We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice ”

Antica osteria da la Stella
Ranked #6 of 105 Restaurants in Urbino
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $33 - $44
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

This restaurant is near the center of Urbino. The atmosphere is relaxing and the service is amazing. The venison was so good, I ordered a second helping.

Date of visit: August 2019
Thank Calla965436
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (1,094)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 1,094 reviews

Reviewed July 4, 2019 via mobile

This restaurant served delicious food. We had the tempura veg for entree which was melt in the mouth wonderful
We then ordered pasta dishes which were great. A gorgeous little portion of a starter soup was freely given and the bread was heavenly
Desserts of apple pie with cinnamon cream and a hazelnut parfait were scrumptious. We were also kindly served a delicious little taster of psnnacotta with caramel
The waiters were truly spectacular, helping and carefully watching with great charm
Lovely experience

Date of visit: July 2019
Thank clearyfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2019 via mobile

Robust and distinctive take on local specialites here, with a warm family feel to proceedings. It's set in a beautiful stone building close to the centre of Urbino. Traditional courtesy too from Giovanna and her family and there is a creative hand at work in the kitchen, subtly rethinking how to make the most of seasonal local ingredients. We were given a rich amuse-bouche on arrival, a rich green veloute with toasted pumpkin seeds, and for symmetry ended the meal with free dolci, whipped creme over caramel with exquisitely rich cantucci. Don't order puddings until you have eaten these, unless you have a very sweet tooth and a prodigious appetite.

The antipasti covered the traditional meats and cheeses but we both opted for the tempura verdure, a generous portion of fresh vegetables encased in the most feathery batter, flanked by three interesting dipping sauces. We wimped out on the Secondi after this substantial start and tried the stuffed potato gnocchi and strotaprezzi. Both were gorgeous. The gnocchi rather stole the show, with their rich duck filling, but the strotaprezzi were lighter with a fresh asparagus and artichoke sauce.
The extensive wine list offers huge choice and a range of prices. Plenty of Vernacchia and Sangiovese but also staples from further afield, like a Brunello di Montalcino. With my pudding I also tried a local red passito, flavoured with cherries, which was less sickly than it sounds.
The bill, with service, came to 108 E.

Date of visit: May 2019
Thank Gerry P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2019

Housed in a 15th century historic building, this restaurant was so amazing in terms of its professional services and the quality of dishes. We tried vegetable tempura (similar to that of Japanese), cervo arrosto (roasted venison, so tender) and pasta with carciofo + asparago). The cooking style was so innovative, and they even offered complimentary dolce (dessert). Maybe this is the best place ever to eat in our 2-week trip in Umbria and Marche.

Date of visit: April 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank adc354
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2019 via mobile

Charming little restaurant. They could cut corners given that they must have a ton of one time customers. They do not. The stuffed ravioli were excellent. Wonderful service. A great wine list. Beautifully decorated.

Date of visit: April 2019
Thank MatthewC241
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Antica osteria da la Stella also viewed

Urbino, Province of Pesaro and Urbino
Urbino, Province of Pesaro and Urbino
 
Urbino, Province of Pesaro and Urbino
Urbino, Province of Pesaro and Urbino
 
Urbino, Province of Pesaro and Urbino
Urbino, Province of Pesaro and Urbino
 

Been to Antica osteria da la Stella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing