We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Al Sangiovese

Al Sangiovese
Ranked #24 of 1,808 Restaurants in Bologna
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Santo Stefano
Dordrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
78 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

The menu on this restaurent is great. I really liked the chicken with lemon, a summer dish. The wine, as expected, was great value for money. The hosts are very kind.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank 65Antonia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,497 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    823
    525
    107
    35
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
106 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“We had to go back for more.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2012

This is a very traditional Trattoria and the food is varied and outstanding. I had meatballs one day just for a change. Best sauce I have ever tasted. Prices very reasonable and service is excellent. But, you go here for the food. We tried several things and all were as good or better than any in all of Italy (our fifth trip).

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank PopsandMimi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, illinois
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Fabulous restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2012

We dined at this charming restaurant on our first night in Bologna. The food and atmosphere were wonderful. We were served by the most delightful woman, who happens to be the owner. We also met her husband and partner. My husband wanted meatballs and she told us they were her grandmother's recipe, and they were sensational. Couldn't wait to taste the homemade Taglietelle with Bolognese sauce and it didn't disappoint. Great wine and very reasonably priced. We loved our meal and the lovely owners

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Randie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Better Than Expected”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2012

Based on the great reviews we saw here, we chose this spot for dinner tonight.

We were not at all disappointed - it was an easy walk from the old city center and the food was amazing. The house wine, sangiovese of course, was perfect for our pasta, lasagna and veal.

Not crazy expensive like a lot of places can be. And our hostess - the wife of the husband/wife ownership team - could not have been cuter. We have reservations for tomorrow night!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank S M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoccoZoccoli, Proprietario at Al Sangiovese, responded to this review, September 16, 2012
Thank you for being in our restaurant and have enjoyed our kitchen.
It 'been a pleasure to meet you and I hope riavervi in my restaurant.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“STILL DREAMING ABOUT THE FOOD!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2012

Absolutely top-notch restaurant! Greatest food we had on the trip! We loved the family atmosphere too and our hostess! A wonderful experience. We went twice!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank petrockNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoccoZoccoli, Proprietario at Al Sangiovese, responded to this review, September 16, 2012
Thank you for being in our restaurant and have enjoyed our kitchen.
It 'been a pleasure to meet you and I hope riavervi in my restaurant.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Al Sangiovese also viewed

Bologna, Province of Bologna
Bologna, Province of Bologna
 
Bologna, Province of Bologna
Bologna, Province of Bologna
 
Bologna, Province of Bologna
Bologna, Province of Bologna
 

Been to Al Sangiovese? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing