We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Enjoyable”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Al Sangiovese

Al Sangiovese
Ranked #24 of 1,811 Restaurants in Bologna
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Kids, Families with children, Local cuisine, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Santo Stefano
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
35 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Enjoyable”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

This restaurant has become a yearly tradition to meet with a few fellow exhibitors for dinner when the Cosmoprof Fair ends. The owners Antonella and her husband Rocco are very welcoming and go out of their way to offer menu suggestions. The atmosphere is very pleasant. The restaurant is located a short taxi ride from Bologna centre. A nice place to recommend.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 19Maxine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoccoZoccoli, Proprietario at Al Sangiovese, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
thanks for coming back to Sangiovese and thanks for taking a review.
I'm glad with my staff we meet their expectations.
I hope therefore that we can review next year and in the meantime I send my most sincere greetings
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,497 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    823
    525
    107
    35
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
55 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A lovely little restauant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

Had a three course meal and each course was excellent. The wine was good and the proprietress had a great sense of humor.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank erynmw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoccoZoccoli, Proprietario at Al Sangiovese, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
thanks for coming back to Sangiovese and thanks for taking a review.
I'm glad with my staff we meet their expectations.
I hope therefore that we can review next year and in the meantime I send my most sincere greetings
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2013

Great food, excellent service, reasonable prices. I had the gramigna and lamb. Both were amazing! I would recommend this restaurant to anyone visiting Bologna.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Daniel470
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoccoZoccoli, Proprietario at Al Sangiovese, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
Thank you for taking a review. Hope to be revised as soon as possible and waiting cordial greetings
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful Food and Friendly Owners”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

We were warmly welcomed as we entered this restaurant by the owner, Antonella. She patiently let me practice my broken Italian with her which made our visit that much more fun. She was attentive to our menu choices and helped us choose something we would like. I did not feel rushed or pushed to order more than we could eat. We went back a second time as we enjoyed this restaurant the most while in Bologna. The chocolate mascarpone dessert Antonella made was absolutely delicious and the best we had there. You must enjoy the charm of this restaurant.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank noreenz_77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoccoZoccoli, Proprietario at Al Sangiovese, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
Thank you for taking a review. Hope to be revised as soon as possible and waiting cordial greetings
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“I'd Eat Here Every Day!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2013

This tiny, out-of-the-way restaurant is an absolute delight! A small place (maybe 10-12 tables) and wonderful hosts, who clearly like to make people happy. The inside is charming and, I suspect, they serve more locals than tourists. But, it's the food that makes this place special. We (four of us) had a mixture of appetizers (all excellent), a delicious tortellini in brodo soup and four fresh and perfectly prepared main meals: steak in balsamic (excellent), scallopini with asparagus (superb), polpette and zucchini (delicious) and tagliatelle ragu (wonderful), plus a side of rosemary patata. The house Sangiovese was a perfect match for the food. The bill came to 150 Euro for the four of us, quite reasonable for one of the two or three best meals we've had in two trips to Italy. Oh yes, and we each got a big hug from Antonella - the co-owner of Al Sangiovese - when we left. It was like eating at a good friend's house. If you are in Bologna, you owe it to yourself to plan around a visit to Al Sangiovese. (I just noticed, I'm drooling while typing this.)

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DAD38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoccoZoccoli, Proprietario at Al Sangiovese, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
Thank you for taking a review. Hope to be revised as soon as possible and waiting cordial greetings
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Al Sangiovese also viewed

Bologna, Province of Bologna
Bologna, Province of Bologna
 
Bologna, Province of Bologna
Bologna, Province of Bologna
 
Bologna, Province of Bologna
Bologna, Province of Bologna
 

Been to Al Sangiovese? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing