We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth every one of it's 3 stars”
Review of La Pergola

La Pergola
Ranked #57 of 12,362 Restaurants in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $70 - $600
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: One of the best restaurants in Rome, if not in Italy, La Pergola is much more than just a famous menu. Its three-Michelin stars - the only Rome restaurant to be accorded such an honour - attest to the excellence of its cuisine. A wine cellar with over 53,000 bottles, a water menu with 29 choices, olive oils and vintage balsamic vinegars from the best producers in Italy, and the finest ingredients to be sourced in the Mediterranean -- all attest to the pursuit of culinary excellence. In the last decade the major Italian gastronomic guides such as L'Espresso, Gambero Rosso, Bibenda have consistently voted La Pergola the "Best Restaurant of Rome" and one of the best in Italy. Since November 2005 the Michelin Guide has honoured La Pergola with 3 stars and 5 forks, symbol of exceptional cuisine and "worth a special journey". Furthermore, the American Academy of Hospitality Sciences has awarded La Pergola with the coveted "Five Star Diamond Award!" Each year the American Academy of Hospitality Sciences, renowned worldwide, bestows its coveted International STAR DIAMOND AWARD exclusively on five star establishments that are deemed to be of pinnacle quality by its esteemed Board of Trustees. The award is the most prestigious emblem of achievement and true quality: an award many strive for, but few obtain.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Worth every one of it's 3 stars”
Reviewed March 21, 2014

From start to finish,this dining experience was stunning. We had the taster menu and every course was a delight. Look out for the water menu (about an inch thick!) the wine tomes (the Italian wines alone stretch to another inch) and the choice of salt. What can I say, I had the black Hawaiian Volcanic salt-ace. Don't be put off by the wine, grab the sommelier and ask for his help. We paired wine with our courses and it was lovely.
Highlight for me was when Heinz Beck came over and chatted with us at the end of service. He was genuinely pleased that we'd chosen his restaurant-what a guy!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Nadine T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,822 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,393
    258
    102
    44
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Durham, North Carolina
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Pamper yourself”
Reviewed March 19, 2014

Great food and service. Very expensive! Most I've ever paid for a meal but, I looked at the menu on line and was prepared.Don't order desert they will bring you a silver box with drawers full of treats.Everything is perfectly made, perfectly pretty and perfectly tasty. We had a shared appetizer of pate with apple jelly that was amazing! No greasy pate fat left on your tongue, just kind of sweet and almost pastrylike.I ate the fagotelli and it was good.And the kicker.. We didn't go away hungry.Yes ,small portions as expected for 3 michelins but, plenty and yummy in a simple kind of way. I think that's chef Beck's secret. He really knows how to blend and match his flavors.When in Rome do this if you can afford it! Oh and the view of Roma is Fabulous!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank LETSGOGB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
88 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Incredible!”
Reviewed March 14, 2014

This was my first experience of a three star restaurant and my goodness! It was great!
We were in the staying in the Cavalieri and so we were lucky enough to get a reservation on short notice.
We had the full tasting menu and from start to finish it was fantastic. I would say the only negative was that there was just too much food. There were some things, like the ice cream cones at the end, which were just unecessary and really could have been missed out. I hate leaving food, but I was unable to finish the everything in the little chest of drawers of biscuits and other yummy things, my boyfriend couldn't eat his cheese plate and by the time the ice cream cones came round we were both laughing at the volume of food.
The absolute highlight was the pasta course. I don't know if they also offer this on the a la carte menu but I could eat this pasta for every meal for the rest of my life; you need to try this, it will blow your mind!
There were also interesting presenations such as the dry ice around one of the earlier courses. Wonderful!
The service was fantastic, and the sommelier was really nice and actually suggested a 50 Euro botle of wine which ended up being exactly our taste. Either way, I was quite impressed at the suggestion as normally in a restaurant such as this you will be automatically recommended something far more expensive.

The view from the restaurant is beautiful, as is the restaurant itself.

This is probably the best meal I have ever had. Evrything was perfect (just sometimes excessive).

If you get the chance, eat here!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ilovepeas111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston Spa
Level Contributor
134 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“All Round Excellence”
Reviewed March 9, 2014

An unforgettable experience. We chose to have four courses rather than the gourmet menu and the standards were exceptional. The bread with tasting olive oil and sea salts was as good as any bread that I have tasted ( and I win prizes for my bread!). All the courses were flawless, both for presentation and flavour. The petit fours were imaginatively presented and created. The wine lists were too large to absorb in one sitting but were amazingly comprehensive. The sommelier suggested a cheaper wine than the one I selected and he was right. All the waiters were very friendly and attentive. The view over towards St Peter's Basilica was breathtaking. Very expensive but worth it and it made my wife's birthday very special. Hopefully we can find an excuse to return!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank raymarks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
619 reviews
209 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 477 helpful votes
“Flawless food”
Reviewed March 1, 2014

Flawless food, as can be expected, at Rome's only three Michelin star restaurant. The Amberjack marinated in yuzu and lemongrass on guacamole with soya macaroon was a particularly interesting play in taste and texture. The meats were all excellent, of the highest quality. The staff were attentive, and we appreciated that we were allowed to share a cheese course as well as the "Grand Dessert," which allowed us to sample more wonderful tastes. This is an old-school experience, particularly the decor and service, while the food is certainly sophisticated and creative.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank SpanishStepsApt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Pergola also viewed

 

Been to La Pergola? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing