We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Evening”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of AL Pompiere

AL Pompiere
Ranked #1,075 of 12,135 Restaurants in Rome
Price range: $25 - $100
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Evening”
Reviewed February 23, 2014

Our visit was all positive. It is upstairs so no view from side street entrance. However a big crowd went in and we followed thinking they must know best. They did. Mostly locals I think, great relaxed atmosphere and interesting traditional decor. We tourists were very well attended to and the food and house wine excellent.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SaltandPepper90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

714 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    202
    286
    145
    57
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Osmate, Italy
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fabulous food and service!!”
Reviewed January 26, 2014

We absolutely LOVE this restaurant! The roman artichokes are amazing, as are the zucchini flowers stuffed with mozzarella cheese. The atmosphere is quaint and the service is good. We would highly recommend it.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank arwenie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madliena, Malta
Level Contributor
142 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Beatrice Cenci owned this building a few hundred years ago”
Reviewed January 2, 2014

I know you go to a restaurant to enjoy the food but I was curious to visit Al Popiero in the Ghetto area. This house belonged to the Cenci family in the 1600s. Beatrice was beheaded for killing her father who abused her. Although public sympathy abounded for Beatrice, the pope had her beheaded some say so that the church could seize the family fortune. Back to the restaurant the service was good we were service by a very amiable waiter who may have been there in the Cenci days, the food was nothing special. It was recommended by the author David Hewson who frequented Pompiere when he was was writing his book The Fallen Angel based in the centre of Rome.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank IanDeCesare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Tourist trap! mediocre food, terrible service.”
Reviewed December 26, 2013

We were seated in the back room, where they apparently seat the tourists. Food was ok, nothing more and took forever to be served. One of the plates was the roasted pork with potatoes, but when it finally arrived at the table it came without the potatoes, with no apology. When we asked for the potatoes it took the waiter another 10 minutes to come back to say they are out of potatoes and offered a small plate with potato chips from a bag!
The worst part of the meal was getting the bill which was full of mistakes. When we informed the waiter he came back with a "corrected" bill, which was still incorrect. They charged 12 Euros for a basket of 6 slices of bread when we did not order the bread...
The table next to us (tourists) also had issues with their bill, so check it well if you do go there....

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank travelingDB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Level Contributor
48 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“loved the experience of eating in the Ghetto and food was good too”
Reviewed December 12, 2013

Constant Companion and I had the fried artichokes as an antipasto which turned out to be a bit disappointing but not because of the way they were cooked: It just turns out that this Roman delicacy is just not as exciting as I had been led to believe.

I ordered the pasta with carbonara sauce: It was excellent. Don't remember what Constant Companion got but I think he liked it.

Our waiter was extremely cute.

I would go back in a heart-beat.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SlippyGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed AL Pompiere also viewed

 

Been to AL Pompiere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing