We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very good introduction to Bolognese cuisine”
Review of Al Sangiovese

Al Sangiovese
Ranked #20 of 1,835 Restaurants in Bologna
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Neighborhood: Santo Stefano
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“A very good introduction to Bolognese cuisine”
Reviewed September 27, 2012

We went here on the first night of our Honeymoon on the basis of the restaurant's high rating on TripAdvisor. I have to say that it did not disappoint. The staff were friendly and welcoming, the atmosphere cosy and informal and the food - largely traditional Bolognese cuisine - was very good; the standout dishes we had were the passatelli in brodo (soft, fresh pasta in a delicious meat broth) and the sformatino dello chef (my wife has informed me this was the best dessert of the entire honeymoon, which, given we spent three weeks touring Italy, says a lot!). The wine is reasonably priced too. We would definitely go back here.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Gavin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,527 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    844
    534
    107
    35
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dordrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
78 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed September 25, 2012

The menu on this restaurent is great. I really liked the chicken with lemon, a summer dish. The wine, as expected, was great value for money. The hosts are very kind.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank 65Antonia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
110 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“We had to go back for more.”
Reviewed September 19, 2012

This is a very traditional Trattoria and the food is varied and outstanding. I had meatballs one day just for a change. Best sauce I have ever tasted. Prices very reasonable and service is excellent. But, you go here for the food. We tried several things and all were as good or better than any in all of Italy (our fifth trip).

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank PopsandMimi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, illinois
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Fabulous restaurant”
Reviewed September 16, 2012

We dined at this charming restaurant on our first night in Bologna. The food and atmosphere were wonderful. We were served by the most delightful woman, who happens to be the owner. We also met her husband and partner. My husband wanted meatballs and she told us they were her grandmother's recipe, and they were sensational. Couldn't wait to taste the homemade Taglietelle with Bolognese sauce and it didn't disappoint. Great wine and very reasonably priced. We loved our meal and the lovely owners

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Randie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Better Than Expected”
Reviewed September 14, 2012

Based on the great reviews we saw here, we chose this spot for dinner tonight.

We were not at all disappointed - it was an easy walk from the old city center and the food was amazing. The house wine, sangiovese of course, was perfect for our pasta, lasagna and veal.

Not crazy expensive like a lot of places can be. And our hostess - the wife of the husband/wife ownership team - could not have been cuter. We have reservations for tomorrow night!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank S M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoccoZoccoli, Proprietario at Al Sangiovese, responded to this review, September 16, 2012
Thank you for being in our restaurant and have enjoyed our kitchen.
It 'been a pleasure to meet you and I hope riavervi in my restaurant.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Al Sangiovese also viewed

Bologna, Province of Bologna
Bologna, Province of Bologna
 
Bologna, Province of Bologna
Bologna, Province of Bologna
 
Bologna, Province of Bologna
Bologna, Province of Bologna
 

Been to Al Sangiovese? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing