We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The food was good, but the service is hit and miss.”

Ambasciata d'Abruzzo
Ranked #672 of 12,361 Restaurants in Rome
Price range: $28 - $45
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Delivery, Private Dining, Reservations
Neighborhood: Parioli
Dover, Ohio
Level Contributor
209 reviews
134 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“The food was good, but the service is hit and miss.”
Reviewed July 11, 2014

We had good food here. We had a waiter who went out of his way to please us. We had another waiter who was rude, inattentive, and made me never want to go back. Someone else in our party also had a bad experience on another visit.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank carolc80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,016 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    419
    365
    150
    47
    35
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Carmel, California
Level Contributor
401 reviews
273 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Wow, a really pleasant surprise. A gem!!!”
Reviewed July 7, 2014 via mobile

A neighborhood restaurant in a pleasant area.

The service is great, and very friendly. The food is excellent, and plentiful. Salaumi plate is amazing. Pasta, fish, everything is special. Wine at reasonable prices too.

Helpful?
1 Thank rthau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
115 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Ok restaurant, nothing special though.”
Reviewed June 19, 2014

Went in without reservation. The place was fairly busy. Friendly waiter seated us near fridge, then gave us another table when we asked. The menu is quite extensive and so the wine list. The food was ok but not special. The spaghetti with clams were al dente, bit too salty and too much pepper for my taste. The wild boar stew was tasty, the meat however quite dry. The veal saltimbocca tender, bit too salty and almost drowned in a thick sauce. Main courses were luke warm and so were the side dishes, potatoes and veg. Furthermore, we noticed that the bread baskets were being recycled by waiter topping up returning baskets with few fresh slices. All in all not a bad meal for 80 euros for 2 with water and a bottle of wine but nothing memorable either.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 013757
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ambasciata-d-Abruzzo, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Ambasciata d'Abruzzo, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Dear Guests,
we are sorry for the expressed issues and are happy to invite you once more to taste again our cuisine and hospitality and how special we try to do every day in food and service.
Thank you for your review and best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A Neighborhood Gem”
Reviewed June 13, 2014

I visited this restaurant for the first time years ago with my family when I was in high school. A second time on a semester abroad back in 1984, and now with my husband and daughter. Each memory is a bit different...from not even looking at a menu and being brought massive amounts of food, to our most recent, where our meal ended with pictures of my daughter with the amazing waiters. The food, the ambiance (this time we sat outside on a perfect evening), and most importantly, the staff, are all just wonderful. We asked them what they recommended, and they didn't disappoint. An incredible antipasto, (enough for a table of 12!) was brought out, and our dinner of shared pasta and a selection of grilled meats & roasted potatoes were delicious! We had no room for dessert...but that didn't stop us from ordering two because they sounded (and were) so amazing! The waiters were so personable and fun and they helped make it a great evening. It's just a special, little neighborhood restaurant, that we'll always come back to whenever we're lucky enough to be in Rome!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Melissa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ambasciata-d-Abruzzo, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Ambasciata d'Abruzzo, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Dear Guest,
We thank you for your feedback and for your nice review.
We look forward to welcome you again in the near future! Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkland, Washington
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“My regional favorite”
Reviewed June 13, 2014 via mobile

American born but of Abruzzese origin and this place is the real deal. Outstanding staff and food just like my Nonna!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank OnceAGrappler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ambasciata d'Abruzzo also viewed

 

Been to Ambasciata d'Abruzzo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing