We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Impressive” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Baldacchino di San Pietro, di Bernini

Baldacchino di San Pietro, di Bernini
Book In Advance
More Info
$20.33*
and up
No Wait Access: St Peter's Basilica with Audio Guide
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Malaga, Spain
Level Contributor
3,468 reviews
3,090 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3,057 helpful votes
“Impressive”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013

The Baldacchino created by Bernini is very impressive because of its size and sheer beauty. You can see it right away when you enter St. Peter's. Bernini was a sheer genius and created so many beautiful things in his life. This is our legacy from him.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank BennyMalaga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

677 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    528
    121
    20
    4
    4
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Cupola to Grotto”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013 via mobile

This was one of the highlights of our excursion the St. Peter's Basilica. Having been here before (years ago), we were keen to also show our children this magnificent basilica. The last time my wife and I went was in summer-time; so just getting inside was a challenge (battling the queues). However, this time around there were no queues and we managed to get inside and take the lift to the dome of the basilica (I think there is just one lift). That was fantastic BUT the real highlight was making the extra effort to walk the 300+ stairs all the way up the 'Cupola' and walk around the top of the dome - the views were fantastic (not to mention the experience). Once back to terra firma and after enjoying the 'normal' sights of the basilica, we also managed to get below into the GROTTO. This is the crypt where various Popes lie. It was a wonderful experience - top to bottom of St. Peter's Basilica.

Helpful?
Thank Eric F
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
1,229 reviews
988 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 535 helpful votes
“Amazing piece-of-art”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2012

The Saint Peter's Baldachin is situated in the center of Saint Peter's Basilica, right under the cupola and was made by Bernini. Its height is 29 meters, but because the Basilica is huge, the baldachin looks very small.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank menq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Level Contributor
710 reviews
578 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1,389 helpful votes
“Front and center: Bernini’s lasting legacy in St. Peter’s.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2012

Rising 29 meters over the Papal altar and St. Peter’s tomb, and requiring nine years of construction, Bernini’s bronze Baldacchino is probably the most recognizable structure inside of St. Peter’s aside from the eponymous statue of the saint himself. Like most structures found inside the church, this one has a seemingly entire separate history behind it and I would imagine tour guides could spend hours on this structure alone if they wanted. Aside from being visually striking, there are a number of intricate designs/messages found here that I would have aimlessly passed by if it wasn’t for a good guide book and docent. The baldachin is discussed in the audio guide to the church, mentioned in the group tours, and found in even the most superfluous guide books so there is no excuse for not picking up a few facts here and there depending on your method of visiting. On most of my visits to the church the area was accessible within 10 feet or so of the base so the intricacies of the designs can also be appreciated. Highlights for me included the “childbirth” story (of Pope Urban VIII’s niece) on the friezes and a small (permanent, carved) rosary at the base of one of the pillars, the latter Bernini’s acknowledgement of the “common person” in the importance of the Catholic Church. Unlike St. Peter’s throne the baldachin is a bit more visually accessible and in my mind just as important. Worth a quick visit with a bit of studying required beforehand. Thumbs up!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank midway42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
603 reviews
375 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 425 helpful votes
“Beautiful but you can't get close to enjoy it”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2012

Before you could get within 5 feet of it but now you can't get 50 yards away. The amazing part about it is the details which you can no longer see. So sad.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Baldacchino di San Pietro, di Bernini also viewed

 

Been to Baldacchino di San Pietro, di Bernini? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing