We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Seafood and pizza” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Il Piccolo Gambero - CLOSED

Il Piccolo Gambero
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Neighborhood: Porto
Vancouver, BC
Level Contributor
50 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Seafood and pizza”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2014 via mobile

Close to train station, an unassuming restaurant serving pizza seafood and pasta. Pizzas were large, tasty, and inexpensive. Seafood great. Clam starter was large and fresh, fish was nice, and the grilled crustaceans (half lobster two large prawns and two langostines) were nicely charred and tender inside. Staff super friendly. I'm not sure why other people had issues. Portions were more than adequate.

Helpful?
1 Thank canadian_traveller88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

139 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    31
    22
    11
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
45 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Serving size very small”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2014

The restaurant has qood quality though the serving size of the entrees is very small. I ordered tortellinis and there were only eight tortellinis (!!) included. I left the place hungry and pretty annoyed. The wifi was not working either.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ejc1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2013 via mobile

The staff and owner are friendly and inviting. Great good and excellent service. Highly recommend and the seafood pastas looked amazing. I dabbled in their pizza and was quite happy with my choice.

Helpful?
Thank Todd H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Superb!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

I visited Il Piccolo Gambero at the advice of a colleague and was definitely not disappointed. In fact, we liked it so much we came back again 2 nights later! Bruno knew exactly what we wanted and looked after us like we were long lost brethren. Brilliant food as well, cooked to perfection.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Matthew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
209 reviews
145 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Avoid pizzas seafood is really good.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013 via mobile

It is close to the Bologna Central train station, a medium-sized restaurant. Pastas and pizzas are no different than one can find in any decent Italian restaurant but the seafood is really good. I ordered antipasto crudo, basically Peruvian style seafood and that I was pleased with result. It. İs an old style, simple looking, but a decent restaurant. The portions are generous. Nothing is extraordinary. It is good for lunch or dinner if you are just looking for a place to eat something. It is not a budget restaurant . The service is casual. Seafood dishes certainly represent better value than pizzas served in terms of taste and price.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank erolys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Il Piccolo Gambero also viewed

Bologna, Province of Bologna
Bologna, Province of Bologna
 
Bologna, Province of Bologna
Bologna, Province of Bologna
 
Bologna, Province of Bologna
Bologna, Province of Bologna
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing