We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oasis”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Il Pignocco Country House
Ranked #1 of 23 Specialty Lodging in Pesaro
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 29, 2012

Il Pignocco Country House is an oasis perched on the top of a hill, overlooking the city of Pesaro. Francesca and Anna are very helpful hosts. We stayed in a spacious apartment with two bedrooms and two badrooms and an ajoining terrace which was wonderful for breakfast and dinner. During the day it was too hot, but the apartment was nice cool. We received fresh towels during the week. The pool was set among the olive trees. We only missed an oven in the kitchen. Otherwise, it was perfect!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Liesbeth020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (239)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

13 - 19 of 239 reviews

Reviewed August 22, 2012

First time we have visited this part of Italy and we were pleasantly surprised. Lovely scenery, good beaches and less expensive than some other areas. Urbino wonderful : as beautiful as many more 'famous' towns but none of the crowds and queues.

Il Pignocco is worth searching out (do follow their own directions as satnav sent us miles away.)
The house and grounds are stunning. The rooms are stylish and spotless and very well equiped, although a small oven or microwave would have been useful. The kitchen had some basics such as salt, olive oil, dishwahing liquid etc. This was a nice touch and is especially useful if you are not driving here in your own car.

The pool is good and is fine for both adults and children. It is set in a small olive grove and the shade from the trees was perfect. There are plenty of sunbeds so no need to reserve one with a towel!

Our holiday was made extra special by the lovely family who own the house. They were all so friendly and welcoming and couldn't have been more helpful.They speak perfect English and were always ready to recommend restaurants and places to visit.

We had a peaceful and relaxing time here and hope to visit again.

Room Tip: Very happy with our room although the spiral staircase was a bit tricky during the night!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank uktravellerspo12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2012

What a nice place, and how lovely did you treat us. Lovely taste of forniture. so glad that we booked the tower. Ofcourse you have to walk up and down the stairs but such romantic surrounding is it more then worth.

Room Tip: If you have children don't take the tower or if you are not in a good shape. But if you are then...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marcel V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2012

Il Pignocco Country House takes just a bit of 'finding', but is worth the trouble.

We booked the Feronia apartment for four nights and found it to be one of the more unique places we have stayed. It is actually on four levels: kitchen/sitting area on the first level, bathroom (with whirlpool) on the second, bedroom on the third, and open-air terrace on top. Spiral staircases connect the levels, and windows (curtained, of course) abound on the bathroom and bedroom floors. Air conditioning is independent for each of the three enclosed levels.

Service is as expected a B&B accommodation, that is, linens and towels are not changed daily as in most hotels. This is not generally an issue, and a refresh can be requested if needed.

The property is gated. Guests are given a card, along with the room key, which will open the gate...and also serves to operate the lights in the room (they will turn off a few minutes after the card is removed).

Plenty of parking is available very near the buildings, so transportation of luggage is not a problem.

The kitchen is supplied with flatware, towels, pots and pans, and condiments. A small refrigerator and cooktop provide the means to prepare simple meals in the apartment.

The bed was large (it actually takes most of the third level area) and comfortable, and the whirlpool bath functioned flawlessly.

From the rooftop terrace, there are fine views around the countryside and across part of Pesaro to the sea. The autostrada is visible (and slightly audible) to the south-east.

For the most part, it was very quiet at Il Pignocco. The one exception was the night of our arrival when somewhere in the near distance someone was having a very loud party...well into the night. While it was quite annoying while sitting outside, inside we could not hear it.

The owners (Anna and Francesca) were accommodating and helpful. They and their families live on-site and are eager to help with any arrangements. We especially enjoyed Osteria del Giogo - a very authentic trattoria in nearby Novilara.

We did not examine any other apartments, but can certainly recommend Feronia as a unique place to stay.

Room Tip: Check the Il Pignocco website for information on the apartments, and correspond with the owners.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DecoDogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2011

Siamo stati 4 giorni con mia famiglia al Pignocco. Era bellissima, very relaxing. I will finish in english: the place is typically italian with "pace", olive trees, great swimming pool within the olive trees field, elegance in the rooms and outside, very convenient kitchens in the rooms which is great for a family with kids.

Our hosts were very nice and organised a party because we had the chance to stay while there was the "festa del basilico" in the village Santa Veneranta. The place is close to the Autostrada but as it is on top of the hill, it is not a problem. It is a great place!


Famiglia di Parigi in giro in Italia

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank G K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2011

We just returned from our week in Pesaro, staying at Il Pignocco.
The appartment, the house, the garden, the people and the surroundings are really beautiful! And the placing is excellent for trips to Sirolo and Urbino, which were the two fantastic towns we chose to visit.
To stay up the hills like this was a much better solution for us than by the ocean/in the city. Beautiful scenery, fresh air, nice views and quite surroundings.
The one thing we would like to tip you about, is in fact the quite surroundings. We felt that we disturbed some of the other guests, being two families includning two boys at twelve. That`s the one think I would consider...
Otherwise: BEAUTIFUL!
Best wishes,
Marianne Mikalsen and familly, Norway

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MamMik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2011

We were 2 couples who spent a week at Il Pignocco, and we loved it ! It was like having a private summer-house in the most beautiful surroundings in the country-side, but close to both town, villages and the sea. Among many good thing we noticed that the air-conditioning was super-effective and super-noiseless :-) The staff is extremely nice and helpful.
Inge & Poul
Esbjerg, DK

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PoulM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pesaro
2.5 mi away
Hotel Villa Cattani Stuart
3.1 mi away
Badia Agriturismo
Badia Agriturismo
#2 of 23 in Pesaro
48 reviews
6.0 mi away
Agriturismo Ca Verde
Agriturismo Ca Verde
#1 of 2 in Fiorenzuola di Focara
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Agriturismo Ca' Princivalle
24.0 mi away
Agriturismo Il Casale
Agriturismo Il Casale
#1 of 14 in Pergola
162 reviews
14.1 mi away
Le Fontanelle Country House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Il Pignocco Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Pignocco Country House

Address: Strada del Pignocco 3 | Santa Veneranda, 61122, Pesaro, Italy
Location: Italy > Marche > Province of Pesaro and Urbino > Pesaro
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 23 Specialty Lodging in Pesaro
Price Range: $68 - $97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Il Pignocco Country House 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Villa of Pignocco rises in a panoramic position on the gentle slopes overlooking the seaside town of Pesaro. It is an ancient and fascinating farmhouse dating back to 1700 and today it has been carefully restructured. What was once the barn, the stall, the tower and the sharecropper’s residence have now been turned into comfortable apartments, where one can take a relaxing vacation surrounded by nature and close to the sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Il Pignocco Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing