We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place, superfriendly staff, high quality food”
Review of Babette

Babette
Ranked #219 of 12,523 Restaurants in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $34 - $135
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Buffet, Reservations
Neighborhood: Campo Marzio
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great place, superfriendly staff, high quality food”
Reviewed January 9, 2013

We ended up here for dinner early January as Babette was recommended by one of our travel guides.
It was spot on, as Babette met our expectations overall. The lady who served our table was extremely friendly and special requests for our children (the menu did not mention any suggestions for children) were instantly met. Quality of the food was great, as was their choice of wines. It is indeed located in the more posh neighbourhood of Rome, but the ambiance of the restaurant is informal.Would come back here. Apparently they are also renowned for their lunch buffet....

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nmeert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,543 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    859
    498
    133
    39
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Don't miss this restaurant”
Reviewed January 2, 2013

This restaurant is located in the very nice Via Margutta (close to Piazza di Spagna and Piazza del Popolo).
the staff is professional, kind, young, polite and HONEST.
We choose two dishes that didn't match together...the cheff came to our table to suggest something different and told us to get a half portion of another dish...because it was to much.
If you go during the week for lunch you can even have a buffet for a small price.
BOOK BEFORE GOING THERE BECAUSE IS ALWAYS FULL

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Giovanni_1227
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Must Visit!”
Reviewed December 31, 2012

My wife and I absolutely loved Babette! A really quaint romantic restaurant tucked away on a side street not far from the Spanish Steps. Really friendly service and awesome food, including an amazing Veal Milanese! Everything at this restaurant was perfect. I will definitely be back next time I'm in Roma!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TravelsWithPassion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carefreeLondon
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very special restaurant indeed!”
Reviewed December 31, 2012

You must go to Babette...food is fabulous,great wine list,service impeccable and the overall
ambience very special.Went there twice last week with my Italian lover and could not speak more highly of the place...wherever you may be in Rome get along there and enjoy an exceptional menu of both unusual dishes and old favourites (the veal fillet,me Sunday,lover
Friday,was sublime).Cannot wait to return at Easter! Do not forget to book,Babette was
banged out both days with several people politely turned away at the door.This is only my
second ever review (last one Cap Maison,St. Lucia) so take the hint.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank kevincannoncan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great place for a romantic night”
Reviewed December 12, 2012

Babette made my trip to Italy unforgettable. Atmosphere is just incredible, you can actually feel Italian spirit all around you. We were welcomed by a friendly Italian waiter, who was fluent in English and had a lovely accent. He helped us to decide on the food and had good knowledge of wines.Food was absolutely amazing, way different from what you can get in the UK. Loved this place and will definitely be back. Recommend it to everyone!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jadvisor186534
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Babette also viewed

 

Been to Babette? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing