We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic.......”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Residence Petronio

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Residence Petronio
Ranked #31 of 102 Specialty Lodging in Bologna
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic.......”
Reviewed April 27, 2014

Central position - couldn't be better in Bologna. Flat (Mercanzia) was well equiped and clean. Staff were very helpful. Absolutely perfect for a city break. Excellent sound proofing with windows shut. Lots of street noise and atmosphere with windows open. Flats comes with small kitchenette and a dishwasher. There are numerous food shops a block away selling meat, cheese and homemade pasta - fantastic! Had a beautiful meal at Terasina on via Obidan by the flat.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    5
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
20
4
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
170 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2014

Spent a week in Bologna with family and stayed at Petronio Residence. Brilliant location adjacent to the two towers. Plenty of noise and atmosphere from the street below with the windows open, but minimal noise with windows shut. Spotlessly clean and nicely appointed - beds very comfortable, kitchen facilities, dishwasher and microwave. We were sad to leave our little home in Bologna.

Room Tip: Our apartment on the 2nd floor had a little balcony overlooking Via Rizzoli - I'm not sure any o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 99TedP61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2014 via mobile

I would recommend this aparthotel for anyone staying in Italy for a week or more. We recently stayed for a bit more than a week and thoroughly enjoyed the apartment we had (2 bedroom on the third floor). Laundry is good, close to everything! I know previous posts mention street noise, and while it is true that it is on a busy street, we shut the shutters at night and secured the windows and it was fine. I can imagine this would not work in the summer. Also, it is only
A short walk to the train station, which really gives you full access to Italy.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Matt W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
119 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2014 via mobile

Bologna is where my part of my family originate from. It was important for me and my family to stay within the old city. This apartment was one of the better value for the size of the accommodation and location. We had the 2 bedrooms apartment.

The location was perfect. A little noisy but what else would you expect in the heart of the city. As you can see on the map it is situated on one of the main roads, this road is closed to traffic on the weekend. Straight out of the front door you have access to shops, restaurants and cafés.

The apartment is a good size for a short city break. I wouldn't expect to eat in often and therefore the basic kitchenette was adequate. We didn't use the laundry facilities, so I can't comment on them. The beds and furniture was comfortable. If I was visiting again, I would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
157 reviews
128 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2014

My family stayed here for nearly a week. The apartment is very central, just steps from the 2 towers. The front door opens directly onto a very busy footpath, often with beggars near the door. My wife noted it would have been better had it been off the main street. It also can get noisy. We were here in winter so kept the double glazed windows shut which kept the noise out. In summer it would be a different story. The apartment was neat and clean and furnished with the basics. The kitchenette had microwave, cooktop, dishwasher etc. It was pretty small, and would have benefitted from more storage, as there was only one closet despite the 2 bedrooms. Also the bathroom was small and there was no bath. The wifi was very good. The TV recieved no TV stations in english which was a bit frustrating. There is a washing machine and drier in the scary basement, but I couldnt get the drier to work. However the heated towel rails in the bathroom did the job. We had 1 service in our 6 days. All in all it did the job, but did not impress us.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
75 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2013

The location of the apartment in this sympathetic town is extremely central; perfect right in the middle of the town. Everything is new, tasteful and spotless clean. It's a very comfortable apartment. If you stay for a longer period of time: remember there's no washing machine for your clothes. The staff is very helpful and welcoming. We stayed 2 couples in a 2-bedroom apartment and it was perfect for that.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank grissini_4123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2013

We stayed in Petronio Residence for 3 nights. The appartment Garisenda is two-bedroom appartment, the rooms are spacious and nicely decorated. Everything was very clean. The location is perfect, just in the middle of everything :). Antonella was very helpful. Fantastic place to stay in Bologna if you travel without car (the street is closed for traffic on week-ends).

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dansi127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bologna hotels
Santo Stefano
Albergo Garisenda
Albergo Garisenda
#58 of 104 in Bologna
128 reviews
Porto
BuonHotel
BuonHotel
#36 of 104 in Bologna
235 reviews
Art Hotel Commercianti
#7 of 104 in Bologna
468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
B&B Ai Cervi
#57 of 102 in Bologna
2 reviews
Santo Stefano
No photo provided
Altana Bologna
#168 of 283 in Bologna
7 reviews
Saragozza
Residence Adriano
Residence Adriano
#21 of 102 in Bologna
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Petronio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Petronio

Property: Residence Petronio
Address: Via Rizzoli 38, 40125 Bologna, Italy
Location: Italy > Emilia-Romagna > Province of Bologna > Bologna > San Vitale
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 102 Specialty Lodging in Bologna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Residence Petronio rises from the restoration of the original Giuliani Hotel. It is located in via Rizzoli, very next to the Two Towers. It has six apartments provided with all conforts:fully equiped Kitchenette, washing machine, tumble dryer, hair dryer and LCD TV. Each apartment is enveloped in a warm and familiar atmosphere thanks to a great attention to detail and offers a fantastic view of one of the most lively streets of Bologna. The Residence will ensure an intimate surrounding in the most acient and fashionable area of the city, where historical buildings, restaurants and shops offer attractions and fun. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Residence Petronio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing