stay.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Thank Bay R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2011

We stayed for two nights. Rooms were large, clean and elegant. The rooms are in an apartment building with polished floors and high ceilings meaning that the upstairs neighbours can be very noisy- after listenng what was either a dog or child drop something heavy and metallic on the floor above our room repeatedly we got a litle sick of this.We also had one night where we were kept awake by either water in pipes or pigeons outside- we couldn't decipher the cause. Take ear plugs!
Breakfast was good although mostly highly processed (packaged bread/ buns and pastries). There was fruit juice and you could make your own coffee; yoghurt and cereal were available too.
The B and B was located a good 10-15 minute walk from the center of town.
Parking was available in a local car parking area at a cost of 15 euro (over night).

The hosts were friendly and helpful. You did feel a little like an intruder in their home though.
There were some more practical aspects that could be improved too- like somewhere to hang towels in you room (you were asked not to leave them in the shared bathroom), and decent lighting in the room so you can read. Albeit these practial things may take away from the decor and inerior design of the room.Overall, if you don't mind the walk into town it is clean and reliable place to stay.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank poppy500NZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bologna hotels
Panorama Hotel
#31 of 102 in Bologna
273 reviews
Hotel Porta San Mamolo
#11 of 102 in Bologna
1,429 reviews
San Vitale
Il Canale Hotel
Il Canale Hotel
#5 of 102 in Bologna
481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Metropolitan Hotel
#8 of 102 in Bologna
1,541 reviews
Hotel Touring
#6 of 102 in Bologna
1,606 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B&B ayHome? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B ayHome

Address: Via Savenella 2, 240124 Bologna, Italy
Location: Italy > Emilia-Romagna > Province of Bologna > Bologna > Santo Stefano
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 302 B&Bs / Inns in Bologna
Price Range: $74 - $106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The B&B "ayHome" is located in Porta San Mamolo district, in a very quiet, affluent neighborohood and really close to the luxury Cavour Gallery and Saint Domenico's Church, where lays the famous work of Nicola Pisano: "The Ark".Walking down though the beautiful arched galleries in only 5 minutes you can reach S. Petronio Church (Bologna's patron saint), then, crossing Piazza Maggiore and walking along Via Rizzoli you can admire the "two towers", symbol of the city. - From the Train Station "Bologna Centrale": 15 minutes by bus - From The Airport "Guglielmo Marconi": 50 minutes by bus - From The Fair "Bologna Fiere": 35 minutes by bus ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, HostelWorld, Priceline, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your B&B ayHome reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing