We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice cafe but beware”
Review of Caffe Trastevere

Caffe Trastevere
Ranked #5,568 of 14,938 Restaurants in Rome
Neighborhood: Trastevere
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Trastevere
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Other than the sitting area outside this cafe there is nothing really special about it. FYI the prices you see inside are not the same if you sit outside. We got charged an extra €6 for eating outside. It would have been nice if someone told us about that. I understand there is usually a cover charge but it was not indicated on the bill. Prices were only increased. The sandwiches were salty in my opinion

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank titibarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (27)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 27 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Great local cafe in Trastevere; an area which can be a bit pleased with itself foodwise with prices to match. It's on the main drag, always busy and noisy with locals and a perfect place for breakfast, lunch, and an early evening drink (we did all three one day). Breakfast was coffee and pastries, lunch was a selection of different sandwiches with beer, all at good prices, freshly prepared, and served quickly.

We loved the ongoing chat with the various characters behind the bar, the old-fashioned layout (you order then pay at a separate till where you can also get bus / metro tickets etc.) and cheery banter with everyone. We even got a hot supper tip from the manager for some excellent pizza up the road (it turned out to be her son.)

Date of visit: September 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank W6travellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2019

We were staying at an AirBNB in Trastevere and were walking around the neighborhood one morning and found this place. We ordered an Americano and a cappuccino along with 2 fruit filled pastries. The pastries were fine, maybe a little on the dry side, but the coffees were fantastic!

Date of visit: May 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Marcus L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2018

We grabbed take-away breakfast twice from here during our week in Rome. On the sign outside, there is only 1 vegan item referenced (which we ordered the first time). But when we came back, the owner said he said several vegan items (including donuts!), and so we got a couple of different items. We also ended up ordering a tray of non-vegan items (croissants, etc.), and everything was delicious. The place is fairly small inside - and crowded at breakfast time, with the Italians standing at the counter ordering their cappuccinos and breakfast. But the owner was very nice and helpful and spoke good English.

Date of visit: November 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 907blaked
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2018 via mobile

The prices were good, the staff were friendly and there were a few vegan options, which the staff were able to point out easily. If I am in the area again I will definitely return.

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank alisonnra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Caffe Trastevere also viewed

 

Been to Caffe Trastevere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing