We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice crust”
Review of Pizzarium Bonci

Pizzarium Bonci
Ranked #338 of 12,361 Restaurants in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Buffet, Delivery, Takeout
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
50 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“nice crust”
Reviewed November 7, 2012

The place is easy to find.The crust is thick but not doughy bread and very tasty.I had blue cheese and celery,it had no tomato sauce and was ok.My wife had a more tratitional pizza with sauce and cheese with rocket.She said it was fine.I don't know if I would make the trip back there again as I prefer the thinner crust. The lemon soda scozza?was much like 7up or sprite nothing special.We each tried a suppli,,,ok but I've had much better.The service was fine and he spoke english and was pleasant enough it took sometime to have the slices heated up but,, so what we;re on vacation.We ate outside standing up as there is no sitting down other than a small bench on the sidewalk.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank peter r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,038 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,652
    802
    301
    173
    110
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Ave Pizzarium!”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Ate here a couple if hours ago. In a word, the pizza here is quite tasty...we sat on the park bench outside and got to watch the locals purchase their pizza takeout while we munched on ours. An amazing array of delightfully different topping combinations. The pizza is sold by the slice--and the staff does indeed cut off each slice using scissors. Off the beaten path, so you feel especially proud of yourself for finding the place, Pizzarium offers just about the most famous pizza in all of Rome--and the chef is now something of a national celebrity. However, in my opinion, it is not the best pizza in Rome--just very good pizza.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FaithfulinFrance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing pizza and choice”
Reviewed October 26, 2012 via mobile

The pizza here is amazing, the flavours available are great. There's a great atmosphere with friendly staff. There are various pizzas on display, you choose what you want and they cut off a piece the size you say with scissors, then it has a quick turn in the oven to reheat it and its chopped up and you collect it. We got one with cheese and potato on, one with sweet potato purée and prosciutto and one with cheese and tomato. All very delicious, they are thick pizza bases. Potato and cheese was our favourite, so yummy! You can buy alcoholic and non alcoholic drinks but there's nowhere to sit. There's a bench outside and people were eating off the tops of fridges, etc. inside. 5 stars if there were a few tables or chairs outside!

Helpful?
Thank Grace M
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
886 reviews
349 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 309 helpful votes
“Excellent artisinal pizza.”
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Pizzarium is in an out-of the way neighborhood near the Vatican museums. It was an excellent stop for lunch, as there were Roman-style pizzas in a nice variety, Focaccia bread and fried appetizers. When they run out of something that is it for the day. Be prepared to eat outdoors and standing up. Worth the trip if you're in the area and it's a nice day.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Anna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericksburg, VA
Level Contributor
97 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Not great.”
Reviewed October 19, 2012

The owner/chef was very nice and the beer was very cold and the pizza looked very appetizing and we were very hungry and tired after walking all over the place from the Vatican to find this restaurant. I had high hopes after my husband told me that Anthony Bourdain had featured the restaurant when he visited. And that is where the love affair ends. The pizza was very average in taste. It has a very doughy crust with not much flavor and the pizza in general was very bland. We were disappointed.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank chmido
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Pizzarium Bonci? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing