We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, authentic setting”
Review of La Montanara

La Montanara
Ranked #56 of 1,825 Restaurants in Bologna
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: San Vitale
London
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great food, authentic setting”
Reviewed March 26, 2013

What can I say, great food, very authentic italian at a reasonable price. Highly recommended. Had the veal liver and creme caramel and never looked back :)

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank King8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

851 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    323
    403
    109
    12
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Lots of character!”
Reviewed March 16, 2013

I went there with 6 friends a few days ago and luckily we could get a table. The place is tiny but gorgeous. Service was friendly and dishes were very tasty. I loved my Gramigna con salsiccia ! I do recommend this place!!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Matilda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghent, Belgium
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Authentic Italian restaurant”
Reviewed March 12, 2013

We come to Bologna on a regular base (6 to 8 times a year) and La Montanara is one of the 2 restaurants we keep coming back to (the other being Twinside). The dining room is furbished in an authentic style and the service is very good. The food is classic italian and the menu changes every couple of months, sticking to the local specialities depending on the season. The winelist provides plenty of choice under 20€ and even a Brunello at 40€ (obviously not the best ever, but at that price!).

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tvlhove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
99 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Loved it”
Reviewed January 14, 2013

The first thing that struck me was how pretty this little trattoria is. An indoor arbour with fairy light covered branches, provincial style dinner plates hanging from the roof and walls adorned with vintage kitchen paraphenalia made for a cosy and intimate atmosphere. The food here is simple, local fare, but generally executed well and we enjoyed it so much we dined here twice. On the first night I had Tortellini in Brodo (beautiful pasta, exceptional broth), Beef Cheeks in Red Wine Sauce (meltingly tender and absolutely delicious) and Chocolate Torte (decadently rich). The next night I had the pasta with the sausage sauce (very nice), the Guinea Fowl with Chestnut Sauce (flavour beautiful, but meat quite overcooked) and Chocolate Mousse with Orange Sauce (so rich- more like truffles than mousse, but wonderful). My husband also enjoyed the restaurant, but wasn't as lucky in his meal selection. While his first night's entree of Pasta with Onion Sauce was fantastic, his Polpettini main was only average, slightly lacking in flavour, and the lasagne he had on the second night, while tasty, was let down by its dry texture. Overall though, the positives far outweighed the negatives, and when you add the atmosphere, friendly service and reasonable prices, this restaurant is certainly a winner.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AdelaideJessica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milford CT
Level Contributor
71 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Good food, friendly staff and owner”
Reviewed January 3, 2013

We happened upon this one evening about 7:45pm and it was packed. Obviously we did not have reservations but the owner welcomed us to a small table near the back. It is hard to say any restaurant in Bologna is the best but we enjoyed it so much that we returned a week later. We were surprised and pleased that the menu was different except for the classic Bolognese dishes. This second experience was as good if not better than the first. We highly recommend this restaurant but make sure you make reservations as it fills up early. It must hurt to have to turn people away each night but that is what we saw both nights

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Catsplash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Montanara also viewed

Bologna, Province of Bologna
 
Bologna, Province of Bologna
Bologna, Province of Bologna
 

Been to La Montanara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing