We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Probably the best carbonara I ever tasted”
Review of Da Oio a Casa Mia

Da Oio a Casa Mia
Ranked #1,388 of 12,523 Restaurants in Rome
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Neighborhood: Testaccio
Israel
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Probably the best carbonara I ever tasted”
Reviewed November 5, 2011

Great Roman cuisine. Very informal service, even a bit rough one can say, but this is certainly a part of the charm. The typical Roman dishes they serve - carbonara, amatriciana, cacio e pepe makes you feel that every dish tells a story, and above all that a carbonara served in Rome will always have it's unique taste

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Doddy08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

921 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    207
    382
    182
    93
    57
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Another Average over priced restaurant in Rome”
Reviewed February 7, 2011

We went to da Oio a Casa mia saturday 05-02-2011 with a group of 14 people including children , the service was good . the pasta was good but the meat dishes were average , another average over priced restaurant in Rome ! if you are in the area try it but do not go out of your way to go as you can find 100's of restaurants like this in Rome.

  • Visited February 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank agataagatino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Quaint, fun place with excellent food and service”
Reviewed January 29, 2011

I recently went to Rome for work and the hotel receptionist recommended this place highly. I was not disappointed - the food was absolutely fantastic, if only a tiny bit on the expensive side for Rome. The ambience is noisy, bustling and lively - definitely not a romantic place, but I was travelling alone so it was perfect for me. There are quite a few items on the menu featuring tripe, liver, and other random cow parts - since it's located in Testaccio, traditionally the site of many butcher shops. I steered clear (no pun intended) and went with the rigatoni alla carbonara, which were fantastic. The wait staff was super friendly and welcoming. Next time in Rome I'll definitely go back.

  • Visited January 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank compaygato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Wonderful Roman food”
Reviewed November 7, 2010

We happened upon the restaurant by chance, looking for a lunch place in the area. The restaurant was almost full; we were the only tourists, so a "tourist trap" it defintiely was not. The food was "down home" delicious, simple, unpretentiously wonderful. The price was no different than other places we enjoyed in Rome. We left happy and congratulated the entire staff.

Helpful?
Thank Kotler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Not good despite being in the guides”
Reviewed May 10, 2010

Over-priced, under-whelming food, badly organised front of house. This might have been good once but now it is a real tourist trap. Possibly one of the worst meals I've had in a Roman tratt.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Copperfield27Rome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Da Oio a Casa Mia also viewed

 

Been to Da Oio a Casa Mia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing