We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Pulitzer Roma
Ranked #116 of 1,256 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Kent
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“lovely hotel”
Reviewed November 28, 2013

I recently visited this hotel with my husband. It was a surprise 60th birthday present for him from our two daughters. They booked through Secret Escapes and luckily it turned out to be a little gem of a hotel. There have been some negative comments on this site about the area being a bit dodgy due to a few prostitutes hanging around along the road, but the girls never made us feel threatened in any way. The area is mainly residential and the road is busy so we didn't feel at all worried about walking along it often quite late at night. The hotel is brightly lit, with modern high standard furnishings and absolutely spotless. The reception staff are all very friendly and helpful. The bar area has a central bar and comfortable white leather sofas. The service was always efficient and drinks were served up with a dish of complimentary nuts. Breakfast is excellent so much choice, they have literally thought of everything. You are able to just wander in and sit where you like. Staff were again all friendly.
Our room was on the fourth floor and at the front of the hotel, but the noise from the road didn't disturb us at all, if you are sensitive to road noise it would be best to ask for a rear facing room.
The room was a superior one with a balcony and smallish, but it was decorated to a very high standard with a really comfortable bed but after walking around all day maybe I was just tired!
We did have some issues with the shower head which wasn't secured properly the water came out with such force it fell off and flooded the bathroom! We had the problem sorted promptly.
The basin is lovely to look at but not very practical, the plug stays up so you have to leave the water running. We also had a problem with the safe, when we tried to open it, it wouldn't. We reported it to reception and literally two minutes later they had sent some one to sort it out for us. Toilet tissue was renewed every day, even when there was plenty left. Towels also changed daily.
The hotel is situated within a five minute walk of Marconi Metro station, we bought an inexpensive three day pass and travelled all over the city with it, The trains actually run on time here about every three minutes! Several people have commented that there is nowhere to eat locally but we found two great places. I can't remember the name of one but if you come out of the hotel, turn right and are prepared for a fifteen minute walk there is a little trattoria which we didn't get to until 11pm due to late flight, we were warmly greeted and had a great little pasta and plenty of wine. The place was buzzing with local people all very friendly. The other place we found was across the road from the hotel and first left, don't be put off by the fact that this road is a slip road to the motorway and looks like there is nothing on it if you have faith and keep going, on the left hand side is a very big restaurant built on the site of a monastery which is called (something like) ' Il Convento'. Again it was full of locals with some very large family gatherings on huge tables, they seemed quite amazed that two tourists had actually found it. Service is very friendly served by waiters in monks outfits! Has a good choice on menu, the pizzas were gorgeous with a very thin crispy base, wine good too. Good value for money. So you can find places to eat if you look hard enough!

Room Tip: Rooms at the back quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank SueFKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,230 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    516
    547
    132
    22
    13
See reviews for
118
592
50
278
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Worcestershire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2013

Stayed for 4 nights here in our first visit to Rome. Their was a warm welcome at Reception on arrival and took the time to ask us questions and offered to help at any point. The Superior room was top notch with a private balcony and in terms of the location it is about 2-300m from Marconi Metro so easy walking distance, with a bus stop just outside and off-road parking in the street seemed easy enough as we hired a car for 2 days. About 20 minutes to the Airport by car and 10 minutes into the Centre of Rome - so ideal!
Staff were really pleasant and the bar area was really well furnished and comfortable with the food excellent (inc. Breakfast with lots of choice) Would recommend this hotel and wouldn't hesitate to visit again.

Room Tip: The superior balcony suites were really top notch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marvellous01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2013

We have just stated for 6 nights at this boutique style hotel. The decor is nice, but the rooms are very small - however, I expected this in Rome at any hotel. It is located a very short distance from Marconi metro station which is highly convenient but at night there are a couple of prostitutes on the side of the road which make the area feel like a red light district - not a place for family. The breakfast is tasty with something for everyone but I didn't really bother with the cooked element. We had an issue with the temperature of the room in our first few days being hot but were told that due to it now being autumn that the air conditioning was now centralised so we were unable to cool our room down without opening the balcony door - which left some smelly air into the room from outside. We also found that the hotel was quite stingy in terms of replenishing items for the bathroom such as shampoos, and we had to ask for extra loo roll a few times as it was quite thin and ran out. The gym was small but did the job for us. Front desk staff didn't know much about tourist sites and even gave us incorrect information on one occasion so they need some training. The hotel is more suited to business travellers. We had dinner once in the bar which was of a high standard.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jabsie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed November 20, 2013

For me the hotel was 50/50 good and bad. I shall get the bad over with and then finish on a good note. The location of the hotel is grotty to say the least. In the short walk to the metro station I passed 6 (no exaggeration) prostitutes wearing barely nothing, and I was surprised at how many cars were actually stopping by them, on one occasion one of the prostitutes was putting her clothes back on whilst sitting on the curb. You could also see men sitting in the shadows watching the women, it was extremely unnerving and intimidating. Definitely not a place for families! The street is also littered with graffiti and vandalized run down buildings. I did not feel very safe walking about the area, so I would not recommend this hotel for the elderly or families with young children. Many of the rooms have balconies, however due to the VERY busy main road, you would never want to have the balcony doors open as it is so loud, roaring traffic and sirens at all hours! The staff at the hotel were very unfriendly, I would not go as far as to call them rude, but they were definitely not polite. I asked for a latte at the bar and was greeted by and very loud sigh and rolled eyes as I was told to wait until she had finished putting glasses away. I stayed in a superior room, the size and decor was ok, I would not have called it superior myself, but I couldn't complain. It was clean enough, still dusty but nothing too bad. The bathroom extractor fan was broken though, which was slightly annoying. Finally, watch out for ROOM TAX! It was not mentioned at any point in my booking, or during check in, but as we checked out we were told that there was a charge of 3 euros per person per night for room tax. Luckily there was only two of us for two nights, but if a family of four stayed for a week, that would be a large additional cost! However, on a good note, the breakfast was lovely. Plenty of choice, both hot and cold food. They never let anything run out, and it went on until 10.30/11 which is great for when you want a lie in! On a completely unrelated note, a warning for those planning on going to the city center, please be careful of thieves and beggars! The beggars and street sales people were extremely aggressive and would not take no for an answer! In the metro station they push you out of the way whilst using the self service ticket machines and do it for you, then demand you give them money, going as far as to grab the change themselves. The local police did not seem to do anything about this situation even though it was extremely clear they were targeting English tourists, particularly women. Stay safe and enjoy your trip :)

Room Tip: Request rooms on the opposite side of the building away from the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank comet177
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pulitzer_Staff, Direttore at Hotel Pulitzer Roma, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are always concerned with our Guests’ comfort satisfaction therefore we feel that it is extremely important to clarify a couple of points you have mentioned so that our future clients will be able to have a clearer overview.

Pulitzer Hotel is located in a residential district and is not classified as a dangerous area, this is demonstrated by the fact that one of the famous and biggest church in Rome – Saint Paul’s Basilica is just at 5 min away from our Hotel.

We consider Tripadvisor as one of the best reviews tool that should offer a complete and fair description of the services and the qualities that an hotel offer, therefore we accept your critics about the hotel area, but we consider that these should be made to the administrative authorities on charge.

Hopping to have the opportunity to have you as our guest in the future we sent you our best wishes,

Sincerely,
Domenico Ieva
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annecy, Rhone-Alpes, France
1 review
Reviewed November 20, 2013

Nice hotel, all people who work in this place are friendly, smily, and helpfull.
the bedroom was clean, big and beautiful...
one evening we ate at the restaurant and dishes were very good.
You can stop at MARCONI underground station line B, the hotel is 200m far.
we will return in this place if we have the occasion.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Flo L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
118 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2013

We chose this hotel knowing it's south of Rome city center but an easy hop on the metro to go anywhere. We arrived in Rome by train so that it's easy to switch to the metro to Marconi (only downside is the elevator did not work and there's no escalator from the train platform). Yes the room was very small (we probably should have opted to pay a little bit more for more footage) but it's clean and quiet, and the pleasant surprise was a nice balcony with a good view of sunrise. The bathroom was quite spacious compare to the room itself. The only minus is the silly sink. It might be somebody's idea of a modern design but it's totally dysfunctional. Water splashed all over the floor whenever we used the sink, and there's no counter space to speak of even though the sink was actually very wide. There's no stop so we had to let the water run whenever we used it. Really enjoyed the breakfast buffet which was bountiful and tasty @ 8 Euros prebooked. Reception desk was friendly and helpful. Sara was great and helpful with neighborhood info, etc. Another gal helped us called the Borghese Gallery for a reservation. Be warned that there's hardly any place to eat around the hotel and the nearby bar and other businesses closed on Sunday and holidays. We went back to the city center each evening for our dinners which worked out as we wanted to see the city at night anyway. We also figured out that we did not have to go back to Termini to catch the airport bus or train to FCO. We went to Pyramide metro stop and switched to the regional FR1 train (8 Euros) to FCO. Took less time and did not have to fight the crowd at Termini.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FunTrips101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 9, 2013

It all started for us by checking in at the reception. Everyone was friendly and service minded. Every question we asked the people working there were kind and helpfull, The rooms were very clean and very beautiful. The bed (double bed/single room) was very nice. Every night I slept I woke up fresh and not broken when you do when sleeping on a cheap matras. We stayed there from Thursday till Sunday. We had breakfast in the hotel and then we went to a different hotel for a conference. I will not mention the name but the Pullitzer was/felt better quality for a conference. Overall the interior was very clean and beautiful. Metro is close and the bus 170 is just stopping in front of the hotel.
When we arrived at the airport our luggage didn't arrive at the same time. When arriving at the hotel the receptionist helped us calling and even helped the next day getting through at the Aliatia service desk via phone. That was very very pleasant if you don't understand Italian. Would book again if going to Italy.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ripper2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Relais 6
#30 of 1,256 in Rome
1,861 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Giuliana
Hotel Giuliana
#132 of 1,256 in Rome
1,266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Re di Roma
#163 of 1,256 in Rome
1,290 reviews
Ostiense
Caravel Hotel
Caravel Hotel
#130 of 1,256 in Rome
900 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Canada, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Pulitzer Roma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pulitzer Roma

Property: Hotel Pulitzer Roma
Address: Viale Guglielmo Marconi, 905, 00146 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#53 Business Hotel in Rome
#62 Best Value Hotel in Rome
#70 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#142 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#215 Family Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Pulitzer Roma 4*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Pulitzer has 83 double rooms including 1 junior suite. The style is chic & glamour due to the use of luxury materials and finishes, starting from the flooring in Wenge coloured wood that matches the colour of the fabrics and furnishings ranging from white to black, and taking in shades of brown to create a warm, welcoming and cozy atmosphere. The bathrooms of the rooms are a modern interpretation of the 1920s New York style using small ceramic tiles, in this case in black, which go well with the Wenge wood flooring and the contemporary style sanitary fixtures. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, ACCOR, Travelocity, Orbitz, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Hotel.de, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Pulitzer Roma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pulitzer Roma Hotel
Pulitzer Roma Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing