We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“1950s Meets Zen- flawless service, fabulous decor, lovely spa, on beach”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Excelsior Congress, Spa & Lido
Ranked #2 of 49 Hotels in Pesaro
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 3, 2011

This hotel is a destination in itself. One could stay here and skip the city (although that would be too bad). Opera lovers going to the Rossini Festival can rejoice that the city has a hotel that can exceed its standards. Enchanting reinvention of 1950s decor, with some amusing touches. Light, airy. Delicious breakfast buffet with quality choices. Romantic moonlight dinner on the beach, full service, with nice wines. A dream spot in a place, Pesaro, that is off the radar screen of most travelers. Don't miss the excellent spa, interesting options, professional staff, good array of treatments. Everything here is professional. This merits a detour.

Room Tip: Book early to request a sea view, lovely even in rainy weather.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GrandestTour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (650)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

71 - 77 of 650 reviews

Reviewed August 20, 2011

An amazing hotel with spacious rooms, terrific staff, and relaxing beach (which is an oasis in an otherwise crowded coast). The only draw back is the food, which could be better. Staff's automatic answer is yes to any request and they were very accommodating to 2 small children. My wife and I are already planning our next trip back!

One of the nicest rooms we've evr stayed in (suite).

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank adammfreed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2011

We stayed at the Excelsior with our three children for two nights and found the service very poor. The receptionists were rude, slow and sadly unintelligent! The beach charge of 50 euros a day is extreme, especially as we were sat quite far from the sea. Unlike many 5 star hotels, the atmosphere is pretencious and unrelaxing. Prior to this we stayed at the Villa Cattani Stuart in the hills...amazing service, amazing breakfast would definately recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank 45Alex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Excelsiorpesaro, Direttore vendite at Excelsior Congress, Spa & Lido, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2011

Dear Sir, thank for your notes, they will be helpful to better run the Hotel.
Reading your complain up to the end, it’s quite clear that something in your choice for an hotel was wrong. (you decided for a wrong location).
Hotel Excelsior and Villa Cattani are two smart and brilliant locations, but completely different in style and cannot be compared one each other.
Villa Cattani represents the Italian country side with garden and hills, opulent and impressive, while the Excelsior is the International ’50 passion living again troughout a basic and balanced luxury, where body and soul can be pampered and truly relaxed.
The Excelsior Lido is quiet, classic, elegant, not only a place but a tasteful atmosphere where relax and wellness are the password. Umbrellas and deckchairs number is one third of the ordinary and common number on the Adriatic’ beaches. At Lido: towels, iced mineral water and fresh fruits at least twice per day, two hydromassage pools and a baby sitting service from 11 a.m. up to 6 p.m. are free. What’s more Lido is only a summer location. Again it is a free choice since Guests can daily decide for a gourmet tour, art cities, nature trails or simply a different beach. A service has to be charged only if and when received not in advance. That’s the reason of the Lido extra charge. Mention about it is always made on email, room information, front office and beach desk.
No comment about the appreciation on the reception staff; Kindness is necessarily a genuine skill of every single partner of the Excelsior staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2011

Lovely hotel with nice rooms and great food - generally good service except for some which were completely useless.

Hotel is new and very beautiful. Food was great. Breakfast was lovely with freshly squeezed juice, homemade baked goods, fruit etc. It is a very continental style, so not great if you like a cooked breakfast. The lunch and dinner in the beachside restaurant was also lovely - very Italian with great seafood.

Major downside was the extras - 50 euros per day to use the private beach on weekends, 40 during the week! Even if you are a hotel guest! We thought it was a bit much and would not go back.

Access to the gym and indoor pool is also upon charge - spa area is very small, website makes it look deceptively big.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank baselgirl_1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2011

I spend 4 days at Hotel Excelsior and this is definitely not a 5 star hotel. Breakfast is very poor and same every day, very boring. There is only small buffet, no fish, no seafood, 2 kind of fruit, NO vegetable!!! Better not to say more because it gets me angry. Staff at breakfast does not speak english. And this was just a beginning...Wifi is not working, you have to get a code and enter 2 times - very complicated. Sometimes I went to reception 5 times per day for new codes, it was still not working. Key card for lights in room most of the times does not work. They charged me wrong rates on my bill. I realized last day that hotel charged 40-50€ / day for using beach towels and deckchair. I was not informed at check-in. I heard other guests complaining about charge for beach - they were also not informed. No bellmen to help you with luggage. And more and more....really - this is not a 5 star hotel. Next time I book another hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Magico79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Excelsiorpesaro, Direttore vendite at Excelsior Congress, Spa & Lido, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2011

Dear Sir, only few notes about your helpful complain.
Breakfast buffet can be boring. Generally,that’s when every day you can choose among a great selection of food: the choice became really difficult. The Excelsior breakfast buffet daily offers handmade sweets and cakes, bread and bakery products coming from its own Arte Bianca’ Laboratory. What’s better?
At least four types of fresh fruits according to the season are daily proposed. In summer : grape, peaches, prunes, strawberry, melon, water melon, apricots, whole and chopped. Italy generously offers superb fruits at reasonable prices particularly in summer!
Vegetables, fish and seafood are not exhibited, but can be asked at any time. What’s more Roberto Leonardi, the Excelsior chef is always on hand to satisfy any guest’s request.
All staff speaks not only English. Guests can always be understood even when they speak only their own language (Russian, Polish, Chinese, Japanese, Sinhalese, ecc.)
Excelsior Lido (beach in your word) is quiet, classic, elegant, not only a place but a tasteful atmosphere where relax and wellness are the password. Umbrellas and deckchairs are one third of the ordinary and common number on the Adriatic’ beaches. At Lido towels, iced mineral water and fresh fruits at least twice a day, two hydro massage pools and a baby sitting service (from 11 a.m. up to 6 p.m.) are free .
What’s more Lido is only a summer location. It is a free choice since Guests can daily decide for a gourmet tour, art cities, nature trails or simply a different beach. A service has to be charged only if and when received not in advance. That’s the reason of the Lido extra charge. Mention about it is always made on email, room information, front office and beach desk.
At the Excelsior, a bellman is present even at night. Nevertheless, it can happen that a Guest might come together with another one and the luggage service would keep one of the two waiting longer than usual.
Internet connection is free and a password and a specific code are necessary. Sorry, it’s a simple rule to protect Guests and the Hotel. Excelsior tries to relax not to hurry up.
Some technical problem can happen even if room card and services are daily checked. That can disappoint, but receptionists are always on hand to provide an immediate solution, at least a new card.
Really a great thank for your advice.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2011

good:
-the private beach ,thanks to god for see,sand and view-maybe next year the client's have to pay also for the nature...
bad:
-the poorest and constant breakfast;for 5 stars is a shame!
-NO swimingpool-what you could see on thesite of the hotel is a small,small indoor pool,at the small,small indoor spa wher buy the way the children are not allow!!
-regarding children they are not welcome at all,nothing special for them,even the extrabed you pay is just a coach,small and inconfortable
-the room are in small size and the junior suite is just a room,with shower(all the rooms are just shower,only 2 ....2 has tub...at 5 stars...) and they have just 2 suites enormous expansive,not worthing the money at all!!
-no fun , no activity ,no attention for the guests, no nothing at this "priceless" hotel at Pesaro ,just good advertising for credulous clients...like us...unliky us!!!

Conclusion:it was the worst holliday we ever had,and our child was so unhappy to Excelsior in Pesaro!!!Don't go!there are a lot of expansive place who even woth it!!!!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank BucharestBella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Excelsiorpesaro, Direttore vendite at Excelsior Congress, Spa & Lido, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2011

Dear Guest,
thanking for time dedicated writing Your opinion, I'm glad to inform You that the hotel is absolutely a 5 stars and at the same time a peculiar answer for special guests; people looking for relax and delicious atmosphere, an essential and luxury proposal, exclusive all along the Adriatic sea coast.
The room you had assigned to is definitely a Junior Suite: squared meters of the Excelsior rooms are even more than what defined by the standard, even including the soundproof quality of our rooms.
The coaches are the same in all the rooms, in order to provide an equal sleeping quality in all the accommodations.
Excelsior does have a swimming pool. Not outdoor or on the beach as the most common hotels, since the lovely Lido and its beautiful sand are able to replace a swimming pool relax; but indoor at the SPA. Children can be admitted, filling a form is the only procedure to have the Excelsior Management Ok.
Breakfast is definitely excellent! It is every day fresh and gorgeous. Every day the menu offers classical cakes and bakery products hand made by our own “White Art Laboratory”, which guarantee of genuine and fresh proposals.
Again fresh fruits (whole, chopped and salad) are available every morning and on request, even vegetable could be on hand.
Again our Chef, Roberto Leonardi, is on hand to serve and satisfy any request (even pasta at the breakfast buffet if you like it).
Excelsior’ Lido, as all the extra service, are warmly recommended for their luxury and delightful flavour, but their price is not included for all the guests, in order to let them to choose their own stay style. What is more Excelsior Lido offers: fresh fruits, mineral water, beach towels, two hydro massage pools, Wi-Fi connection, personal dedicated beach beds. In addition our beach installment offer a free baby-corner service, directed and specially studied by a professional figure who bases every game and activity to develop children attitude.
We are really sorry for the impression given to You about our structure, and we are looking forward to your new stay in our hotel in order to let you try the real Welcoming Concept of the Excelsior sensing it like your second home.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2011

Staying overnight at Excelsior, even if it is for business purposes, gives you a flavour of holidays and will stay in your mind for a while...
Food is at very high level, wine choice is impressive. The rooms look like cabins, are very well equipped, wifi is free... what else do you want ?

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Garzagul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pesaro hotels
0.3 mi away
Vittoria Hotel Pesaro
Vittoria Hotel Pesaro
#19 of 49 in Pesaro
416 reviews
0.3 mi away
Nautilus Family Hotel
Nautilus Family Hotel
#6 of 49 in Pesaro
262 reviews
1.4 mi away
Baia Flaminia Resort Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Alexander Museum Palace Hotel
3 mi away
Hotel Villa Cattani Stuart
0.3 mi away
Hotel Savoy
Hotel Savoy
#46 of 49 in Pesaro
475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Excelsior Congress, Spa & Lido? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Excelsior Congress, Spa & Lido

Address: Lungomare Nazario Sauro 30/34, 61121, Pesaro, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Marche > Province of Pesaro and Urbino > Pesaro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 49 Hotels in Pesaro
Price Range: $144 - $312 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Excelsior Congress, Spa & Lido 5*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Excelsior has been created to offer hotel guests and all those who appreciate the art of living well, a far from ordinary destination and a lifestyle of modern luxury. Recalling the glamorous atmosphere of the 1950s, the Excelsior experience is dedicated to living well. Finesse and elegance grace every moment, private or professional, vacationor business. This is a boutique hotel where hospitality and leisure combined with discretion and charm create a quiet haven, rich in art, beauty and stunning views. Not a place to simply pass through - a true "home away from home", gracefully luxurious, the epitome of the Excelsior concept. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Fastbooking, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Excelsior Congress, Spa & Lido reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing