We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I had an excellent meal with good wine and friendly service”
Review of Il Cortegiano

Il Cortegiano
Ranked #5 of 93 Restaurants in Urbino
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $22 - $34
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: The most fantastic restaurant serving traditional Italian food. The best meal we had in this area.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“I had an excellent meal with good wine and friendly service”
Reviewed March 22, 2012

Restaurant is across the square from the entrance to the Palazzo Ducale. You pass thru a small coffee bar to get to it from the street; do not be put off! I was glad I did.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank williambeattiesmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

507 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    195
    231
    54
    22
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sudbury, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Consistently very good in all regards”
Reviewed December 12, 2011

Il Cortegiano is a restaurant within a restaurant. Its frontage is a bar, followed by a very casual restaurant with the full monty in the rear. The main restaurant is elegant without being intimidating and lends itself to a buzzy atmosphere mixing tourists with university dons and businessmen. The service and the food are both very good indeed. Being a university town, the staff consists of intelligent, pleasant young people and they are mostly multi-lingual should your italian fail you. I make a point of having lunch in this restaurant every time I am in Urbino and I have yet to be anything other than very pleased with the experience.

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank cramsdal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fountain Valley, California, United States
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Our home in Urbino”
Reviewed October 2, 2011

Wonderful food, warm and wonderful people, the best experience in Italy. Try everything - I mean it - from the sandwich made from 'typical' Marche bread, to the best desserts I've ever eaten - especially when accompanied by Vino Visciole. I can't remember when I've had more fun, outside of my own backyard. I'll never forget Urbino because of the food and people at Il Cortegiano.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Mary P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fano, Italy
Level Contributor
36 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“High quality at affordable price”
Reviewed September 19, 2011

I'm a frequent client.
You can go there for a fast lunch or with large groups: quality will be always top, with a flexible, rich and original menu. Especially, first courses and desserts are magic.
Furthermore, staff is very kind and efficient, and the place is magic, in the very centre of Urbino, in front of the Duke Palace and the Cathedral.
They have alo a garden inside, used in summer.
A pity, it is usually open just for lunch.

  • Visited April 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank EduardoB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evergreen, Colorado
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Wonderful!”
Reviewed July 23, 2011

We feel fortunate to have wondered upon this great restaurant. The staff was very kind, the food was excellent and the house wine was a wonderful sangiovese that was inexpensive (8 Euro/litre). There is a beautiful garden to sit in behind the restaurant that was perfect for service on a July night. Thanks for a great meal and great service in your beautiful town!

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank cbair91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Il Cortegiano also viewed

Urbino, Province of Pesaro and Urbino
Urbino, Province of Pesaro and Urbino
 
Urbino, Province of Pesaro and Urbino
Urbino, Province of Pesaro and Urbino
 
Urbino, Province of Pesaro and Urbino
Urbino, Province of Pesaro and Urbino
 

Been to Il Cortegiano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing