We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our kind of place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Albergo San Domenico
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in Urbino
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Our kind of place”
Reviewed April 28, 2014 via mobile

We loved this hotel which is right in the centre of the town. The rooms are large and comfortably furnished. If you like a very designed or boutique hotel, then the San Domenico is not for you, but for us it was perfect. Excellent breakfasts and above all delightful staff. We spent four nights here and loved it. Great hotel in a great city.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Nomiskate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    107
    61
    27
    16
See reviews for
51
132
7
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
dublin
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2014

The hotel is situation looking onto the Archducal Palace and is a converted convent. Very clean and plenty of room in the rooms. The breakfast was excellent and outstaning in the "sweet" section. A very friendly lady made and served the coffee and tea; she had a great welcome for us each morning. There are special parking facilities for hotel guests in what is a limited-car use town. The reception staff do not seem to have any seating, which concerned me.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank markdevlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
498 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 218 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2014

Albergo San Domenico is directly in the center of Urbino. Across from the Ducal Palace and the Cathedral. Next to the Church of San Domenico. If you drive to Urbino, there is secure parking in a gated area directly assessing the hotel.

The staff greeted us quickly and friendly. The rooms are large, clear but somewhat dated. We enjoyed the comfort. The bathroom was recently redone and has been modernized.

From our previous stay, we remember paying for internet. It is now free but we were only able to access it in the common areas of the lobby and breakfast area.

Breakfast was an extra charge but well worth it. We particularly like the friendly lady who served us Cappuccino in the morning and ready got us a second and even a third.

Overall, an enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Italy
Level Contributor
253 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 193 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2014

The Albergo San Domenico is central, set in a beautiful, paved area and has a secure courtyard car park at the back. (€12 extra). All Italian hotels are having another tough year and if there are one or two small things that need repair or replacement in your immaculately clean, warm bedroom with bathroom ensuite, try to ignore them because the kindness of the staff will outshine such minor things. We found a plate of crisp apples, a half bottle of wine and crisps to enjoy for free after our journey and before we ventured out for supper. (Tea & instant coffee on offer too).
The hotel is quiet but Urbino is a University town and a few hundred yards from the hotel down in the main piazza, it is lively in the evening but all is tranquil in March further up where the hotel is located.
Breakfast is provided at an extra charge and there is so much on offer. If you have eaten dinner the previous night it may be impossible to manage such a large choice of savoury and sweet things to eat with limitless coffee. We could leave our parked car until after lunch and so we viewed the Ducal Palace, Raphael’s House and enjoyed a superb lunch close by.

Room Tip: The large wall radiator in the bathroom is perfect for drying underwear!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peterandanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnstaple, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2014

This is a lovely hotel situated in an ideal spot in Urbino, just opposite the Ducal Palace. The minute you step inside the hotel you reaction is 'Wow!' The look of the lobby is an elegant mix of old Italian architechure and modern art. Look out for the feet on the bottom of the filing cabinet!
The rooms are all fabulously large (I visited three rooms, mine and my friends) with plenty of storage, desks, comfy chairs, and a TV. The bed is two singles pushed together but very large and comfortble. I was initially concerned that the sheets would not prove warm enough but they were. The bathroom is also plenty large enough and scrupulously clean. Rooms are cleaned everyday and the beds made up.
There is a great choice of food for breakfast and Enrica, who served us everyday, was always cheerful and friendly. There is no restaurant for evening meals however.
My only reservation about this hotel is that there are no tea or coffee making facilities in the rooms. Other than that I can thoroughly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank devongirlie67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnstaple, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2014

I have spent three days here and I have been very impressed by not only the excellent service of a friendly and welcoming staff, but also by the beautiful room! Large, simply but tastefully decorated , it has a comfortable bed, good sized bathroom and is certainly one of the nicest hotels I have stayed in I particularly liked the old fashioned charm of the furnishings. The breakfast is also very good. The hotel is conveniently situated in the historic centre. I recommend this place and certainly hope that I can return before too long!

Room Tip: I can't deselect "pool" and "fitness centre"! I don't think it has eithe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GillTew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 26, 2013

Situated in front of Ducale Palace and the Cathedral.
Very good access to the main sightseeing spots.
The hotel staff were very kind.
Always tried to help me.

As it use to be a monastery,the atmosphere was great.
Rooms are big and clean.
Breakfast was very tasty. Especially the local ham and cheese.
Loved the tart?Quiche?thing with eeg and ham!!
Hope to come back again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alsace1126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Urbino hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Bonconte
Hotel Bonconte
#5 of 14 in Urbino
214 reviews
1.4 mi away
Mamiani Hotel Urbino
Mamiani Hotel Urbino
#2 of 14 in Urbino
948 reviews
0.1 mi away
Albergo Italia
Albergo Italia
#4 of 14 in Urbino
591 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Urbino Resort - Tenuta Santi Giacomo e Filippo
0.2 mi away
Hotel Raffaello
Hotel Raffaello
#9 of 14 in Urbino
117 reviews
1.8 mi away
La Meridiana Hotel
La Meridiana Hotel
#3 of 14 in Urbino
578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albergo San Domenico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergo San Domenico

Property: Albergo San Domenico
Address: Piazza Rinascimento 3, 61029 Urbino, Italy
Location: Italy > Marche > Province of Pesaro and Urbino > Urbino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Urbino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Albergo San Domenico 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your Albergo San Domenico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergo San Domenico Urbino
Albergo San Domenico Hotel Urbino

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing