We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dessert from Carrefour”
Review of Franco Rossi

Franco Rossi
Reserve with
Save up to 20% when you reserve online *
Franco Rossi is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #95 of 1,835 Restaurants in Bologna
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $36 - $144
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: This must be one of the best restaurants in Bologna with a friendly welcome, great service and a celebrated chef.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Dessert from Carrefour”
Reviewed January 2, 2013

We found this restaurant in the book from John Grisham "the broker". The San Silvestro menu (120€ per person, including wine etc.) looked very promising. And it was ok except the dessert. During the diner we saw somebody of the staff going up with boxes cake from Carrefour. And yes it was the dessert, from Carrefour, that was presented. For is unacceptable for this restaurant were you except a homemade cake or something alike. Woud Jonh Grisham accept something like this? I don't think so! What a disappointment.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Pat-inge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

566 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    283
    167
    76
    21
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“High class establishment”
Reviewed December 7, 2012

Is there a better restaurant in Bologna???

This excellent restaurant was recommended to us and indeed lived up to what we were told. The food was very good as were the suggested wines that we had with the "tasting" menu. Service was attentive and professional.

Not cheap but still very good value.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Modale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mchinoy
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Buyer Beware!!!”
Reviewed November 13, 2012

We read the reviews here and decided to go with all the hype about the John Grisham book that has pages referring to the restaurant. The owner Franco is very suave and constantly winking and flirting with the customers Italian style. While the food was tasty, What bothered us is that he cheated us on the bill! We ordered 4 dishes and he charged us for 8. Moreover he gave us an appertif when we sat down that we did not order and we were charged for it. So also with the dessert. We asked for the dessert menu and he did not bring us a menu or a tray, but plated it on a plate that was served to us followed by wine for which we were charged(we DID NOT order a Prixe fixe menu) My menu(the female one had no prices on it) The locals DO NOT eat here. When our bill arrived Franco Rossi who took our order conveniently disappeared. He must be thinking yet another tourist being ripped off. We subsequently eat in other fabulous local restaurants and did not have this issue. We are not naive and world travelers but this left a bad taste of a slick cheat. Hope others read this sincere report and do not fall into this trap. Amen!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank mchinoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“High class yet warm and friendly - a wonderful restaurant”
Reviewed November 11, 2012

We went to this restaurant after reading reviews but it was actually closest to our hotel! Without booking, we were welcomed in warmly. The principal room is of a high class restaurant. The food was excellent and the staff were elegant and attentive. The wines were excellent and included economical but good bottles. The menus are rather cunning: the men get blue menus with the prices on, the ladies have pink menus with no prices! The food was excellent and the atmosphere was quiet and stylish, at first. The proprietor, Franco Rossi himself, is attentive and hands on. And then: a lady singer and her guitarist appeared. The evening became one of community singing and enjoyment. Fine standard Italian and hipanic songs were given with gusto. Each table of diners was enquired with and their nationality ascertained. As we were English, we had 'Delilah' [Welsh] and 'Wimoweh' [South African] done, in Italian, by the whole company in our honour and a very skilled guitar medley of Beatles tunes. Various Italians rose and danced around the room. One lady was newly espoused: she was showered with rose petals. All ladies were given roses on departure. A young man was embarrassed on his birthday dinner to be celebrated by all present. An American couple were astonished at the large portion sizes. Franco's brother, Lino, is the chef and he comes out to meet the diners.This was a wonderful evening of Italian family friendliness, but in a high class restaurant: an outstanding experience of international community feeling. The staff mentioned that music happens mostly on Friday and Saturday nights. The whole bill was 110 Euros for two for a feast and an experience!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lungipiedi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm
Level Contributor
51 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Old style lux”
Reviewed November 2, 2012 via mobile

Attentive service, good food, excellent wine. The decor has probably been the same for going on five decades, its genuine good food in an welcoming unpretentious setting!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank M1lla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Franco Rossi also viewed

Bologna, Province of Bologna
Bologna, Province of Bologna
 
Bologna, Province of Bologna
Bologna, Province of Bologna
 

Been to Franco Rossi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing