We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful restaurant!”

Antica osteria da la Stella
Ranked #3 of 93 Restaurants in Urbino
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $35 - $47
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Wonderful restaurant!”
Reviewed August 16, 2012

This is an absolute gem of a restaurant. It's located in the centre of Urbino. You climb a short flight of stairs into a wonderfully bright, light room with sparkling cutlery, crockery and glassware and a beautiful view from the windows down onto the streets of Urbino.
We went on two occasions during our recent stay in Urbino. On both occasions the food was amazing! We had a wonderful selection of homemade bread - 5 types! The meal was preceeded by an amuse bouche which was a mini calzone one evening. I had a salad as "contorni", which was delicious - fennel shavings, tomato and lovely young lettuce were some of the ingredients. The pastas that we all had were really good - one evening I had tagliatelle al ragu which which I would really recommend! A brilliant restaurant, would go back to Urbino just to eat in that restaurant!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lulu405
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

839 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    519
    267
    37
    10
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Delightful”
Reviewed August 15, 2012 via mobile

What a combination! Traditional Italian dishes with an innovative touch. Pasta so light it almost floated into the mouth. Main courses cooked to perfection and beautifully presented. We were so pleased that it rained because it ensured we could savour the desserts slowly. Overall a delightful experience enhanced by the most attentive service. We shall definitely be going back.

Helpful?
1 Thank RogerAM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 6 Contributor
181 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Utterly fantastic”
Reviewed June 15, 2012

This really is a lovely little restaurant and I would go back to Urbino just to eat there again. The hosts are so welcoming, kind and attentive and cannot do enough for you. The ambience is lovely (much better than the website would suggest in my opinion) and the food truly award winning. The menu mixes classic dishes with some very innovative ones, and it works well. The beef was exceptional, the cheeses interesting and accompanied by some original relishes. the wine is excellent and it is all very reasonably priced for the high standard it offers. The two meals we had there (in 3 days...so it must be good!) were both ones I will savour for a long time to come.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank WDandAK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garden City, Kansas
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Share the 5 course meal, it is too much for one person.”
Reviewed March 21, 2012

The food was great. The view was great as you looked down on one of the main streets to see the people carrying on their business.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank judystewart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palermo, Italy
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Very nice and quite good”
Reviewed February 25, 2012

In the culinary landscape of Urbino it's one of the best places I know.
A nice place, with a quite elegant atmosphere where it may be relaxing taking a break for a satisfactory meal.
The kitchen offers an interesting compromise between classic Italian cuisine and a certain amount of interesting innovation; it may be nice both for travellers desiring to taste something interesting as well as for Italians.
There also a good choice of wines, served properly.
Of course it's not the cheap restaurant for a fast meal; but if you're enjoying your time in Urbino and want to add something tasty to it... why not!

  • Visited March 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank alebflower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Antica osteria da la Stella also viewed

Urbino, Province of Pesaro and Urbino
Urbino, Province of Pesaro and Urbino
 
Urbino, Province of Pesaro and Urbino
Urbino, Province of Pesaro and Urbino
 

Been to Antica osteria da la Stella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing