We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The holy see”

St. Peter's Basilica
Book In Advance
More Info
$21.14*
and up
No Wait Access: St Peter's Basilica WiFi Audio Guide
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Arguably one of the finest Cathedrals in the entire world, St. Peter's is the spiritual center of the Vatican and the product of many of Italy's great Renaissance's architects, among them Bramante, Raphael and Michelangelo.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access
Vancouver
Level Contributor
34 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“The holy see”
Reviewed May 11, 2013

Awesome!
Excellence photo opportunities within the basilica...
Great architecture and sculptures abound...

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kitsuni-n-Tanuki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27,431 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22,585
    3,739
    739
    200
    168
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
157 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Stunning But Crowded”
Reviewed May 11, 2013

It's free to enter the Basilica. Its a bit difficult to work out where the queue actually ends because there's so many people milling about. The queue wasn't that bad the time we went in but we had seen it much bigger. When we went through the security metal detector the three guards were talking among themselves, my boyfriend beeped as he went through and they didn't even turn around! After you get through security it's still a struggle to get into the church due to the crowds.

Inside it's stunning. You can hardly get near Michaelangelo's Pieta for all the people trying to get a good shot, but you can wriggle your way to the front. All of the art and architecture is amazing, there's too much for your eyes to take in. I would really like to go round again for another look but with all the crowds I don't think I could stand it again. I think it's a bit cheeky that they charge just to climb to the top of the dome. We didn't go up, we went to the top of Castel Sant Angelo instead which has an amazing view, probably better since you can look across at the St. Peters!

All in all its something you have to try and go see in your lifetime but be prepared for crowds and have patience.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Lauren P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
51 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Don't miss climbing to the top of the Basilica”
Reviewed May 10, 2013

There is no question that St. Peter's Basilica is one of the most beautiful and grand cathedrals in the world. I just know that many people miss the opportunity to go to the top of the Basilica. there is an option to climb the steps for 5 euro or use the elevator for 7 euro. USE THE ELEVATOR. Once you are at the top of the elevator you will still have many more steps to climb, but you will get the best view of the inside of the Basilica and see the mosaics that most people only see from the cathedral floor. Then, a few more steps and you are rewarded with a priceless view of the Vatican Grounds and all of Rome.

Please, don't miss out on this experience. It was our favorite of Rome.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank oceanadventurerPADI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
188 reviews
86 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“Museo Storico Artistico (Treasury of St Peter's)”
Reviewed May 9, 2013

For 7 euros entrance and 3 euros for an audioguide, this little museum is a lovely oasis in the midst of St Peter's Basilica. The museum holds sacred relics and priceless artefacts presented to St Peter's. Some of the beautiful pieces have been donated by individuals, some by previous Popes. I do recommend the audioguide, as the labels have only a very short description, which is enough for some of the things. There is a little chapel containing Donatello's Tabernacle, which was only restored in 2009

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Dale47_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“A Wonder of the World”
Reviewed May 9, 2013

This was our fourth trip to St Peter's, yet ,as always, it was uplifting and enthralling. Give yourself enough time and energy to take it all in and enjoy ( don't try to whiz round after the Vatican Museum ! ). The Pieta is undoubtedly one of the most beautiful works of art in the World. Such a shame that it is now at a distance behind glass.
The Pope celebrates Mass in the square on a Wednesday and Sunday, which is an experience, especially for the devout.
A jaw-dropping experience.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Pookymusic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed St. Peter's Basilica also viewed

 

Been to St. Peter's Basilica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing