We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hits the Target”
Review of Target

Target
Ranked #580 of 12,443 Restaurants in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $29 - $58
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations
Neighborhood: Esquilino
Italy
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Hits the Target”
Reviewed January 24, 2014

Thank you Trip Advisor. As I was visiting Rome for only 3 nights, I searched online to find a restaurant close to my hotel. As Target was reviewed positively, I wandered up via Torino to give it a try. I really enjoyed a delicious bowl of linguine with prawns and crispy shredded leeks, coupled with a chilled glass of prosecco it was a simple but memorable meal.

So good in fact that on my second night I convinced my friend to join me at Target. This time we took the advice of a woman dining at the next table. She recommended the prosciutto and buffalo mozzarella, so we shared a plate as the servings are generous. After the first mouthful we were raving over the this simple tasty appetiser.

Feeling adventurous my friend followed the waiter's suggestion of the pear and truffle ravioli, while I enjoyed a fresh bowl of orecchietti with tomato and zucchini. Really outstanding fresh pasta dishes. The pear and truffle ravioli was a delicious surprise. Now that I've tasted it I will be a little more brave when ordering on our next visit. We finished our meal by sharing a light, molten chocolate cake, again following the waiter's recommendation. The waiters were excellent, good humoured, attentive and very helpful. On the first night when I dined by myself, I felt completely comfortable in such a beautifully understated, welcoming dining room.

It's hard to eat badly in Rome if you take time to do a little research. I'm very glad I did and Target certainly hit the mark with every dish. Loved it and I plan to return.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Jenny P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,281 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    486
    535
    178
    57
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Larnaka City, Cyprus
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Great food and ambience, nice clientele”
Reviewed January 22, 2014

Went there by accident, as it was late and most other places were closed. We noticed some beautiful people outside, the owner said we could have only pizza, but came back to announce we could have anything on the menu. Pizza and pasta were extraordinary, the house wine at 3€ a glass was a great value. There was also some DJ and people were dancing, we enjoyed everything. The bill was very very reasonable! The service was super! I would go there again any time.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank demetrisconst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Target hits the mark on the food but misses on service”
Reviewed January 4, 2014

We went here on our last night in Rome and found the food to be excellent, esp. the seafood. The fantasia di mare (appetizer), spaghettone alle vongole, and rombo (turbot) entree were excellent. However, service was spotty. We ordered some veggies to accompany our main course and had to ask a second time after finishing the entrees. The waiter said it was on its way but it still took at least 10 minutes. Decor is contemporary and clean so very much like a modern American restaurant. It was filled with mostly non-Italians so I expect this is the norm. I would call this restaurant moderately expensive for Rome but compared to large US cities, it's still a bargain for the food quality and presentation. Great place to bring friends/business associates for a night out. I definitely recommend reservations as we tried to dine there the night before and the wait was an hour.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Scolar827
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great food, great service, good value for money”
Reviewed January 1, 2014

We are currently enjoying our dessert at Target and cannot wait to share our pleasure. This is one of our best experience in Roma during our 8 days stay. Pulpo soup as starter and Bacalao as main course are 2 great choices amongts others things. Pizza looks great as well. We strongly recommend this place.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Erick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Mateo, California
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great food.”
Reviewed December 30, 2013 via mobile

I liked their fish soup and my husband enjoyed their spaghetti with ragu sauce. The restaurant is for tourists with casuals as well as groups of locals with well dressedup.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jae-Hyun K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Target? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing