We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lots of character”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Palazzo Maggiore

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Palazzo Maggiore
Ranked #11 of 38 Tivoli B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lots of character”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2012

Monica made us feel very welcome in her home from home. The rooms were cool, clean, and comfortable, and the food was excellent. She cooked a typical Italian meal for us, and eating this
on her lovely patio was one of the highlights of our stay. She made a great fuss of the children, who in turn really warmed to her. Easy to book - her English is very good, and thoroughly reccommended.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Jill B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    29
    4
    6
    3
See reviews for
23
72
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
England
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2012

brilliant B&B, peaceful, calm and central- an easy walk from the train station. The people were wonderful, the breakfast was great and the room was amazing with a lovely little courtyard off it and a bath which spouted water from a lions head! I wish we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hatty5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Selkant (DE) Maastricht (NL)
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2012

After a fantastic experience at a B&B in Vicenza, Italy some years ago, we supposed that we would have been spoilt forever. Well... after staying at the Palazzo Magiore in Tivoli we are spoilt even more! The owner Marco picked us up at the airport and as we approached the old citty of Tivoli one got the impression of going back in time. Verry narrow streets; robust and slightly gloomy looking grand buildings who's haydays were centuries ago... Just as we thought:" wow! this area realy looks authentic" he parked the car an there it was. Within the verry ancient doorway appeared a surprisingly contemporary lady of the house; Monica. She showed us around the house and we loved it immediately. A true palazzo in the meaning of a palace. Verry beautifully restored and decorated with great taste and awareness of the authentic atmosphere. Since it was rather hot outside, we were happy to stay at the cool basement appartment. The two boys loved the Roman bath with the lionshead and the mosaics. For those with an interest in art and history an absolute must-see. Monica and Marco not only turned out to be good hosts but also cooks, cooking in a team but meanwhile competing with each other. For us as a guest this was only an advantage, because everything they served tasted excelent. Besides that, sitting on the cosy terras in the evening it was verry nice entertaining with both of them. The boys realy appreciated Marco's sense of humour and Monica's way of friendly teasing them.
One notices that both of them love doing a good job; adding something extra to it, in order to give their guests a special experience. I guess meanwhile exactly knowing what they have in mind with their B&B. We would call this professionality on a rather exclusive scale. If you are looking for an average hotel, this is probably not the place to be. But if you want some special experience: just go there. It is realy worth it! We would definitely go back there if we are going to stay in Tivoli once more, because we simply loved it!
Btw. In one of the reviews there is a verry nice couple writing about their romantic marriage in Tivoli. We met them and we happened to be there at the verry moment. In fact it was so romantic that my wife - who normaly needs at least 2 movies featuring Julia Roberts and Hugh Grant a week- didn't miss the television-set at all during our stay in Italy (although there was one in the appartment ;-)

Room Tip: basement appartment is nice and cool in summer, with its own small terrace outside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FamilyBustin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart, Arkansas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2012

We stayed here 2 nights Aug 2012 and the owners were super hosts giving advice on where to go for dinner both night and both places were outstanding. The Apt was a 2 bedroom, 2 bath, very clean and fully equipped. Further, the temperature for Aug was comfortable as it is on the ground level and the building is massive, so comfortable. Palazzo Maggiore is convenient walking distance to the squares and Villa d'Este and you can drive down the hill to Hadrian's Villa. The owners let us have breakfast on their shaded terrace surrounded by a lush garden of plants. It was a good Italian breakfast and good Cappucino! I would strongly recommend visiting Palazzo Maggiore and will do so again in the future!

Room Tip: They have a 2 room, 2 bedroom unit with a sitting/dining area and another unit upstairs which we did...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Horb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2012

While searching for the most romantic magical place in the world to be married, we discovered the small ancient garden town of Tivoli just outside of Rome. It was PERFECT! The town is quintessential Italy full of history, ancient buildings, fountains and cobble stone streets, the friendliest people, most amazing cuisine and alive with culture and energy late into the evening. Monica and Marco helped make our time there absolutely magical.

I contacted Monica 6 months prior informing her of our wedding plans and to make arrangements to stay at Palazzo Maggorie. Before we arrived Monica was incredibly helpful by arranging the interpreter, flowers, witnesses and checking with the official to make sure everything was in order. The first day we arrived in Italy, we had an appointment to meet with the American Embassy then the Perfecturra in Rome. Monica explained direction for public transportation in great detail and provided us with maps and schedules. We had back to back appointments. One missed train or wrong turn would have horribly interrupted our wedding plans. Every appointment was met and all paperwork completed perfectly. The day of our wedding Monica and Marco took the time to help us with every detail and attend the ceremony as our witnesses. We met a wonderful family who were staying at the Palazzo Maggorie who were our honored guests at the wedding as well. The wedding was absolutely beautiful, romantic and everything we could ever have hoped for. The photographer took photos that really reflected each moment. Tivoli will forever have a special place in our hearts.

There are so many magnificent experiences we had during our stay at Palazzo Maggorie. Monica and Marco were wonderfully gracious hosts who we consider our friends now. The bed and breakfast is located in the heart of the old town and is within walking distance of everything. The breakfasts were very lovely and Marco makes awesome cappuccinos. Monica and Marco made us a delicious dinner that was really a work of art. We stayed in the room upstairs, which was very spacious and absolutely charming. We will definitely go back!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank M0nicaM2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlands, UK
Level Contributor
84 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2012

We were in the suite with the quirky staircase bathroom - a haven of quietness during a fun but tiring driving holiday. It was lovely having a separate sitting room, where we were served a decent breakfast in the morning.

As mentioned in other reviews, the proprietors are very helpful, particularly with restaurant recommendations - the Blue Elephant (which they suggested) was fantastic.

We were slightly concerned about parking but there is a good sized public car park about 5 minutes walk away.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank writemerich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kauai, Hawaii
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2012

Quirky and totally charming, this great B&B offers a unique glimpse into living a modern life in a 15th century building. The décor is beautiful, the richness of the colors and fabrics accent the well-chosen furnishings. There are special touches throughout – the bathroom mirror, the drapes, the painted head board. While the décor pays homage to a past era, it is also somehow very contemporary.
As far as the bathroom on the stairway goes: yes, it is unusual, but it worked out fine, provided a great story, and attests to Italian ingenuity in finding ways to provide private baths in centuries old buildings. It was all part of the adventure.
Monica and Marco could not have been more wonderful hosts. They gave us great tips for evening meals and navigating the city. We enjoyed our breakfast on their terrace (although you may also take it on your terrace or in your room) and the jasmine was in bloom. It was a great start to the day.
The location too, could not have been better: walking distance to Villa Gregoriana and Villa D’Este. And although we arrived by car, Monica suggested the bus for our visit to Villa Adriana and she was spot on: the bus was easy to find, the ride short and we didn’t have to deal with driving and parking the car. If you are in Tivoli, don’t miss these attractions, but also don’t miss the beauty of the town itself. Walk through the maze of narrow streets and visit the quiet churches off the popular paths – you will be so glad you did.
We were lucky enough to spend three nights here, and were able to enjoy dinner on Monica and Marco’s terrace – if you are asked if you’d like to dine at home rather than heading to a restaurant, do say yes. The food was wonderful and the company was great; it was an all-around memorable evening.
Having years of hospitality experience between Monica and Marco shows, and a stay at Palazzo Maggiore will be one that you remember fondly for some time to come.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EandS_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tivoli hotels
1.4 mi away
Bed&Breakfast Villa  Adriana
0.0 mi away
B&B Catillo
B&B Catillo
#2 of 38 in Tivoli
5.0 of 5 bubbles 303 reviews
0.2 mi away
Villa d'Este Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Affittacamere Il Vecchio Treno
0.6 mi away
B&B Il Giardino
B&B Il Giardino
#1 of 38 in Tivoli
5.0 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
0.1 mi away
Al Palazzetto
Al Palazzetto
#5 of 38 in Tivoli
4.5 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palazzo Maggiore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palazzo Maggiore

Property: Palazzo Maggiore
Address: Via Domenico Giuliani, 89, 00019, Tivoli, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Province of Rome > Tivoli
Amenities:
Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Tivoli
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Palazzo Maggiore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Maggiore Tivoli, Italy - Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing