We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authentic roman restaurant and cuisine”

Ambasciata d'Abruzzo
Ranked #1,662 of 13,216 Restaurants in Rome
Price range: $43 - $49
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Delivery, Private Dining, Reservations
Neighborhood: Parioli
Reviewed September 1, 2013

This restaurant by far was the best that we visited during our trip. We were referred by our hotel which was close by. They picked us up by shuttle which then took 5 minutes. It was untouristy, filled with the locals. The food was amazing. Service was spectacular. Highly recommend.

Thank terrilouise73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,096)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

183 - 187 of 1,097 reviews

Reviewed August 11, 2013

Our family rented an apartment in Rome before and after a recent cruise, so along with some friends who were traveling with us, we had the opportunity to try a number of restaurants. They were mostly well-rated ones on TA in the Campo de Fiori area where we were staying. But we were anxious to return to Ambasciata d'Abruzzo near Villa Borghese. My wife and I had dined there 30 years ago, and we it was one of the most exciting, family-style Italian dining experiences we had ever had. We were concerned about whether it had been able to maintain its quality after all these years. Its rating on TA was nothing near the top rated restaurants we tried, and two of the four well-rated ones we tried failed to meet our expectations. Perhaps those others had been spoiled by their own success and were overrun by tourists due to their high ratings (all the diners spoke in English). They seemed to be able to get away with overcooked and under-flavored food.

Ambasciata d'Abruzzo was every bit as fun and delicious as we remembered it being. We had a party of six and decided to take a couple of taxis rather than their courtesy car. As we only found one staff member who could speak English, this clearly wasn't a restaurant catering to tourists - at least to English-speaking ones. The owner of one of the rental apartments we stayed in lives close by and said he dines here twice a month because it is so good.

30 years ago, they had only prix fixe menus. You would order either the meat or the fish menu, and it came with everything from mozzarella to pasta to entree to dessert. Now, they've gone a la carte, but you can reconstruct the extensive menu of old.

As with others on TA, we started with a basket selection of wonderful salamis. How fun it is to be given a large carving board and knife, and just slice off whatever you want! This was followed by fresh buffalo mozzarella, the largest sun-dried tomatoes I have ever seen, and sliced tomatoes with some sort of fried meatball-looking thing made out of rice, I believe.

All of the pasta is made in-house, so we wanted to try a variety. They had just gotten in a crate of huge mushrooms (which took two waiters to bring out to show us - would they even think about doing that in the States?). They looked so good that we asked for two orders of pasta with mushroom sauce, one with marinara sauce, one with clams, one carbonara, and one ravioli. The mushroom and clam sauces were the best, but all were really good.

For the main courses, we had fantastic grilled lamb chops, slices of perfectly cooked beef steak in a sauce, veal scallopini, and eggplant parmigiana. We enjoyed two bottles of chianti - a classico and a riserva.

As we were quite full, but still wanted to test the desserts, we ordered a couple to share. Our waiter then brought us three large bottles of after-dinner liquors on the house to enjoy - a very tasty Amaro d'Abruzzo Jannamico, a house-made limoncello (best I've ever had), and a nocino walnut liquor.

As they did 30 years ago, the waiter gave us a pile of postcards (with caricatures of the staff which he autographed at our request), business cards and souvenir matchbooks.

On the way out, we ran into the owner and took some photos with him. Though he couldn't speak English, my son had a translation program on his smartphone and used that to tell him we absolutely loved his restaurant 30 years ago and made a special effort to revisit this time. He was delighted and asked us to wait not another 30 years, but to make sure we return next year! All in all, we had a wonderful feast over the course of perhaps three hours. The staff really made us feel like family.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank castriker888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Very traditional local restaurant in quiet area north of Borghese (you'll probably need a taxi). Extensive menu, with a wide variety of pasta, meats and fish. A good find. Very good value.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank sjpoyser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Excellent dining experience on our last night in Rome. We booked online before we travelled and took advantage of the free courtesy van. The restaurant is in a residential area and we were on the small terrace on a balmy evening. We shared the house starters which other reviewers recommended and were not disappointed. Great food in big quantities. The kids had pasta which they loved (spaghetti carbonara was very rich and creamy) and my husband and I had a main course each which was very good as well. On a Monday night the restaurant was quite busy and the majority of the tables was booked by Italians who all had the house starter! Our driver mario was ready to take us back to our hotel when we were done. First class service and we would definitely go back.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Ine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2013

Great food, great wine, great service. Was recommended by the hotel because the restaurant has a shuttle that will pick you up and they had seating for our group of 10, everyone loved it.

Thank Paul N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ambasciata d'Abruzzo also viewed

 
Rome, Lazio
 

Been to Ambasciata d'Abruzzo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing