We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely B & B and Outstanding Host”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Antica Residenza d'Azeglio
Ranked #2 of 284 Bologna B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lovely B & B and Outstanding Host”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2010

We spent three delightful nights here in September 2010. Well located for visiting the historic centre of Bologna, also makes a great home base for day excursions, via train, to Modena and Parma. Property is beautifully restored and decorated with large rooms and baths featuring every amenity. Agostino, our host, could not have been more helpful, from restaurant and sightseeing recommendations and reservations to his charming breakfast each morning. Trust us, take his restaurant advice, we had several outstanding dining experiences in Bologna. A true "family feel" to the establishment. We look forward to using Antica Residenza d'Azeglio as our home base for further exploration of the lovely, and must less touristy, Emilia-Romagna region of Italy.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveller5401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

573 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    541
    30
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
66
386
27
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2010

We had a great time in Bologna and the highlight was this B&B. Agostino is a real gentleman, he is so helpful, generous with his time, recommendations aplenty and such a lovely host! His breakfasts are a treat, lots of lovely fruit, paninis, coffee/cappucino etc and the big table were all guests can sit together is a great feature.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ClemmieBelfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern Ireland
Level Contributor
37 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2010

We stayed in this lovely little B&B in Bologna,having read all the great reviews on Tripadvisor,we were a little bit apprehensive about staying in a B & B as we normally stay in a good 4 star hotel.On arrival you enter into a large monastery like hallway up a couple of flights of stairs (or you can use the very tiny old lift !).The rooms are all very clean and spacious we had the pink room, just one thing bring some shampoo and shower gel! .Agustino is very helpful and loves to see all his guests mixing in like a big happy family,breakfast is an experience to say the least all guests sit at the "family" table while Agustino fusses around you likeyour Mum would !!! We had a lovely time here and met some lovely people from Australia and America we shared stories and we even went out for dinner with the Australian couple to a restaurant recommended by Agustino he made the reservation too! Stay here for a unique experience.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aileen_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
denver
Level Contributor
132 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2010

We recently spent two days at Antica Residenza with Augustino and had a wonderful time. The rooms were very nice, the beds a little firmer than I would like, but nice.

The location for Bologna is outstanding. You are about a 5 minute walk from the main square and countless restaurants. The only challenge is finding Antica Residence. It is in a larger building and doesn't have a lot of signs pointing it out.

Augustino is an amazing host and takes care of you. Just be careful, he is like a grandmother and always offering more and more food or cappucino.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank turtle722
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2010

The Antica Residenza D’Azeglio is a wonderful Bed & Breakfast only 5 minutes walking distance from the heart of city. The residence is extremely quaint and the rooms are impeccably clean. My boyfriend and I found the Antica Residenza D’Azeglio on Trip Advisor and we are very happy that we decided to listen to the reviews of other guests and book our room. Upon our arrival to the Bed &Breakfast, Agostino made us feel like we were at home. He was very kind and extremely accommodating, always ensuring to help us with our dinner reservations and go out of his way to make us feel comfortable and of course, very well fed! I moved to Bologna to attend Graduate School and Agostino was kind enough to go out of his way and assist me in finding living accommodations after I checked out of the Bed & Breakfast. All together, our experience with the Antica Residenza D’Azeglio, Agostino & the other staff members was very positive and we would surely stay in this Bed & Breakfast again. You will be extremely pleased with your choice to stay at the Antica Residenza D’Azeglio.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SatisfiedNYer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yorkshire
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2010

The very best thing about staying here is that it is just like being at home. Agostino takes the best care of you from the moment you arrive to the minute you leave.
We arrived by car and not having sat-nav, we got lost in the myriad of one way streets in the centre. We phoned Agostino, who, with much humour, eventually got us to the correct address. We were then a little bit worried that having passed over the ZTL, we would be charged a city centre parking fine. Fear not, Agostino to the rescue with his trusty parking permit, which he even went to the car to put in the windscreen himself! This was whilst we relaxed over a lovely breakfast. Agostino nips out to the bakery up the street every morning to feed his guests with freshly baked bread and pastries. He also makes a mean fresh fruit salad and coffee just how you like it.
The Residenza had been beautifully converted. The rooms are spacious and the sitting room/dining room is a very pleasant room in which to take your breakfast, whilst the sun spills in from the open door leading to a small balcony.
Agostino also has a great knowledge of what to see and do in Bologna and although the restaurant he recommended was shut, I'm confident that this would have been great too!
So in summary, if they have space for you, don't waste you time looking elsewhere.
Caio Agostino and when we return we will be taking you up on your offer to dine with us at the Bissanot!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank furrybird1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2010

As with many B&Bs it's the staff that make or break the experience, Agostino was just brilliant from start to finish.. Agostino parked our car for us in a free space virtually outside the B&B. He hilighted some great sights for us to see, as well as personally escorting us to a great local restaurant. When I expressed an interest in several supercar factories near Bologna, Agostino researched them and provided
plenty of info without me asking.

Breakfast was amazing from the fresh fruit salad to the magnificent cappuccinos Agostino whipped up on the spot.

Agostino provided his cell phone number should we need anything while we wandered around the city and upon us telling him we were on our honeymoon he generously gave us a bottle of wine from his personal collection when we left free of charge. He carried our bags down to the car when it was time to go and waved us off with a smile. Agostinos time working for many years in Bolognas top 5 star hotel certainly shows now that he is in the B&B business. Top class from start to finish, thanks Agostino and see you next year when I return to visit the car factories!

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mustard1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bologna hotels
San Vitale
Hotel Corona d'Oro 1890
Hotel Corona d'Oro 1890
#2 of 104 in Bologna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 807 reviews
Hotel Porta San Mamolo
#10 of 104 in Bologna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Touring
#5 of 104 in Bologna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,520 reviews
Aemilia Hotel
#4 of 104 in Bologna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,296 reviews
Al Cappello Rosso
#12 of 104 in Bologna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 753 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Antica Residenza d'Azeglio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Antica Residenza d'Azeglio

Property: Antica Residenza d'Azeglio
Address: Via Massimo d'Azeglio 64, 40123 Bologna, Italy
Location: Italy > Emilia-Romagna > Province of Bologna > Bologna
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 284 B&Bs / Inns in Bologna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming bed and breakfast relais in downtown 5 minutes walking distance to Piazza Maggiore and shopping area all rooms decorated each one different color private bathroom same color of the bedroom Turquoise room quiet and with balcony Rich breakfast till late 12,00 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Antica Residenza d'Azeglio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Antica Residenza d`Azeglio Hotel Bologna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing