We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ann Robertson”
Review of Hotel Ideale

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Ideale
Ranked #78 of 104 Hotels in Bologna
Gothenburg, Sweden
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Ann Robertson”
Reviewed March 22, 2013

I have stayed in this hotel for 2 weeks, and unfortunately I cannot recommend this establishment to anyone!! Hotel Ideale is divided in 2 parts- one is for 'better' customers-preferably older German couples, or those who 'look rich'. The other part- old and poor is run by mother of Bruno Misciali. I was offered a room in the other part of hotel (another building in fact). By this occassion Mr. Bruno Misciali warned me- quote-' that they dont want any men coming with me at night!'-I was personally insulted and treated like prostitute. Moreover, the room that was offered to me was equipped in litterally: a) metal-framed bed and b) small table without nothing to sit on. Price: 35 euro.No breakfast -nothing. On the last day of my stay I was asked even to move to another room, which turned to be an old kitchen!!
Mother of Bruno Misciali had a habit of sniffing in rooms when the guests were in the city. I have noticed that several small objects were missing after a day or so (perfumes e.g.) and I started to lock my cosmetics and money in small locker no one could open. This women behaved like mentally ill person, screaming through the phone in the morning or arguing laudly with people. It was so embarasing, I trully regret I picked up this place during my vacations. Dont let them fool you with these pictures- the hotel is in fact a refurbished flat, old and smelly. It looks like museum with heavy dusty interiors, old sinks and no hot water. If you go there you will also notice specific smell of decomposed protein or something like that. The managment reacts cordially ONLY on those who carry their credit cards in their teeth,all right? If you dont look 'rich enough'- forget about decent service. Im sure there are other good hotels in Bologna-but this one sucks!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dalia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    51
    17
    1
    3
See reviews for
6
30
23
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NYC
Level Contributor
289 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2012

Driving in from Trieste we were able to find the Hotel Reale with little problem. Nestled in a neighborhood approximately a 15 minute walk from la citta' vecchia, we we put in a second floor apartment in the rear of the building. It was odd in that the kitchen had a refrigerator that was empty, not plugged in and the doors were open. The rooms were clean (if smelling slightly of disinfectant) and the bathroom large and modern. Our hosts were pleasant. There was ample parking on the street that required the purchase of parking tickets from a machine on the corner. For 60 euros the Hotel Ideale is a great value.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EastVillageDenizen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincolnshire, UK
Level Contributor
104 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2012

At first sight, and looking on Google Maps, this looks pretty awful from the outside. But, don't be put off as inside, this family run hotel, has been completely refurbished and is in excellent condition. They have 8 rooms on the first floor of this apartment block, so don't control the outside. Although only one star, the welcome is great and the staff very helpful. Free high speed wifi worked very well. The area is ten minutes walk north of the main railway station, just off the main road. Very comfortable and very happy to stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter M Grant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2012

Great little family run central Bologna, Italy hotel! Reasonably priced with great service. We enjoyed our one night stay and felt quite lucky to find this place since most all hotels were booked due to an annual fair that takes place on October 9th in Bologna.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ron C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
malta
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

Perfect place to stay in Bologna. Central, very clean, helpful staff, good service and the owner so kind. Kind enough to take us to the train station on our departure because it was raining. Well done to all of you and keep it up. A hotel that I will recommend to everyone.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank snakeflow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
126 reviews
114 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2012

I stayed for two nights at the one-star Hotel Ideale in May 2012 and would certainly stay there again and recommend it to travellers looking for value for money in what is a very expensive city as far as hotel accommodation is concerned (I paid 85 Euros for two nights - bed only). I particularly liked the bathroom, which was of a higher standard than I've encountered in many starrier establishments. It was spacious and attractively fitted out and there was a plentiful supply of hot water. The room was also roomy and comfortable, with a small fridge and TV. The staff were helpful and pleasant, recommending a very good restaurant just a few hundred yards away. The hotel lies very close to a great local market, where one can also have breakfast. It takes only ten minutes to walk from the Ideale to Bologna Centrale Station. I estimate that it would take around half an hour to walk to the historic city centre. There are, however, 'buses which pass close to the hotel; I didn't actually catch any of them, but assume that some at least will go to - or near to - the city centre. There was nothing I disliked about the hotel, though the area in which it is located is not terribly salubrious and not particularly well lit. Security at the hotel struck me as being pretty good, however.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cosmo44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 17, 2012

The owner put us in a huge apartment next door to the hotel. Everything was great....clean, quiet, big bed, wifi etc.. A bit of a chore getting to the old town but for the price, this was a great deal. It was raining when we were off to the train station, so the owner insisted that he take us to the station. Normally you can walk to it or take a bus. Such a nice man, beyond the call of duty!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank melangels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bologna hotels
Navile
Hotel Astor
Hotel Astor
#74 of 104 in Bologna
3.5 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
San Vitale
Hotel Perla
Hotel Perla
#83 of 104 in Bologna
3.0 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
Navile
Arcoveggio Hotel
Arcoveggio Hotel
#56 of 104 in Bologna
3.5 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Porto
Millennhotel
Millennhotel
#66 of 104 in Bologna
3.5 of 5 bubbles 688 reviews
Navile
Executive Suite Hotel
Executive Suite Hotel
#53 of 104 in Bologna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
San Vitale
Hotel S. Orsola
Hotel S. Orsola
#95 of 104 in Bologna
3.0 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ideale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ideale

Property: Hotel Ideale
Address: Via Elisabetta Sirani 5, 40129 Bologna, Italy
Location: Italy > Emilia-Romagna > Province of Bologna > Bologna > Navile
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #78 of 104 Hotels in Bologna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Ideale 1*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming and friendly the Hotel has been restored just since 1 year and it is located 300 mt from the Train Station and 15 minutes on foot from the Historical Centre of the town.All the rooms are with private bathroom and with wireless internet free. The Hotel is open 24 hours.We try to offer our guests a professional service in a family atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Ideale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing