We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best tortellını”
Review of Al Sangiovese

Al Sangiovese
Ranked #17 of 1,843 Restaurants in Bologna
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Neighborhood: Santo Stefano
Istanbul, Turkey
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The best tortellını”
Reviewed April 7, 2013

Thıs restaurant ıs amazıng and the owners are fantastıc, ı eat the best tortellını ever and dont mıss the mascarpone that antonella make, drınk the wıne della casa Conde' ıs superb,aii the best to sangıovese.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Darjabi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoccoZoccoli, Proprietario at Al Sangiovese, responded to this review, May 25, 2013
thanks for being in my restaurant and for taking a recensione.Coriali greetings and goodbye.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,548 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    861
    538
    107
    35
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Disappointing after all the great reviews.”
Reviewed April 5, 2013 via mobile

I travelled to Bologna with my two sons, one of whom is a foodie! We had great expectations for this place and really left disappointed. The service was not great and the food very average, for the price. The tortellini was very good, as was the chicken in lemon sauce, but the lamb was overcooked, the risotto flavourless, and the desserts just very average. The starter we ordered never came and we barely saw our waiter the whole evening. You can tell a lot about a place by how a single mom with two boys is treated. I usually tip well and didn't here, because in my mind it was disappointingly average. There are much better venues in Bologna.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tamara E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoccoZoccoli, Proprietario at Al Sangiovese, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
dear customer, I'm really sorry for not having fulfilled his expectations, I hope to see again and propose new dishes that they can be to his liking.
Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
278 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
“Popular local restaurant with a good welcome; useful if you are in the area”
Reviewed April 4, 2013

The only thing about this place that didn't impress me too much was the food. An enormous starter of parmesan and mortadella was unrefined. A second course of lamb cutlets was much better. My wife ate vegetable pie and risotto. These were ok as were some roasted vegetables. Just underwhelming and not very special. The affable owners are interested in wine and it is worth seeking their advice. I would go again because the place is busy and obviously the owners are doing something right. On another visit I might be a bit luckier with the food I chose.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank artsman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoccoZoccoli, Proprietario at Al Sangiovese, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
Dear customer are really disappointed not to have met his expectations, so I hope to see again soon and we can propose new dishes to suit your palate.
Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Enjoyable”
Reviewed March 24, 2013

This restaurant has become a yearly tradition to meet with a few fellow exhibitors for dinner when the Cosmoprof Fair ends. The owners Antonella and her husband Rocco are very welcoming and go out of their way to offer menu suggestions. The atmosphere is very pleasant. The restaurant is located a short taxi ride from Bologna centre. A nice place to recommend.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 19Maxine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoccoZoccoli, Proprietario at Al Sangiovese, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
thanks for coming back to Sangiovese and thanks for taking a review.
I'm glad with my staff we meet their expectations.
I hope therefore that we can review next year and in the meantime I send my most sincere greetings
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A lovely little restauant”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Had a three course meal and each course was excellent. The wine was good and the proprietress had a great sense of humor.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank erynmw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoccoZoccoli, Proprietario at Al Sangiovese, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
thanks for coming back to Sangiovese and thanks for taking a review.
I'm glad with my staff we meet their expectations.
I hope therefore that we can review next year and in the meantime I send my most sincere greetings
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Al Sangiovese also viewed

Bologna, Province of Bologna
Bologna, Province of Bologna
 
Bologna, Province of Bologna
Bologna, Province of Bologna
 
Bologna, Province of Bologna
Bologna, Province of Bologna
 

Been to Al Sangiovese? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing