We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“not a design hotel!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of 4 Viale Masini Hotel Design

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
4 Viale Masini Hotel Design
Ranked #68 of 104 Hotels in Bologna
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
111 reviews
109 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“not a design hotel!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

I stayed in this hotel for 2 nights and I must say that unfortunately I cannot recommend it.
The location of the hotel is good. However I do not understand why the hotel calls itself Design hotel. The rooms are simple (no soundproof windows so make sure not to get a room from the side of the street as it is just awful, as if the window was opened!), clean, so is the bathroom. There is absolutely nothing special or design-like in the room! Tv works so-so, sometimes it does sometimes it doesn’t. The worst thing is the breakfast. There is one sort of prosciutto, one mortadella, one sort of weird really not tasty cheese and that’s it, There are some sweets which really do not taste well (maybe they were left over from the Halloween party which was organized at the restaurant the night before). There is absolutely NO bread, just one very salty focaccia like thingy, which is really uneatable. Hot water for tea comes from the coffee machine so it’s pretty much disgusting.
I’m sure there are much better hotels in Bologna to stay in.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank papeetee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

963 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    137
    395
    239
    118
    74
See reviews for
70
372
74
280
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2012

This hotel was ideal for a recent stay when we spent 5 days sightseeing, based in Bologna. The room was clean and well furnished- lovely bathroom. The breakfast was superb considering the very good price we obtained online. Plenty of food- we loved the big parmesan and Parma ham. Not sure why chocolate brownie was on offer each morning, but my kids would have loved it, had they been there. It was good to be near the station, and within easy walking distance to the centre. The only disappointment for me was the coffee at breakfast- a big let down. In Italy, you do not want coffee out of a vending machine, so that was a real shame- the only minus.Otherwise, we had a great stay and in 5 days there also visited Modena, Ferrara, and Ravenna- all easily reached by train.

Room Tip: Ask for a room "sul retro" which will be quieter than at the front
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cathy186300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cyprus
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012

A slightly strange hotel with very good staff. Small, clean rooms with huge marble bathrooms. On a busy road but with excellent soundproofing. Free wifi but not in the rooms on our floor and not fixable during the four days we were there. Good variety at breakfast but with a ongoing and very off putting fly problem.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Mands&Ian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athlone, Ireland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2012

Very handy location; beside the bus station,a few minutes walk from the train station and about 20mins from the centre of Bologna.
The room was spotless, if a bit small and for once the promise of a sound-proof room turned out to be true. The bathroom was large but a double shower was a bit of a waste in a single room...
The restaurant was quite unusual - packed full of what seemed to be locals on Friday and Saturday night. They have a set menu for €15 consisting of a glass of wine, set starter, choice of fish, burger or cheese main and dessert buffet which had quite a poor selection - little cakes or fruit salad. The food was good for the price but I couldn't face it for more than two nights out of four.
The breakfast had a reasonable selection (cakes, pastries, ham, cheese, bread, fruit, yogurt) but the cakes from the dinner dessert buffet made a reappearance and there were a lot of flies around, on the food and crockery/cutlery. If you can stand the flies, the breakfast was acceptable. The coffee machine makes an excellent macchiato :)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alma B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
55 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012 via mobile

Nice hotel spotless clean good size rooms if a bit hospital like
The halls are grey and white not a picture or anything makes the hall ways clinically and unwelcoming rooms the same fine for a one night stay but not as a holiday or weekend break
Breakfast is average at best left over desserts on the buffet with badly made scrambled eggs ( both mornings) coffe machine only gives out tiny shots of coffee each time meaning you have to stand there waiting to press the button a few times I guess still is so people will feel bad and move on from it only one cold meat on the buffet(both mornings) plenty of fruit ,no yogurt or cold milk or any bread rolls etc check in is fine
It's a hotel that looks dated already guess the look was modern chic but now it is is just dated Location is key to them and will be always there saving grace

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank johnthelock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

At £55 for a double room including breakfast this modern clean hotel was a real find. It is on the ring road around the centre of town so has constant traffic noise. It is so constant that it is easy to get used to and did not keep me awake at all and i did not need the earplugs i brought with me. The rooms and bathrooms are nicely decorated with good fixtures and fittings. There was a safe in the room and toiletries and clean towels and sheets most days. Free wifi in the rooms is available which is great. There is a computer in the breakfast area so we were able to print our boarding cards, Breakfast was ample. There was always bread and usually cheese and ham. There were cakes but these often seemed recycled between the hotel dinners and breakfast and flies would land on items which was a bit off putting. There was plenty to fill up on in the morning and breakfast was available until 10:30. Some reviews mentioned a free minibar on arrival. Ours only had a small bottle of water and one can of soft drink in it. When we arrived there was only one set of towels so we thought perhaps housekeeping had not realised there was a new guest. There was not anymore put in the minibar so we did not touch those two items. The hotel was good value so it did not matter anyway.
The hotel is in an excellent location. It is at the top on the via indepenzia which is the main north south road through the town centre so easy to navigate around and walk to all the museums and churches, bars and restaurants. The reception staff were professional and helpful when asked. Housekeeping wore black dresses with white aprons which looked traditional too. The restaurants had a very cheap set menu, 15 euro for a fixed starter, choice of fish, burger or cheese main course and a dessert buffet. This included a glass of wine and coffee and water! Very good value but we did it twice and could not face it again. Especially knowing we would meet the same cakes at breakfast the next dsy! A real buzz about the place. Every night the restaurant is buzzing with locals. We would definately recommend staying in this hotel if the price stays so good.

Room Tip: We saw into a few rooms when they were being cleaned and they all looked the same, either double or...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank katharine l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Severna Park, Maryland
Level Contributor
40 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2012

Very nice clean modern hotel 5 minute walk from Bologna Centrale Train Station and comfortable walk to downtown Bologna. (The train station is one of the stops on the Aerobus route that brings travelers into Bologna from the airport, for 6 Euros each.) Unbelievably good breakfast with many varieties of the tastiest fresh fruit, custom coffees, cappuccinos, espressos and teas and many types of pastries as well as eggs, ham, etc. Our room was a little noisy on the front side, but nothing that a pair of earplugs couldn't handle. The staff was wonderful, helpful with requests (ice), and spoke English well. The beds were comfy, the bathroom nice and it had good air conditioning (important when it is 100 F in Italy in August!) Wifi worked great. To top it off, we paid only $75/ night for a twin room including breakfast!

Room Tip: Front rooms have some traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ttm85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bologna hotels
Starhotels Excelsior
#20 of 104 in Bologna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,531 reviews
Porto
Millennhotel
Millennhotel
#64 of 104 in Bologna
3.5 of 5 bubbles 662 reviews
UNA Hotel Bologna
#25 of 104 in Bologna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 897 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
NH Bologna De La Gare
#36 of 104 in Bologna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,376 reviews
Mercure Bologna Centro
#51 of 104 in Bologna
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,908 reviews
Hotel Europa
#50 of 104 in Bologna
3.5 of 5 bubbles 499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 4 Viale Masini Hotel Design? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 4 Viale Masini Hotel Design

Property: 4 Viale Masini Hotel Design
Address: Viale Angelo Masini 4, 40126 Bologna, Italy
Location: Italy > Emilia-Romagna > Province of Bologna > Bologna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#38 Luxury Hotel in Bologna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — 4 Viale Masini Hotel Design 4*
Number of rooms: 82
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your 4 Viale Masini Hotel Design reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Viale Masini Bologna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing