We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place”
Review of Merulana Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Merulana Inn
Ranked #567 of 1,267 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 2, 2014

Five excellent ensuite modern rooms with fridges occupy the 3rd floor of the building. There is a lift. The staff are so friendly and helpful. There are two of them who work alternate days and they really were wonderful. Place is easy to find. Walk from north end of Via Merulana and it's on the left shortly before the first turning on the left. There's a small "Merulana Inn Residence" sign next to the large wooden doors. Good location for Termini station, Colliseum and some great restaurants (Trattoria Monti, Tempio de Mecenate and a great ice cream parlour near the junction of Via Principe Eugenio and Via Nino Bixio.

Room Tip: Three room face main road and two face the courtyard. I suppose the courtyard is quieter.
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ClaretsFan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (225)
There are newer reviews for Merulana Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

36 - 42 of 225 reviews

Reviewed May 11, 2014

Very cute, nice, clean hotel. Good breakfast-includes scrambled eggs! Enough food to get you going. Wonderful staff-very friendly (make sure you let them know what time you will be arriving). There is not a large sign out front-can be difficult to find. We took a cab from the airport and the driver was able to find it based on the address. There is a small lift for the bags but otherwise lots of stairs. A bit noisy if you leave the window open from the street below.Very easy to get to train station and many sites throughout the city. Would stay there again!

Room Tip: Room with balcony was lovely
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kalli B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2014

We got a good deal on the Merulana Inn and had never been to Rome before. We emailed before we arrived to make sure that someone would be there to meet us. The directions on the website were spot on and we found the Merulana in easily. There to meet us was Roberta - a very friendly and welcoming lady. She doesn't speak much English and we only knew basic Italian but still we were shown how to use everything in the room and given instructions in English. She also mentioned that Judy spoke English and would be there in the morning. The room was quite small but perfect for our needs - clean and nicely decorated with a tv and kettle etc. Breakfast between 8 and 10 was lovely with plenty of choice. We wished we could have stayed longer but just had 2 nights.
All in all, great location, great price and lovely staff.
Rich and Liz.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Richard T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2014

Excellent choice whether you're travelling for business or leisure. Judy, who is a receptionist among other things she does there, is lovely and super-friendly. She even made me scrambled eggs when I was a bit late for breakfast one morning!

There is no receptionist on duty in the evening hours - you use your key card to open the front door (if it's locked) and the door to the guest house on the 3rd floor. It also means if you have visitors no one will interrogate them like they do in other small hotels in Rome. For example, in the hotel next door where my mother was staying I had to explain myself to a receptionist (different receptionist every time) whenever I wanted to go up to her room.

You can also use the computer on Judy's desk after hours to access the Internet. That is in addition to a good WiFi connection in the hotel.

Room Tip: Other reviewers on here have complained about the noise from the street in the morning but it didn...
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2013

I visited Rome in October for three nights and booked to stay at the Merulana Inn after much research. As explained by many reviewers, this place is a large flat converted into rooms providing a service which perfectly suited my needs ie. the comfort of a modern hotel with the personal touch of a B&B via staff who will happily help you but are not on site at all time. So yes, you might walk past it the first time because you won't see a big sign by the door and yes, it means you need to provide an estimated time of arrival to ensure someone is there to open the door for you and give you your room key (someone called me the day prior to my arrival to confirm my estimated time of arrival and to give me a number to call if delayed) and yes, you do need to keep them updated if your time of arrival changes (especially late at night) as someone has to stay until you check in. Our flight had a three hour delay and it was past midnight when Judy welcomed us with a smile.

The rooms are modern, very clean and comfortable. The breakfast is basic but does the trick especially in a city with delicious coffee and treats at every street corner. Judy and Roberta are on site during the day happily answering questions and providing recommendations. They were so friendly they made our stay in Rome that bit more special so a big thank you to both of them.

The location is brilliant, close enough from termini that you can be walk there in ten minutes but far enough that the neighbourhood isn't dodgy and grotty. You can walk to all the main sites and are just a few stops away from the Vatican.

What more could you wish for? All in all, very happy and would highly recommend to anyone with a bit of flexibility.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thihoang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2013

Very happy with our stay at the Merulana Inn this October! Great location within walking distance of many attractions and very close to the Termini station. The rooms were both spotlessly clean on arrival and cleaned and replenished (inc. fresh towels) each day while we were out. Although we were an hour later then expected for arrival we were met by Roberta who was extremely friendly and helpful! Despite her limited English she explained everything we needed to know and made us feel very welcome! Would definitely stay here again if any of us get the chance to return to Rome again!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kt_sutton88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2013

We booked this place through Expedia. We knew that it wasn't a full service hotel so followed the instructions to inform the Merulana Inn of our arrival time so that someone could be there (particularly important for us as we were arriving at around midnight). We tried emailing and calling but got no response from the email and the phone number seemed unobtainable. We ended up calling Expedia and asking them to try to get a message to the Inn. We never received a confirmation so were a little worried when we arrived. We rang the bell several times and got no response, then we tried ringing the phone number on the door and still no response. We had just started talking about what to do next and the door was activated - what a relief! Once inside we were given a warm welcome by Roberta. She spoke very little english but tried her best to explain everything. The room was clean and nicely decorated, but lacked space in some areas. The bathroom was spacious and clean. The bed was comfortable and we had a decent nights sleep although we did hear some traffic noise in the morning. Breakfast was good, with very nice juice and coffee and a small selection of things including sliced bread, egg, cold meat, cheese and cake to set us up for the day. A small niggle was that the toaster took ages, which was a nuisance when more than one person wanted toast. We were very pleased with the location of the hotel which was just 10 minutes from Termini and close to the Forum and Colloseum, and easy access to so many other sights. The Inn was on the 3rd floor of a building and there was a tiny, quirky lift. Roberta and her english-speaking colleague were friendly and helpful but not always there, which was fine for us but maybe not for everyone. We stayed for 4 nights and overall we enjoyed our stay and thought it was good value for the location.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the main road if traffic noise troubles you.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SCSLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Doria
Hotel Doria
#328 of 1,267 in Rome
420 reviews
Esquilino
Auditorium di Mecenate
Auditorium di Mecenate
#404 of 1,267 in Rome
554 reviews
Esquilino
WRH Suites
WRH Suites
#742 of 1,267 in Rome
263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Monti
Amalfi Hotel
Amalfi Hotel
#96 of 1,267 in Rome
938 reviews
Monti
Hotel Verona
Hotel Verona
#263 of 1,267 in Rome
647 reviews
Monti
Antico Palazzo Rospigliosi
Antico Palazzo Rospigliosi
#688 of 1,267 in Rome
446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Merulana Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Merulana Inn

Address: Via Merulana 19, 00185 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
#84 Best Value Hotel in Rome
#178 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#294 Family Hotel in Rome
Price Range: $86 - $136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Merulana Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Merulana Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Merulana Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing