We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Splendid discovery”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Orsa Maggiore for Women Only
Ranked #72 of 1,089 Specialty Lodging in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Mumbai
Level Contributor
24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Splendid discovery”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2014

I stayed here for 2 nights and I must say it was the best decision made. I had some trouble getting here (struggling with directions). Trastevere is a great and cheap place for wine and dine. I could head out in the evenings for some wine, a pizza snack and ended up dishing out less than 3 euros.I felt safe in a women's only hostel. The lady at the reception planned out my entire trip at Rome, with an insider perspective that was vital for a short stay in a big city like Rome. For a change there were beds and not bunk beds, I loved tht. The breakfast spread was a little different, lots of varieties in flavoured yoghurts. I would strongly recommend this to only female traveller!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jayzee_Ind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    73
    19
    6
    4
See reviews for
15
3
102
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2013

Me and my friend stayed in this hostel for two nights las week and it was the best hostel experience! The hostel is clean and quiet and very safe. The surrounding area is also very safe. We had our doubts about the general safety of Rome for two girls traveling, but we were pleasantly suprised. The service at the hostel was also great. The receptionist helped us a lot with planning a route for our three days and they were very friendly when we asked them to print some papers. I would definitely recommend this hostel to women of all ages! We were very satisfied!

The location was also very nice. It is right next to the river which is beautiful and it is 10 minutes (max) walking from the St. Peter's square and Vatican city. It is also about 15-20min walk from the Colloseum. Definitely a great hostel!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anika B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2013

I could not desire more from this hostel! Located near the Vatican square and along the ROMANTIC TIBER RIVER, in a calm and peaceful area of the city, FAR FROM the usual TRAFFIC of Rome, you could just take your time and relax, planning your visits in the internal courtyard of this ancient building or in the breakfast area, provided with comfortable sofa,tv,books,etc.
The CLEANLINESS of the structure is IMPECCABLE,the coffee and the breakfast in general is healthy in pure Italian style,the spaces are wide and the view is amazing, with a very enriched garden.The price is really economic despite the central position and the services offered.
I do really suggest it!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anna a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2013

This place is located really close to the river and Trastevere. I found it close to EVERYPLACE I wanted to go.
I stayed in an 8 person dorm- the room was gigantic! It was really spacious and divided into two spaces so it really felt like a four person room.
Other people I was there with said that they didn't have hot water for a shower- it wasn't my experience but it might be worth trying to be earlier in the shower rather than later.
Breakfast was reasonable- good coffee with an espresso machine.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lambNy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bala, Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
123 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2013

A lovely relaxed hostel. Safe clean and friendly. Great breakfast included in very reasonable rates, all this and its in the wonderful Trastevere area of Rome. It is a women only hostel, and has a lovely restaurant attached, and a charming courtyard

Room Tip: I was in dorm room 202, a huge room in the old palace, no bunk beds, so felt a bit like boarding sch...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank serenagrimaldi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

Excellent value. Quiet and friendly but not boring! The rooms are super clean and although we thought we'd have to hire a towel they were free. the only let-down are the showers but it is a small price to pay...They also have hairdryers which you can borrow which is very handy for hand-luggage only traveling! The location is FAB Trastavere is a great place to hang out in the day and evenings - it is more like a small town than part of the city with beautiful buildings and charming streets. You can even eat and drink here for less than expected. The staff at the hostel are really helpful. It is super easy to find and you can walk everywhere - only 10 minutes to the Vatican. Would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dstevens84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, NC
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013

I had stayed at Orsa Maggiore during a trip to Rome 9 years ago and booked it again for a longer Rome stay last month. All was pretty much as it had been before with a few improvements - "reception desk" is now right at the entry, which enhances the interactions with staff and makes asking questions more spontaneous. The addition of refrigerators and cooking facilities is very convenient - a stash of prepared lettuce along with some bread and fruit made for convenient evening meals after a full day of sight-seeing.
While this is a hostel, there are options for a single room and the shared bathroom/shower facilities have plenty of privacy. Communal breakfast time gives the opportunity for sharing tips and for finding others with whom to trek off to museums or explore the city.
Great value and a good way to have an extended stay in Rome.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LizTh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Trastevere
Palazzo Velli Suites
Palazzo Velli Suites
#127 of 1,089 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
Trastevere
B&B Lost in Trastevere
B&B Lost in Trastevere
#628 of 3,759 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
Trastevere
B&B Ventisei Scalini a Trastevere
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Mosaic Hostel
Mosaic Hostel
#52 of 1,089 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
Aventine
Vecchia Roma Resort
Vecchia Roma Resort
#23 of 1,089 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
Esquilino
Freedom Traveller Hostel
Freedom Traveller Hostel
#145 of 1,089 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Orsa Maggiore for Women Only? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orsa Maggiore for Women Only

Property: Orsa Maggiore for Women Only
Address: Via San Francesco di Sales 1/a, 00165 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Trastevere
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #72 of 1,089 Specialty Lodging in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A women only Hostel in the center of Rome. Our Hostel is located inside the Internationa Women's House in a XVI century ex convent. We are in the famous Trastevere district: bars, restaurants and city nightlife are few blocks away, as well as the major sightseeings: St. Peter's Basilica, Vatican Museums, Campo dei Fiori, Piazza Navona ecc. We have some private rooms and some dorms all with wodden ceilings and antique "cotto" tiles. Our Hostel is an ideal place for solo travellers, and for all the people who like to relax after a day out. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, HostelWorld and HotelQuickly so you can book your Orsa Maggiore for Women Only reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orsa Maggiore For Women Only Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing