We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice location - difficult hosts”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Urbino
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Agriturismo Pietra Rosa
Ranked #16 of 34 Urbino B&B and Inns
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
49 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Nice location - difficult hosts”
Reviewed July 29, 2011

We needed a place to stay in this area on a trip down south from northern Italy. As it was July and we were travelling with our 2 children (4 and 6) we wanted a place with a pool.
We had read some negative reviews of the hosts and their treatment to children, but figured it wouldn't matter for one night. We are easy-going and tend to give the benefit of the doubt whenever possible.
Upon arrival we were greated by a friendly dog that got a bit carried away - but we just told the children to stay away from him and hebasically behaved the rest of our time there. Our older daughter wanted to see th pool so we took her there. The pool has a strange shape and very slowly slants inward. Although there are read lines to delineate where one should not step past, our daughter didn't realize that and immediately slipped inwards fully dressed! It was funny, but a little scary too. Although nobody would leave their child unattended around a pool this could also be slippery for grownups as well.

We had a large room for the 4 of us with a queen sized bed and bunkbeds for the kids. The room was decent although I woke up in the middle of the night to the sound of what seemed like termites to me. I guess that sometimes happens with wooden beams. My husband who is a light sleeper didn't hear a thing...not sure what it was, but there was...The shower is a typical Italian shower that tends to run all over the bathroom if you take more than a 2 minute shower, but it seems that is something one has to get used to while travelling in Italy in 3 star accomodations.
Dinner at the b&b was good and good value. We were quite pleased with Jenny's cooking and she was fairly friendly while serving.
The fruit trees, foliage and walk up the hill was fun for us- a real country walk with different berries and fruits to admire along the way.

Unfortunately I will have to say that the day we left we did not experience friendly treatment from our hosts. We asked in the morning if we could leave the room later than usual as we wanted to spend the day at the pool (the weather was terrible the previous day and we couldn't use it) and then let our younger daughter have a rest after lunch. At first we were told to take our things out of the room but for our travel cot which our daughter could use for a rest as Jenny wanted the cleaner to clean the room. However about 30 minutes later we were told we would have to vacate the room completely as there were other people coming in. All of this communicated very brusquely. We ended up staying around the pool and having our daughter nap on the grass. Nobody showed up to take over our room while we were there and we left very late in the day. Not quite sure why they couldn't accomodate our request...
This is potentially a nice place, but as it is quite off the beaten track I am not sure it will be a lasting business with such unfriendly hosts. When one makes the effort to come up a long dirt road about 30 minutes off the highway one would expect a friendly reception. There are many small agriturismi in this area - we will certainly go elsewhere on our next trip.

Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank BBVRome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    30
    5
    6
    9
See reviews for
25
68
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sweden
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2011

We, two swedish couples, arrived on bicycles to this wonderful place in Italy. It was a challeging bikeadventure up the curving gravel road, but it was worth every effort. Jenny and Mauro made us feel so welcome, we loved our stay here. Jenny is an excellent cook and we enjoyed and experienced some excellent meals. Pietra Rosa is a very nice place with rustic charm were you feel very relaxed. The rooms are nice. We spent two lovely days, visited Urbino wich is near by even by bike. We would love to come back.
Ett fantastikt ställe en lite oas med trevliga värdar och mycket god mat!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ReslustSweden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Escanaba, Michigan
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2011

Pietra Rosa is located 4 km up a curvy gravel road in the Urbino province of Italy. Its rustic charms were wonderful. It was a great break from the hustle of the rest of our trip. Jenny and Mauro could not have been better hosts. The food was the best among much wonderful food in Italy. We hope to go back and take cooking lessons. We spent a day in Urbino, a UNESCO world heritage site. Urbino I well worth at least a day. It is an Italian hill town without all the hype and tourists of so many others. Pietra Rosa is located in the hills. If you want hiking and marvelous vistas, this is the place.

Room Tip: All the rooms were good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Likestotravel4727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pietrarosa, Proprietario at Agriturismo Pietra Rosa, responded to this review, May 22, 2011
Thank you very much for what you wrote about us, this gives us the energy to improve ourselves and to do our best! We are waiting for you in my kitchen for the cooking lessons!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2010

Get ready for a challenging drive up a steep strada biancha, but the B+B at the end is worth the trip off the beaten path. Jenny is the most gracious host, and the food is superb. The argiturismo is a destination in itself if you are looking for solitude in a nice location, but it is also convenient to Fano on the Adriatic and Urbino. We highly recommend this stop.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tniccolai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed September 12, 2010

We intended to stay three nights in Urbino. However, the Agriturismo was so relaxed that we decided to extend our stay by another three nights. The place is really relaxed and it is easy to get to different touristic highlights (Urbino, the Furlo pass, the beach in Fano) from the house. The hospitality and cooking provided by Jenny were really great. We will definitely return to this place to enjoy the environment, the food and the wines!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Monline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oud Vossemeer
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviewed July 4, 2010

We staid two nights with Jenny, Mauro and family and we enjoyed it.
Our room was spacious and tidy and the same applied for the bath room.
Jenny is very friendly and a great cook and for the non Italian (speaking) guests, her English is perfect.
As for most Agriturimo’s, you have to drive some country road, however, also with a normal passenger car, no problems whatsoever.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DutchiesOudVossemeer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2008

Jenny is a welcoming and delightful hostess and also an excellent cook! The homemade pasta was divine. Rooms were well appointed and comfortable - in fact the most comfortable bed our whole time in Italy!

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank LondonKiwitravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Urbino hotels
4.6 mi away
La Meridiana Hotel
La Meridiana Hotel
#3 of 14 in Urbino
578 reviews
7.6 mi away
Urbino Resort - Tenuta Santi Giacomo e Filippo
4.8 mi away
Mamiani Hotel Urbino
Mamiani Hotel Urbino
#2 of 14 in Urbino
949 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Albergo Italia
Albergo Italia
#4 of 14 in Urbino
591 reviews
4.4 mi away
Colleverde Country House
8.3 mi away
La Corte Della Miniera
La Corte Della Miniera
#12 of 34 in Urbino
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Agriturismo Pietra Rosa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Agriturismo Pietra Rosa

Property: Agriturismo Pietra Rosa
Address: Via Monte Polo 11 | Località Canavaccio, 61029 Urbino, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Marche > Province of Pesaro and Urbino > Urbino
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Urbino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Farmhouse “Pietra Rosa” is situated at 350 metres on the sea level on the side of Pietralata Mount, very close to the Cesane Forest. It’s a very interesting area with the Gola del Furlo, Paganuccio Mountain, Nerone and Catria Mountain. The interest is also naturalistic thanks to the rich variety of flora and fauna. Near the farmhouse, in the village of Monte Polo, you can see a little church of the XIII century. The finding of old coins and other objects in this area testify settings of roman age. The farm consists of 16 hectares with wood and organic agriculture. The farmhouse is an old house of about 400 mqs. Restored using natural materials as much as possible. There is a restaurant of about 40 seats; five double rooms included a bedroom for disabled. Each bedroom has a bathroom. The furniture is in country style with old objects. There is also a hall where it is possible to organize meetings and stages of music, painging, reading, meditation, etc. The Restaurant In the Farmhouse – recommended on TripAdvisor – “Pietra Rosa” you can buy the typical organic products like: pasta, olive oil, cheese and wine. The guests of “Pietra Rosa” have also the possibility to play archery, to play outdoor games for kids, make trekking, too. They can also use mountain-bikes to make excursions on the Pietralata Mountain, or to the Passo del Furlo or the Cesane Forest. The “Pietra Rosa” Farmhouse is open all year long with the possibility to sleep and have breakfast or demy-pension. The restaurant for the non-resident is on reservation. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing