We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Breathtaking!”
Review of Vatican Museums

Vatican Museums
Book In Advance
More Info
$55.95*
and up
Early Access: Sistine Chapel and Vatican Museums Ticket
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: With more than five miles of corridors, this vast complex of museums chronicles the history and accomplishments of mankind over the last 2000 years, featuring classic masterpieces such as Rodin's "Thinker" and the Sistine Chapel.
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Breathtaking!”
Reviewed December 26, 2012

As an art major in college I was able to study many of these beautiful works in books but to see them up close and in person was a true treat. The museum is so massive there is no way to see it all - I recommend booking a private tour with Avventure Bellisimee and specifically Franchesca and letting her help guide you through the good parts. If you can get two days I would definitely recommend seeing some of the lesser visited works.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Kelly C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24,309 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15,129
    5,200
    2,282
    940
    758
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Civitella messer Raimondo
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“early bird”
Reviewed December 25, 2012

If you intend to visit the Vatican museum get there well before they open.....the queues can be appalling. Booking beforehand will help with this.
If you think you can spend a lot of time in the Sistine Chapel forget it! the guards will move you on after about 5 minutes.........they have to, to give everyone a look, but it's a great shame as there is much more to see than the Michelangelo's.
Another opportunity to avoid crowds is lunchtime when the Italian Spanish tourists etc: go for a meal.
Don't forget, there is no shelter for the long queues from either rain or sun and after an hour or two in a line this can seriously affect you.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank suzannesadiqa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very informative”
Reviewed December 24, 2012

Plan for 2 days...if u really want to know about each sculpture, item..housed in museum...if you are short in time do some research beforehand to see..

Helpful?
Thank nitin s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Passion of the Vatican”
Reviewed December 24, 2012 via mobile

I have visit Vatican museums more then 40 times, and I am comming back almost every year with the same passion of the first time visit. Always something new is opened. The most valuable Michelangelo's works are magnificant and Caravaggio is outstanding. You can see even a part of the Moon there.

Helpful?
Thank Alisnjic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
136 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Museum is amazing even second time around!”
Reviewed December 23, 2012

Firstly: we visited on saturday 15th dec. There were NO queues! Let me repeat - NO queues! Take a tour because you want to not just to avoid waiting. We visited 5 years ago at the same time of year and were surprised by the lack of people. This time however the 'touts' made just walking to the entrance an unpleasant experience. Every 10 steps someone came up to you offering a tour in order to avoid long waiting times. Continually warning us that without a tour we would be waiting for a very long time......We could barely hold a conversation without being interrupted. Upon arrival to the entrance we had exactly 5 persons in front for the security check - taking 3 minutes in total. We walked upstairs to the ticket booth - making our way thru all the throngs waiting for their tours to start. And 3 out of the 5 mannned ticket booths were patiently waiting for customers as there were NO queues! Of course summer visits may be different :)

The museum is fantastic and well worth the visit. We took our time and viewed the exhibits that were of particular interest to us. Plan to budget at least 3 hours just to see the 'highlights'. Remember to bring your EU passport for discounts for the children and full time students. Also no coat check but mandatory for rucksacks.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank 25VicNic17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vatican Museums also viewed

 
Vatican City, Lazio
 

Been to Vatican Museums? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing