We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A must do”
Review of Vatican City

Vatican City
Book In Advance
More Info
$43.29*
and up
Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Tickets
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: The world's smallest state, center of Catholicism, and home to the Pope. The Vatican museum is known worldwide.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A must do”
Reviewed February 20, 2013

There are only a select number of places in the world that are true must sees .... and vatican city is most certainly one of the! We were there the day before the the Pope's last public address before stepping down and it was exceptionally busy. We did however get a chance to understand and really admire this world treasure and have great snaps and memories. Recommended!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Cat L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,072 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,618
    1,042
    278
    63
    71
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
201 reviews
78 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“touristy”
Reviewed February 19, 2013

Lots of tourist traps and shops, but still a beautiful place nonetheless! I felt like I was in Ancient Rome walking through! The architecture is breathtaking!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Cynthia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
274 reviews
96 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 256 helpful votes
“The power of religion”
Reviewed February 19, 2013

I visited the Vatican on the day of Pope Benedict's final address, so it was absolutely crammed with TV crews, tourists and of course the faithful queueing patiently for hours to listen to him. The atmosphere was incredible, but it did mean that I was not able to visit the Basilica or museum, so I cannot comment fully on the visit. I will just have to return again another time...

I would say, though, that this is a must-do in Rome. Technically you are in another state - although obviously there is no "border" as such. It feels like it is a different pace from the chaos outside the walls, and the architecture is striking.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank senti2comun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
71 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Amazingly beautiful”
Reviewed February 15, 2013

If you have a chance to go to Rome, please do not miss this place. Vatican city is just so amazing. When we were there, there was not so many tourists. I guess it was like 9 am in the morning. Going there early actually help pretty much. It is not so crowded so you could enjoy the spectacular views of its best.

My accommodation is near Termini station and we just have to take bus number 64 that took you directly to Vatican city. The bus ticket valid for 100 minutes or something and you can purchase the bus ticket at the newspaper stand. Actually, there is no fee to get into the attraction. The basilica is free of charge to enter but the dome on top has a entrance fee and it was like 7 Euro for elevator and 4 Euro for stairs (I was not sure with the price though, might have some different but for sure not so much) The dome, even though you took the elevator one, you still need to walk up by stairs for like another 200 steps probably, but I am sure you will like it. It was inside the dome and outside on the rooftop. Inside - you will see a nice dome ceiling decoration and painting and outside you will get this spectacular view of Vatican city and Rome. It is just amazing! It it breathtaking and it just blow my mind away. Really worth to see it.

Here on top, you will have a little souvenir shop. Suggestion: Buy a postcard and send it outside at the postbox. The post take like 3-4 days and you will get such a nice stamp state 'Vatican city' in Italian, I like it. You got a nice souvenir there as well. but most of the stuffs are all about religion and pope. There is also a museum that you could visit and there is an entrance fee separately.

Overall, the visit time, let's say 2-3 hours. Go there early and enjoy the amazingly beautiful view of Vatican.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Smiley_face1621
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northwich
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Breath taking”
Reviewed February 12, 2013

All what is said about this place is true an excellent piece of history lovely scenery a real feeling of history and one of most powerful places on earth

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank intuitiv990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vatican City also viewed

 

Been to Vatican City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing