We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Rome Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Merulana Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Merulana Inn
Ranked #489 of 1,291 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Irvine, California
Level Contributor
150 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 198 helpful votes
“Wonderful Rome Hotel”
Reviewed September 24, 2011

We spent the first three nights of our Italy vacation at Rome's Merulana Inn and loved it! This hotel was perfect for us, and a great introduction to Italian hospitality. Judy and the team here were wonderful. Merulana Inn is actually a bed and breakfast, located on the third floor of a residential apartment building. Like most of the places we stayed at, this Inn is discreetly located. No big signs or flashy neon lighting up the street with the name. Just a large double door (like most buildings) with a very small sign posted above a door buzzer with the name of the inn.

Our room was beautiful, with a very comfortable bed, and loaded with updated features including a refrigerator, air conditioner and remote-controlled door shutters that roll down to cover the terrace doors at night. Yes, we had a small terrace outside our room. Our large bathroom was equally impressive. It featured modern equipment including a bathtub with a shower, new toilet and even a bidet. The bathroom also had a door that led to the terrace, with a manual shutter/cover.

A delightful breakfast of Italian meats, cheeses, breads and croissants was served in the dining area each morning of our stay. The staff also prepared coffee and scrambled eggs with cheese and ham as well. Another great feature here was the free wireless internet service, which was very dependable. A nice modern touch was a small key card holder inside the room where you place one of your key cards, to activate the electricity in your room. This is a great way for the owners to control energy use, as you take your card with you when you leave the room for the day, and the electricity shuts off on its own. Much better than another place we stayed at where many lights and other electrical devices were on timers.

Merulana Inn is located within walking distance (10 mins) of the Roma Termini train station. If you are arriving in Rome by plane, you will probably take the Leonardo Express train from the main airport to the Termini. We each had a large backpack and a small, rolling suitcase and were able to walk to the inn with no problem.

There are also several cafes, gelato places, grocery stores and pharmacies in the immediate area, and of course churches.

The best value in Rome is the Roma Pass. This pass gives you access to the city's Metro system for three days, as well as several museums and archaeological sites (2 free). We used this to visit the Colosseo and Foro Romano (Coliseum and Forum), as well as the Galleria Borghese. The pass only costs 25 euros, and you can purchase it online from the U.S. and pick it up when you arrive in Rome.

I can't wait to visit Rome again, and will most certainly stay at Merulana Inn again, as well as recommend it to anybody who is planning to visit The Eternal City.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jvptravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    69
    19
    4
    9
See reviews for
29
137
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
1 review
Reviewed September 7, 2011

make shure to take the key every time you live the room
there will be no one to open you untill the morning
we use the safe in the room
there is a Refrigerator in the room

Room Tip: the guest house located in a residential building. judy will be waithing for you out side untill you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank sharon g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 15, 2011

This was our first time in Rome and we are very pleased with our experience at this hotel . Location is great and price was amazing . Service was A1 ,
. If you arrive by air you could save some money and take the train to the hotel it is located 3 blocks away from Termini

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jfp91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
India
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2011

If you really want a feel of Rome, stay here ! Is Home away from Home ! The staff are Great ! Everything is so close by just a hop-skip-jump !
10 mins to Roma Termini station,5 mins Hop-on-hop off Tour what else do you need and restaurants every corner of the street.

Room Tip: Book in advance to avoid disappointing !
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank goldielock08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, PA
Level Contributor
99 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2011

MERULANA INN

PROS:
* Good, free Wireless Internet
* Decent free breakfast
* Good location...Rome is so spread out that if you are too close to any one attraction, you will be extremely far from the others. Merulana Inn was about 15 - 20 minute walk from all the attractions (about 40 from Vatican). Close to Termini station also.
* Clean.

CONS
* Nobody working at a front desk type scenario. Hotel was on the 3rd floor of a random building. If you are checking in, they will have someone there, but there isn't anyone to answer questions or to help you plan your visit, as advertised on their web site.
* Elevator was so small, I was too scared to get on it!
* Room was very small, though for Italy I suppose it was okay.

My main problem was with Rome itself. I found it very dirty, touristy, and tacky. The ruins and Vatiican were fantastic, but the overall feel of the city was tacky and crowded. It couldn't hold a candle to other European cities I've been to, both in and out of Italy. I'm glad I went for the Colosseum, etc., but my 2 night stay was more than sufficient. I was ready to get out of there!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank natter1327
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Saskatchewan
Level Contributor
74 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2011

The hotel is in close proximity to the main train station and is a short 10 minute walk to the colosseum.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JPP566
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campbell, CA
Level Contributor
165 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2011

The location is ideal. It's close to churches, the Colosseum, train terminal, with wonderful restaurants all around. Miss Judy took great care of us dispite our coming in after 10 p.m. The breakfasts were tasty and filling with a lot of variety and choices. The accommodations were great for us, but our traveling companions had trouble with their air-conditioning and had to sleep with their windows open, so they were bothered by all the street noises. The elevator is a bit tricky.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the street or ensure your air conditioner works
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JudyStacia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Auditorium di Mecenate
Auditorium di Mecenate
#356 of 1,291 in Rome
526 reviews
Monti
Tirreno Hotel
Tirreno Hotel
#351 of 1,291 in Rome
545 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Doria
Hotel Doria
#306 of 1,291 in Rome
403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Maikol Family Guesthouse
Maikol Family Guesthouse
#1,045 of 1,291 in Rome
21 reviews
Monti
Hotel Santa Prassede
Hotel Santa Prassede
#656 of 1,291 in Rome
413 reviews
Monti
Hotel Centro Cavour
Hotel Centro Cavour
#80 of 1,291 in Rome
250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Merulana Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Merulana Inn

Property: Merulana Inn
Address: Via Merulana 19, 00185 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
#79 Best Value Hotel in Rome
#178 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#294 Family Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Merulana Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Merulana Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Merulana Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing